We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel...Lousy Service”
Review of Hotel du Baou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel du Baou
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Gaude
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel...Lousy Service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I led a group tour of 45 pax and stayed at this hotel for two nights from 19th to 20th May 2014

The hotel is located in scenic and peaceful surroundings and you can enjoy the view provided you get a front facing room.

When we checked in on the evening of the 19th I found the lone gentleman at the reception to be very humble and polite. The dining room was located one level down from the lobby and during the course of our dinner, as there were no waiters (seems to be a family venture) he dropped in every 10-15 minutes to ensure that everything was fine and was extremely helpful in tending to our needs during dinner. I could sense that he was genuinely interested in looking after the guests. I guess that only happens if you love what you do and truly believe in service before self.

The next morning during breakfast the scenario was completely different. There was a guy who dropped in initially. Thereafter he disappeared until I had to go up to the reception and remind him that we needed water and juice, which was duly replenished. The second time I again went up to get some cutlery and it was at this point I requested the receptionist (not the gentleman I had interacted with the previous evening,I believe he was off duty) to please ensure that someone was on hand to look after the guests but he just nodded and that was that. No one attended and I had to again go up a third time to request for the bread basket to be replenished.

The next day too during breakfast it was the same story. The morning teams attitude was…GO TO HELL! WE DON’T CARE! This happens when one takes one's clients for granted.

The service may be good for individual travelers of for families but not for group tours.
They are just not geared to handle group tours.

What an irony! They are in the hospitality industry and some of them at this hotel do not know the H of hospitality!

So if you happen to be in a group tour and find yourself checking in at this hotel…you know what to expect!

PS: This was a group tour but as there is no option for the same on the website I have tick marked it as a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adlaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    81
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
36
89
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a business trip and with work nearby it was better to stay out of Nice rather than in it. Prices were substantially lower too. The hotel is out of the way but has a pleasant setting. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was ok. Staff were helpful. Parking not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony, France
Level Contributor
348 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for a very good price. Staff is nice and available.
Rooms are small but very clean and well equipped. My room had a very nice view on the mountain,
I didn't try the breakfast.
No problem to park your car and easy to find.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here just because it's very close to the IBM La Gaude Office and all the hotel in Nice are booked out becuase of the Monaco Grand Prix...
The hotel is very very normal and has a very good view but nothing more than that.
I prefer to stay other hotels next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank まんたろう007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Gaude hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is not as it is on the pictures. It is worth even 1 star , I am not talking about 3 stars that they pretend to be.
Staff rude. Hotel is dirty and in the middle of nowhere. We were given room with everything broken wardrobe etc.... the main problem was that room lock was broken it wasn't safe to leave your things in room . My first impression of nice wasn't good at all thanks to that hotel.If you don't want your holiday starting from problems and looking for a different hotel NEVER go there.

Room Tip: in France take at least 4 star hotel to have nice holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpcorbs83, Gérant at Hotel du Baou, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
hello
all evidence you do not have to love your stay at our hotel 3 stars by the Prefecture nice, renovated hotel in 2010 with probably some default and also away from your needs, I recommend a 5 star that suit your standing, unless you do not have the money and this is why you book a 3 star hotel close to nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Yes its true. A great little stop off in the Riveara
A car is a must here. It's great for a base to explore the area and the staff will make every effort to accomodate your needs.
It does look old and tired from the front but inside it is clean, modern and welcoming. The bedroom we stayed in was very modern and clean, large and was lovely and quiet.

Room Tip: You need a car here for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
210 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Du Baou hotel is located on a small hill above the tiny settlement of La Gaude. It's strongest asset is arguably the view of the French Alps and the coastline below. That, and the peace and quiet and cool air. It's a small hotel but somehow manages to cram 50+ rooms in. It's not much to look at, but it does have its charms. It's a self-admitted 3-star hotel, so facilities are limited - no fitness center, or meeting rooms, etc. It's really just a place to stay for a short while.

The reception area is small and there's a small breakfast area to one side. The glass-sided elevator (the hotel has 3 floors) capitalises on the view. The rooms are OK for the price. My room was at the back, and was gloomy, but there was a balcony. Reasonably clean, with a nice bed for a good nights' sleep. Bathroom functional and adequate but not much else.

If you get a front-facing room, you get that spectacular view. Also some rooms had hotplates and microwave oven. One of the good features of the hotel is free wifi.

The hotel has no restaurant, and only serves breakfast, which is not bad: small selection of breads, compote, spreads, bacon, ham, etc.

The hotel closes at midnight, so guests have to come back before then or remember a password to get in. La Gaude is rather isolated, so you should have a car to get to and from the hotel. Parking is adequate and free. The isolation of the hotel works in it's favour as its quiet and peaceful here, although bustling Nice is just 20+ km away down a winding mountain road with great views.

There's a medium-sized supermarket, a pharmacy, a pastry shop, and three restaurants within walking distance. The nearest restaurant is halfway down the hill, a few minutes' walk away, so it's very convenient, but to go anyplace else, you'd need a car. Do Baou is great for a short stay, and to get away from it all, for a while, but not for an extended period.

Room Tip: Room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Gaude
Promotel
#1 of 2 in Carros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
La Fontaine du Peyron
#2 of 2 in Saint-Jeannet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyriad Nice - Stade
#173 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel Durante
Hotel Durante
#96 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Baou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Baou

Property: Hotel du Baou
Address: 246 allee Hector Pintus | Le Plan Du Bois, 06610 La Gaude, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Gaude
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Gaude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Baou 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Baou ***, located in La Gaude, 10 minutes from Nice Airport, overlooking the Var valley and offers its guests a panoramic view of the Alps to the Mediterranean. Renovated in 2008, our 52 airconditioned rooms all have private bathroom with tub, toilet, phone, flat screen TV with international channels, hairdryer, alarm clock, free wireless internet and private balcony. Some rooms have a kitchenette. We have three rooms with disabled access. Free parking is available to our customers. Between Nice and Cannes, just 40 minutes from Monaco, it is the ideal base for visiting the hilltop villages of the hinterland of Nice, the way Matisse, as well as beaches, marinas, museums and festivals the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Baou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing