We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience not to be Missed!”
Review of Sous L'olivier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sous L'olivier
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Sous l'Olivier this past July. The converted farmhouse, our large well appointed room, and the grounds (including pool) did not disappoint. Julien, owner and master chef delighted us with his warm and funny personality as well as his gourmet cooking! We could not find a better 5 course dinner with wine flowing for 30 euros anywhere. The atmosphere in the evening, starting with his beautifully set up Provencal tables in such a glorious setting, moving on to fine food and wine, and last the communal eating style, cannot be beat. We met so many interesting people - what a bonus!! The full breakfast was just as fabulous with at least 15 different kinds of homemade jam. We were set for the day. Unfortunately, we had only booked two nights there and had to move on to another area. After spending one evening of our two night booking elsewhere, we packed up and headed back to Sous l'Olivier to have our last chance of experiencing the magic all over again. We can’t wait to return!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionateTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

What a great experience! I chose this lovely lodge and restaurant based on other Trip Advisor reviews. It's easy to find, and located in a lovely old farmhouse. Our room above the courtyard was large and clean, and very quiet. I suppose if there had been a wedding that day, it would have been a different story, but our 2-night experience was delightful. Everyone's right about the food - it's exquisite. Sign up now for dinner all the nights you expect to be there. Julien is a chef extraordinaire, and we were amazed at the flavors of his amazing meal; the best meal of our 3-week trip. One of the benefits of staying here for us was the opportunity to speak English with other travelers while we all experienced this exquisite meal. The pool was delightful, especially on a hot summer's day. There's a good bookshelf to trade books. I will return again and again to this lovely area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneQSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It was a wonderful place to stay we meet some wonderful people the host juilian was a fabulas cook the meal at night were to die for a must stay for this 150 year old farm house great value for your money and central to all the villages.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crop1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This is a nice quiet retreat convenient for exploring the Luberon. If you plan to spend some time in Avignon, Arles and Nimes I recommend you find a B&B in that area before you come here.
Julien and Carole were nice but I got the feeling that it was a long difficult season and they were looking forward to shutting down. Julien is a great resource for guidance for traveling in the region. But he tends to net things out. So do your research before you get there.
The breakfast was very good and I recommend you have dinner there at least once. He is a very good cook and the dinner is an excellent value.
I had a number of minor problems with the room that I did not bother them with, however, when we arrived it was chilly and windy and the room was rather cool. Thank goodness for the rest of the stay it warmed up and the wind subsided. The room was a good size and it was a very good value.
I am not as gushing as the other reviews but my wife and I had a good time, met some very nice people and would return if we once again explore the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dontcallmeillcallyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at Sous L'Olivier for three nights during our honeymoon in the Luberon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's a beautiful, big house about three km from the villages of Lagnes and Robion.
There is a nice pool and lawns there. Our room was big, and well appointed with a separate little kitchenette and private terrace.

The hosts Carole and Julien were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast each morning was also very good - with home made jams, fresh bread, yoghurts, hams and cheeses.
We also took the dinner one night which was delicious and of a very high standard and Julien is clearly a very talented cook.

The only down side was while we were there, there were two big private parties - as Julien seemingly does private catering too. So when we arrived the Mas was full of about 30 or so people all having a meal, and this happened the next evening as well. While it wasnt a big problem, we did feel a little pushed-out and as though there was a big party going on to which we hadnt been invited (which there obviously was!).

Otherwise though, this is a lovely place and you definitely wont be disappointed with the Mas, the food or the service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We had booked with Sous l'Olivier based on the Trip Advisor reviews we had seen. Our experience surpassed our expectations. It was like staying as house guests in the home of Julien and Carol. The meals were beyond belief. 7:30 PM was the aperitif time with something different provided by Julien as a nibble each evening. A superb four course meal followed, with all guests sharing the same table, and Julien not only preparing and serving, but dining with us. This is one very funny guy; he taught me to speak English with a French accent. The breakfasts were laid out at 8:30AM every morning. Breads, pastries, fruits, preserves, boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurt, you name it. We all ate in the beautiful courtyard. I joked with Julien about getting him a spot on the Food Channel, but he is REALLY good, and we have dined all over the world. The place is beautiful and not far from anything you want to see in Provence. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souslolivier, Propriétaire at Sous L'olivier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Thank you Dennis
But are you sure this is the true and i wait for my TV program
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Having visited Sous l'Olivier on many occasions over the years, there was never any doubt when it came to planning our marriage celebrations. We invited family and friends to celebrate with us and were treated to exceptional food, lovely wine and a wonderful friendly service in this most charming of Provencal B&Bs. The rooms are spacious, light and very comfortable, the garden and pool area is a lovely place to relax, and dinner is a absolute joy. Julien and Carole are fantastic hosts and we will be visiting for many years to come! The whole experience was truly memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhm0m2h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
4.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
283 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#9 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
251 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Prevote
La Prevote
#6 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
127 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Les Terrasses by David et Louisa
Hotel Les Terrasses by David et ...
#8 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sous L'olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sous L'olivier

Address: D900 | 997B vers petit palais, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range: £97 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familly farm in the middle of Provence in front of Luberon Near Gordes Roussillon Isle sur sorgue and many village of Provence Come to try our cooking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sous L'olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sous l`Olivier Hotel Lagnes
Sous L'Olivier Lagnes, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing