We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - Fabulous food”
Review of Sous L'olivier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sous L'olivier
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place - Fabulous food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for 3 days in August and what a great find this B&B was!
Situated very handily for visiting some of Provence's nicest places but in a quiet location surrounded by fields. Our room was probably the smallest in the property but it was great for the 2 of us - very comfortable and well equipped with doors opening onto the garden as well the internal courtyard. The highlight of the stay was undoubtably the food - Julian is a fabulous chef and host - the dinners we had around the large table in the courtyard with the other guests were absolutely gorgeous (creme brulee to die for!!) and the accompanying delicious Luberon wines seemed to be never ending - each night felt like a great dinner party with friends.
Breakfast were also brilliant - I've never seen so many different jams! - it really set you up for the day.
All in all our stay was great and we have already recommended Sous L'Olivier to loads of friends and would love to return ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 4 nights with Julien and Carole--gracious and welcoming. The location is ideal for exploring the Luberon and further west to St Remy, Arles, Chateuneuf de Pape, Orange and on and on. It is a rural retreat next to all the three millenia history of this area. Easy to go to them all and then retreat to peace and quiet and AMAZING food. After three weeks of traveling different areas, eating our way through wonder French regional cuisines--Julien's cuisine was always delicious made from the best of local ingredients. A great place to relax and meet fellow travellers from around the world.
Everyone else has written various details--all good--it is hard to come out with the superlative to convince you to come other than to say--we will be back--along with the 80% of guests we met who were back for their second and third times.
As an aside--great for kids to run around, play and swim and give you a break. :-)

ps--if you are a brocante fan--Isle Sur la Sorge is amazing! Rivals St Ouen in Paris and you will see what is inspiring design in North America.

Room Tip: book early to choose the room you want from the website--then don't worry if it isn't availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
335 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our two nights here were perhaps the highlight of nearly three weeks in France. The B&B itself is charming and lovely, and Julien and Carole are gracious and accommodating hosts. It’s convenient to just about anywhere you want to go in Provence without the hassle of Avignon or Arles, and it’s situated in a pretty pastoral setting. But what sets their place apart is the dinner table. Julien is simply a fabulous chef, and that’s reason enough to love the place. Dinners and breakfasts were fantastic. Even better, if possible, was sharing the dinner table with 10-12 other guests from around the world (including a couple from South Africa, another from Brazil, a bevy of delightful Brits, and even some fellow Minnesotans (!)); lovely, interesting people all and some sparkling conversations. Be forewarned that it’s cash only, no credit cards, and you have to look very quick on the D900 for the signs pointing to it. But we can’t imagine a finer B&B and dining combination in all of Provence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Four of us stayed with Julien and his family in early July and I ashamed that it has taken me this long to leave a review because I always use Tripadvisor when planning holidays and found this B&B on here.

Where to start? The property itself is beautiful and has been wonderfully restored. The property is located well back from the main road and is surrounded by fields growing pumpkin. There is a lovely garden with a beautiful pool which we made the most of. Julien and his family were very hospitable throughout and ordered us pizzas (which he was getting for his family) when we arrived late on our first night along with a number of bottles of ice cold rose!

However, the food is the highlight and I cannot convey just how good and plentiful it was. The four of us are big foodies so booked the B&B on the back of the dinner and breakfast reviews and were not disappointed. We ate there 2 of our 4 nights but would've eaten there every night if possible (though we did have an equally lovely meal in Menerbes in a restaurant called Les Saveurs Gourmandes). There was five courses with as much drink as you can take and Julien joined us both nights for food and (plenty of) drink. You do not know what you are getting which I think is part of the fun and I can guarantee that you will not be left wanting. Another touch we liked is that all the guests sit together either inside or outside, depending on the weather, which is great for sharing places to see and just meeting new people.

Just as amazing and plentiful were the breakfasts which combined with the dinners did rather spoil us when visiting other B&Bs throughout France. Everything you could imagine was available for breakfast and we rarely needed lunch after gorging ourselves in breakfast each morning.

In summary although we want to keep this gem to ourselves I cannot recommend it highly enough and we will all certainly be going back.

Tom, Jo, Holly and Craig

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Sous L'Olivier for a week in August. Julien was a great host and excellent chef. Dinner is optional and we ate in 4 nights during our stay. The food was great (5 courses!) and the the atmosphere excellent as all guests share a long courtyard table. We were able to practice our French and other guests could practice their English. Breakfast is also superb with a very wide choice (cereals, juice, pastries, croissants, cheese, ham, etc) and lots of home made preserves. However, do not expect a full English breakfast (believe me, it is not a loss given the alternatives available). The house itself is the converted family home and is a large stone-built building. Our room (Olive) was on the first floor to the side of the courtyard. It was light, airy and homely furnished. The bathroom was clean and a good size with a bath (unusual) as well as shower. The outside areas included a large lawned area, a good sized pool (fenced as required) and both an open courtyard and covered seating areas. The house is surrounded on 3 sides by fields. The slight downside was some road noise. The house is set back about 100m from the road but at night some noise was noticeable --- it all depends where you live as to whether this a problem -- we live on a very quiet road and the noise was mildly disturbing, if you come from a town then you may not even notice it. The house is well situated for outings -- our daughters went horse riding, there is a great river canoe centre (gentle canoeing!) and lots of walking, hill top villages etc. Avignon is nearby as well as other interesting towns. It is the middle of the Ventoux/Luberon wine areas and Chateauneuf du Pape is about 45 mins drive away. You do need a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sous L'olivier for 3 nights and loved every moment there. It was everything I had read about on Trip Advisor and more! Easy to find and situated in the most beautiful countryside, we had the most comfortable stay. We were greeted by Julien with a glass of Rosé and a typical Italian cake on our arrival and from then on it was all top notch!!! The evening meals are AMAZING and a wonderful experience to sit around the long iron table with other travellers and enjoy the evening together. The breakfasts are, as everyone has previously written, the best ever! W couldn't help being the first ones to be seated at 8am!
The accommodation is very clean & spacious, and each room has a private area to relax. We all really enjoyed the swimming pool area, lots of room to relax and enjoy spontaneous wine & picnics on nearby tables.
We highly recommend a stay with Julien & Carole. They are wonderful relaxed hosts who thoroughly spoil you. It was easily the highlight of our month long holiday through Italy & France.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a great stay ( 5 days) at Sous l'Olivier. Charming villa and comfortable accommodation. Our children enjoyed swimming pool a lot. Julien is a great host, his cooking is divine and he was very helpful with information about the region and offered helpful hints. Julien speaks very good English so communication was not a problem ( we do not speak French).
We stayed in many beautiful B and B's in Europe and North America and we agreed that "Julien's breakfast" was the best. We also stayed each evening for dinner which was a great experience, combination of good company, delicious food and charming scenery.
Sous l'Olivier is a good base for 1 day trips to many beautiful places in Provence.
We would love to go back there again. Thank you Julien and Carol.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Agnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
4.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#9 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sous L'olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sous L'olivier

Property: Sous L'olivier
Address: D900 | 997B vers petit palais, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familly farm in the middle of Provence in front of Luberon Near Gordes Roussillon Isle sur sorgue and many village of Provence Come to try our cooking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sous L'olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sous l`Olivier Hotel Lagnes
Sous L'Olivier Lagnes, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing