We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a real gem!”
Review of Le Mas des Gres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mas des Gres
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
624 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“It's a real gem!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Travelling to Provence and want to enjoy great meals in a beautiful and relaxing setting? We were told of this chambre d'hôte by friends who have stayed there many times. We stayed for one week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the nightly dinners. Our room was great as the bed was comfortable. The hosts are gracious and friendly. The manager will answer any questions and help with decisions on activities. It is not easy to find and if you have GPS that will take you only so far unless you properly program the address as Route D first. We were blown away by the quality of the meals served every night at 8 pm. There are five courses. The owners/hosts will visit with you and chat and help with Provence information. Totally recommend this place to any travellers to Provence. The only downside was the wifi challenges as it doesn't always work. As well, with younger kids staying they tend to slam the doors on your floor so that can be unnerving.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible. Try to get a room with more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
79
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay for a true Provence experience. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and the whole staff is so very friendly. Nina and Thierry are great hosts and the highlight each evening is the food cooked by Thierry. Sitting in the garden, enjoying wonderful food and excellent wines from the Provence - I think that is about as close to heaven that you can get to.
The establishmnt is also very kids-friendlc, and there is a nice pool to cool off after a long day of sightseeing. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I’ve been at Mas des Gres in April 2013 with my family and my dog, a german shepherd, and we had a really great stay at this wonderful place in Provence.
The hotel is very clean, comfortable and elegant, rooms are large and tastefully decorated, beds are comfortable and free wi-fi is available. There is also a beautiful garden with swimming pool area.
The staff is extremely warm, professional and very helpful.
The location is perfect for getting around and visit the nice villages of the Luberon and Vaucluse area.
A special mention goes to the food: excellent cuisine of Provence served by chef Thierry in the lovely dining area…I’m still dreaming about it!
Cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiarinaP_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Le Mas de Gres represents everything about Provence - pastoral charm, wonderful food, lovely wine and beautiful scenery. First the food. Mon Dieu!!! Thierry, of the husband and wife team that owns Le Mas des Gres, is a classically trained chef. You MUST get the half board option (meaning your dinner is included). This gentleman cooks like a dream. I still daydream about some of the dishes he made. In fact, I am kicking myself for not asking if I could buy a jar of his green tomato jam that is served at breakfast. Thierry's wife, Nina, is a great hostess. She does everything she can to make sure you are happy and comfortable. Oh, and try to book a massage while there. I forget the young lady who does the massages, but she was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here with our 2 kids in June 2009 (disregard reference to June 2012 - I couldn't set date to 2009 on Review) and are still talking about it. Accomodations were terrific and comfortable, food was outstanding, and the location was perfect for getting around and seeing the countryside. We were also stayed in Paris and Nice and this was without a doubt our favorite part of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWMJWMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Last Spring while travelling around Provence we were looking for a place to stay the night before taking the train from Avignon. Without a reservation we happened upon this charming B&B where for 180 Euros we had a charming room and delicious dinner and breakfast. However, the most amazing part of our stay was the kindness which was shown by the owner when I needed to see a doctor about a lingering cough. Not only did she arrange for an appointment, but she drove us to the doctor's office so that we would not get lost in the little village.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just wanted to say a big thank you, and give a wholehearted recommendation to others - especially those with kids - to stay here. We stayed in the family room (2 adults and 3 children aged 5,8 and 12) which was very comfortable - even with five us in there. The hotel is fairly small but very comfortable with a good pool which the kids loved, as well as a small, indoor kids' play room with toys (ideal for our young boys) and books. What made it particularly special was that we were made to feel very welcome (none of those disapproving looks you often get at hotels when ones kids are being a bit rowdy) and nothing felt like too much bother. (We woke at 10am our first morning, and rushed down to breakfast thinking it would be all over, only to be told not to worry and we could take breakfast whenever we felt like it!) It is very well geared for kids - with a small play area (goal, table tennis etc) just behind where the outside dining is, so the kids could dash off for a play between courses (as well as during the day) - and meant they weren't simply sitting fidgeting during dinner. A special mention too to the food which was absolutely first rate. There is a set meal every night but it is fantastic, using local / seasonal ingredients etc. Not necessarily for those who are reluctant about trying new things but excellent for those who do.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
3.5 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sous L'olivier
Sous L'olivier
#2 of 4 in Lagnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Poete
Hotel du Poete
#1 of 2 in Fontaine de Vaucluse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Gres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Gres

Property: Le Mas des Gres
Address: 1651, RD 901 | Four à Chaux - Isle sur la Sorgue, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas des Gres 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Provence, near Isle sur la Sorgue, Avignon and on the outskirts of the Luberon Park with Gordes and Roussillon, this charming hotel has become the reference for families, golfers and lovers of good food and wine. It is the first and only "Hotel au Naturel" in the Luberon Park and you will find professional and kind service all stay round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Mas des Gres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Des Gres Hotel Lagnes
Le Mas Des Gres Lagnes, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing