We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, charm, relaxation in brimming measure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sous L'olivier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sous L'olivier
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food, charm, relaxation in brimming measure”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Wafts of cooking and shelf upon shelf of jams, tapenades and sauces greet you as you walk into the farmhouse. Then through comes smiling Carole. After stumbling through some bad GCSE French we finally resort to English as hers is better than mine! 

The layout of the farm house is as close to a dream layout as I've seen. Covered courtyard with enveloping walls and rooms. Carole's wedding dress standees proudly on show. At the other end of the pool lies 4 acres of pumpkin field.

Dinner is by far and away the title event. We had it twice out of the three nights we were there. You sit round the table with other guests, which makes for fascinating chat, and then Julien joins. Our first night was
o Aperitif of peach wine and cheesy pastry thing 
o Starter of garlic and ratatouille ronde
o Mains of beef stew and rosemary roasted potatoes and minced meat 
o Ghosts cheese in Olive Oil and herbs
o Fig pudding

4 hours of chat later, the wine is still flowing. This is really home from home. Julien's dry humour adds totally to the whole experience.

Sitting by the pool in the hot September sun was the perfect way to end what had been a brilliant summer in London. We can not believe we've left it so long before discovering Provence. Julien and Carole have left a wonderful impression on us.

Room Tip: I deliberately chose the only little room that sits out onto the garden - Pitchoune. It's so swe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexanderholtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souslolivier, Directeur général at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thanks for your message that's was a pleaser for us too
Your pictures are beautiful ( this one of the pool is perfect )
But i don't understand why you speak about a dry humour
Thanks again and hope to see you again for more wine and food
Carole Hugo Clovis et Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    10
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Julien and Carole are the perfect hosts and have created such a wonderful place here. The food, decor and hospitality are all to a very high standard and the atmosphere is utterly convivial and relaxed. We loved it and had such a good time will definitely be visiting again....Au Revoir!




Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great room, great food, great wine.
Very relaxing and so comfortable.
Great location too.

Thanks to Julien and Carole fo making us most welcome.
They were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Ditto what everyone else has said - a wonderful relaxing inn with lovely hosts, fabulous food, beautiful rooms, nice pool and gardens, excellent location, and the chance to meet and have dinner with the other guests from all over the world. We stayed in several hotels and inns on our recent trip (June 2012) and this was by far the best. Carole and Julien make every effort for their guests comfort. Stay here!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Figues room on the ground floor with it's own terrace although you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyaylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Julien at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you so much for your book of tom i'll read it to the child this winter before sleeping, you make me laughing when i open the paquet
thank you for your humour and don't worry for the wine i more than you can drink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Imagine the solid stone 'mas' with its blue shutters and tree shaded courtyard, home-made everything, happy, relaxed guests chatting over the aperitif which precedes a royal spread of delicious rustic dishes. All very comfortable and convivial. Our room was light and airy with private terrasse; Carole and Julien could not have been kinder - love the style, the pool, the chat, the children, the garden,the pool, the amazing breakfasts.....

Room Tip: Disabled travellers are well directed to the room called Figue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papillon775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed at this lovely B & B with a group of watercolor painters. The house and the garden provided wonderful scenes for us to paint. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner every night for a week with food made with delicious and fresh ingredients. The desserts and the wine and digestifs were wonderful as well.
Our rooms were beautiful, comfortable and sparkling clean. Julien and Carole were wonderful hosts. They took care of all of our needs and were always cheerful and helpful.
The gardens and grounds of the hotel are really lovely and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The location is perfect for exploring Provence and Julien was always great at giving suggestions about which villages to explore.
My group was sent off with a gift of homemade jam and tapanade. We cannot wait to return and stay for another week at Sous L'Olivier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souslolivier, Carole et Julien at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thanks a lot for your comment, it was a pleaser to receive you and the group in the house we really enjoy this, good fun for every one. The digestive session stay a long time in my mind
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from a week-stay at Sous L'olivier and it was fabulous. The main house is warm and very comfortably appointed. Our room included a very private patio overlooking acres of farmland. Beautiful at sunset. The breakfast choices in the morning were plentiful, and I really enjoyed the assortment of homemade preserves that could be enjoyed with a crepe or croissant. Dinner every night prepared by Julien was fantastic. A beautifully appointed table greeted us every night. Our meals were well planned perfection from the first course to the evening's digestif. The location of Sous L'olivier is very central to all the best sights of Provence. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in a peaceful, happy environment. Thank you Julien all the best to you and your family!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souslolivier, Propriétaire at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you
it was a good time for us too
Receive your painting group at home was a great fun for the family particularly the boys
Thank for your comment that encourages us to continue our activity
Kings regards
The Family Gouin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
4.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
239 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
534 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#6 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
355 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#10 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sous L'olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sous L'olivier

Property: Sous L'olivier
Address: D900 | 997B vers petit palais, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familly farm in the middle of Provence in front of Luberon Near Gordes Roussillon Isle sur sorgue and many village of Provence Come to try our cooking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sous L'olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sous l`Olivier Hotel Lagnes
Sous L'Olivier Lagnes, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing