We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B. with outstanding food”
Review of Sous L'olivier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sous L'olivier
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B. with outstanding food”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A lovely place to stay. We found Julien and Carole friendly and welcoming The setting, courtyard, and house are delightful, breakfast is excellent with a large choice of fresh jam, fruit, breads etc and Dinner,cooked by Julien, was outstanding with good wine included. Worth staying just for the quality of the cooking. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johndkgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I normally don't write reviews, but I just saw the review titled "bad attitude" while planning another trip to France and I had to respond. My husband, 2 young adult daughters, and I stayed at Sous L'olivier last May (2012) for a few days - it was our base camp as we explored Provence. We, too, got a little lost on our way and called Julien for guidance. He told us we were almost there, and we arrived soon thereafter. Julien proved to be a great host and a fabulous chef during our stay (by the way, we did find the front door when we arrived - it's not like a hotel entrance, but it is clearly marked). We arrived on my 19 year old daughter's birthday, and we had a great birthday dinner prepared by Julien. It was just a lovely place to stay, and Carol and Julien were great hosts. My husband and I are returning to France this May (our 24 year old daughter loved it so much she stayed in Paris), and we are trying to arrange another stay at Sous L'olivier.during this trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The setting, the courtyard and the breakfast were outstanding. The attitude of the owner, Julien was not. We started our stay off by calling him to get directions after getting horribly lost so he was expecting us. When we arrived we couldn't find the front entrance so ended up around the back at the glass doors into the dining room area. We saw Julien standing there and although he saw us he turned his back and ignored us. We thought this was very strange and wondered if we were in the right place. He eventually came to the door after we continued knocking but was very sharp and rude. We definately were not impressed and if we weren't exhausted we would have looked for another place to stay. He was barely civil throughout our stay & we didn't feel welcome at all. His mood improved only a little when his wife returned home and when he pointed there was only 10 days of the season to go. This was our experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souslolivier, Propriétaire at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Hello
When you arrive you was very rude with me you don't say hello and you begin shouting me because you was lost so of course i don't smiling if someone is rude with me
I'm not responsible if your don't find your way to come in our house we have a google map on the web site and gps adress you can use it
For the front entrance it's write on the door "ENTREE SOUS L'OLIVIER" at 5 metres from your car
You didn't knock you just look inside in my house you just have to open the door don't need to do like a curious and i repeat you was very impolite with me
and you forget to explain what i have done for you for your car for the map and all the explication about the aera
Everywhere in the world you have some so please don't come in our house if you come with your stress
Sorry for my bad english
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Wafts of cooking and shelf upon shelf of jams, tapenades and sauces greet you as you walk into the farmhouse. Then through comes smiling Carole. After stumbling through some bad GCSE French we finally resort to English as hers is better than mine! 

The layout of the farm house is as close to a dream layout as I've seen. Covered courtyard with enveloping walls and rooms. Carole's wedding dress standees proudly on show. At the other end of the pool lies 4 acres of pumpkin field.

Dinner is by far and away the title event. We had it twice out of the three nights we were there. You sit round the table with other guests, which makes for fascinating chat, and then Julien joins. Our first night was
o Aperitif of peach wine and cheesy pastry thing 
o Starter of garlic and ratatouille ronde
o Mains of beef stew and rosemary roasted potatoes and minced meat 
o Ghosts cheese in Olive Oil and herbs
o Fig pudding

4 hours of chat later, the wine is still flowing. This is really home from home. Julien's dry humour adds totally to the whole experience.

Sitting by the pool in the hot September sun was the perfect way to end what had been a brilliant summer in London. We can not believe we've left it so long before discovering Provence. Julien and Carole have left a wonderful impression on us.

Room Tip: I deliberately chose the only little room that sits out onto the garden - Pitchoune. It's so swe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexanderholtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souslolivier, Directeur général at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thanks for your message that's was a pleaser for us too
Your pictures are beautiful ( this one of the pool is perfect )
But i don't understand why you speak about a dry humour
Thanks again and hope to see you again for more wine and food
Carole Hugo Clovis et Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Julien and Carole are the perfect hosts and have created such a wonderful place here. The food, decor and hospitality are all to a very high standard and the atmosphere is utterly convivial and relaxed. We loved it and had such a good time will definitely be visiting again....Au Revoir!




Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great room, great food, great wine.
Very relaxing and so comfortable.
Great location too.

Thanks to Julien and Carole fo making us most welcome.
They were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Ditto what everyone else has said - a wonderful relaxing inn with lovely hosts, fabulous food, beautiful rooms, nice pool and gardens, excellent location, and the chance to meet and have dinner with the other guests from all over the world. We stayed in several hotels and inns on our recent trip (June 2012) and this was by far the best. Carole and Julien make every effort for their guests comfort. Stay here!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Figues room on the ground floor with it's own terrace although you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyaylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Julien at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you so much for your book of tom i'll read it to the child this winter before sleeping, you make me laughing when i open the paquet
thank you for your humour and don't worry for the wine i more than you can drink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
4.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
252 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
159 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#9 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
226 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sous L'olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sous L'olivier

Property: Sous L'olivier
Address: D900 | 997B vers petit palais, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familly farm in the middle of Provence in front of Luberon Near Gordes Roussillon Isle sur sorgue and many village of Provence Come to try our cooking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sous L'olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sous l`Olivier Hotel Lagnes
Sous L'Olivier Lagnes, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing