We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean and pleasant overall”
Review of Hotel du Baou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Baou
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Gaude
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and pleasant overall”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are part way through a 4 night stay here at the moment and I have to say the place isn't bad at all! Yes it's a little out of the way but its not bad really.

Initial impressions when I walked in our room were that the decoration was rather dark - I think lighter decor would really help. We also had a ground floor room with a little balcony that didn't look out on to much - I'd recommend getting first floor or above to appreciate the views. However the view from the breakfast terrace is stunning! Bed is very comfy - I had no trouble sleeping!

There is loads of parking space, and the nearest place to eat is a one minute walk (Le jam) and serves up good food (but closed on a Monday).

I would agree with others that breakfast is a little limited for the price (9 E 50 I think, per person) so we just did it for the morning after our first nights stay and bought in our own breakfast things from a supermarket. There is a kitchenette available.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilruthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    81
    51
    12
    12
See reviews for
38
89
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I booked this hotel rather last minute during high season in the cote D'azur. With that in mind, I suppose for the price, it is acceptable. The rooms were very smelly and the bathroom was NOT clean by any means. The rooms are a decent size and there is free parking, but that's about the extent of it. It is very isolated, and there isn't anything near the hotel. Stay here only if you have no other alternatives, it is at best a 2 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Gaude hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight arranged by our tour.its quite far from Nice. Room we stayed was very small and facing the woods. The room is quite dark because of its paint. Breakfast buffet has vey limited choices.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marge1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in La Gaude on a road trip through the French Riviera and picked this town because of the value. It is much less expensive to stay in a small town than it is to stay in Marseille or Nice. It was rather late by the time we rolled into town and we didn't have GPS. We ended up getting lost and asking for directions at a restaurant in town (it was so sweet... literally the entire restaurant staff was helping us all at once and in multiple languages). We found the hotel easily with their directions and found it to be a good value. There was free parking on site, a comfortable bed, and great views out the front side of the hotel. The only bad thing was that I got locked in the bathroom after my shower. The piece that turns the lock fell off, in the locked position, and I suppose the humidity of the room swelled the door shut. I managed to escape after about 10 minutes of jiggling the door, but we didn't shut the door all the way again after that episode!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisouiamelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, arrived first night around 1am, room smelt! So bad infact we asked for a change of room and we given a much better one all be it with a bad view , room was clean although the patio door was very difficult to lock which made us feel less secure at night, stay here if all you want is a bed for the night , great for parking free, good wifi and pleasant breakfast, we won't be returning but would say you do get what you pay for

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoodolddays09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spent a night at this lovely hotel in June 2013.

Got there at around 22:30, Pierre at the desk was so helpful and welcoming.

Clean and tidy but decor a little dated.
Shower head holder was broken, (see pic), hope they've fixed it by now.
A kitchenette available, but no kettle to make a cup of tea

Free Wifi at 2.04 Mbps
Free Car park

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

HOTEL DU BAOU
Hotel Du Baou is a nice hotel a little north of Nice. The hotel itself looked alittle outdated, but the room was modern and clean. Complementary wifi and parking. The hotel is located in a nice village area and we had a room with a great view. The Hotel du Baou was for us a very good choice and great value for money. We can highly recommend this hotel.

NB! This is outside Nice.

Rooms:
The room was modern and nice. It had air condition, a flat screen tv and a nice balcony with two chairs, a table and a very nice view of the valley. The balcony had morning sun. The room was very clean. The size of the room and the bathroom was not the biggest, but it worked out fine. The wifi was complementary and worked fine. Hassle free.

Location:
The Hotel du Baou is located about 20-30 minutes north of Nice. We arrived by car and think this is absolutely an advantage for getting to the hotel. We did not explore public transport options. Our opinion is that this is a hotel which is most suitable if you arrive by car. There were plenty of parking places. Parking was complentary.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Gaude
2.1 mi away
Kyriad Nice - Stade
Kyriad Nice - Stade
#173 of 204 in Nice
131 reviews
2.0 mi away
Servotel Saint-Vincent
Servotel Saint-Vincent
#13 of 204 in Nice
540 reviews
3.3 mi away
Promotel
Promotel
#1 of 2 in Carros
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Perla Riviera
Perla Riviera
#4 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Logis Hotel des Cayrons
1.5 mi away
The Frogs' House
The Frogs' House
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jeannet
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Baou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Baou

Property: Hotel du Baou
Address: 246 allee Hector Pintus | Le Plan Du Bois, 06610 La Gaude, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Gaude
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Gaude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Baou 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Baou ***, located in La Gaude, 10 minutes from Nice Airport, overlooking the Var valley and offers its guests a panoramic view of the Alps to the Mediterranean. Renovated in 2008, our 52 airconditioned rooms all have private bathroom with tub, toilet, phone, flat screen TV with international channels, hairdryer, alarm clock, free wireless internet and private balcony. Some rooms have a kitchenette. We have three rooms with disabled access. Free parking is available to our customers. Between Nice and Cannes, just 40 minutes from Monaco, it is the ideal base for visiting the hilltop villages of the hinterland of Nice, the way Matisse, as well as beaches, marinas, museums and festivals the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Baou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing