We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home - but better”
Review of Chalet Solneige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Solneige
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaujany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Therese and Pieter are great hosts and make one feel right at home. The chalet is very comfortable and well-furnished and appointed. good food. nice to have a separate room where one can watch TV or DVDs on a good-sized flat-screen TV. Lovely garden with many areas to sit out in. wicked pear and lemon tarts for tea!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaswGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

Solneige recently taken over by lovelly couple, Pieter and Theresa who are detrermined to make the chalet a first rate familly friendly place. Great welcome, very comfortable, clean rooms, good home cooked food, more cheese than you can eat and nothing too much trouble. Located 3 Km below the village of Vaujany, you are dependant on the hourly skibus for transport to the lifts but if you cant manage that Pieter is on hand to get you there and back in comfort. With direct likns to the extensive Alp d'Huez bowl, the skiing is fab, varied and compares to Europes top resorts. You are limited somewhat to evenings in the chalet rather than having easy access to Vaujany but we travelled with a mixed group fo children, teenagers and abults and all enjoyed.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshchris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed at sloneige from Dec 27th 2010 for one week 6 adults and 9 children on a sole occupancy basis. We were apprehensive as the chalet had changed ownership between booking the holiday and arriving, in fact it was Pieter and Therese's second full week.
However, the chalet was very clean and kept to a high standard throughout the week, the food was consistently excellent and Pieter and Therese were excellent hosts.
We wanted children and adults to eat together and Pieter and Therese were able to change their meal plans and approach to meet out request.
One family arrived from New York with no luggage having been lost in transit, Pieter and Therese lent their own ski clothes and helped re-locate the lost bags and provided great assistance. Pieter provided a mini bus service for the times we missed the ski bus and was very happy to help out.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorkingTiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I've been working with the owners Jan and Mirjam for years and couldn't be happier with this charming country inn. I've only taken Spyns Tour de France groups in the summer to see stages at nearby Alpe d'Huez. We've also just booked the entire hotel for the 2011 Tour de France. Although located in the village of Vaujany, there is a cable car that runs from Vaujany to Alpe d'Huez in the summertime so it's the perfect spot to bike up to Alpe d'Huez and the nearby Croix de Fer. No shortage of excellent rides through the beautiful mountains surrounding Vaujany. Mirjam is an outstanding cook so I'd highly recommend the half-board option (bed, breakfast and dinner). Spyns former clients have always raved about the place and we're looking forward to returning for the 2011 Tour de France.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

5 chaps stayed for 4 days skiing - despite not being a full week, this was not a problem to Jan and Mirjam. Food excellent; breakfasts a cooked course every other day. No shortage of food at any time of day! Wine and beers not included in room prices which doesn't seem sensible; the house red was excellent, can't cost more than a few euros a bottle and should be included in the room rate even if the room rate needs to go up by a fiver a day to cover it. More expensive wines could then be offered as an extra. All staff friendly and efficient, with lifts up to Vaujany offered. BUT take care to specify your room - 1st floor rooms seemed excellent but we were in the loft apartment which would be perfect for youngsters and teenagers but the beds are not good enough for large adults and the 3 bedrooms are not large enough for 2 adults. Towels very thin................Also, very limited fun to be had in the village, 3 quiet bars about does it. But good varied skiing, all pretty efficiently run.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Bagdhad-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We arrived at Solneige having had a terrible journey (2 cancelled flights, and 2 different airports) - we were 2 days late, but determined to enjoy ourselves.

Our room was spotlessly clean. The bed linen was lovely, fab views outside, and a lovely bathroom with a shower and a lovely deep bath with loads of hot water, whatever time of day. The beds were made up daily and the room kept clean.

Breakfasts were sufficient - bread, croissants, eggs (occasionally), fruit, juices, tea and coffee.

Afternoon teas were wonderful - with lovely cakes too.

Evening meals were outstanding - can't fault them at all. The dinner on Christmas Eve was totally memorable and we took photos of every course as it came out!

On the one occasion that Mirjam did not cook (due to having a client massage booked), her husband Jan cooked - this meal was absolutely delicious also, though served much later and the wait between courses was a lot longer.

We can't complain about the food or the hospitality at all. We all put on weight (lots of!!) through eating too much of all the good food. The hosts, and the staff, were lovely and all spoke excellent English (currently one of the staff is English also). They were all very helpful. Jan and Mirjam are Dutch and their way of speaking is very direct - no room for doubt in what they mean! Once you get used to this directness, it becomes easier to speak to them.

The communal area of living room and dining room was new to us - we have never before sat down in the evening with all the others groups from the other rooms in the chalet. Mostly, the groups kept themselves together at the table and we all sat together as a family too.

We always eat together as a family at home and we initially we had to make our wishes clear regarding our children eating with us in the evening (we got the impression that they would have preferred the children to be catered for earlier, and have adults only in the evening, which is fair enough). However, once this minor issue was sorted, there were never any further problems at all. Our children sat with us and had lovely meals cooked especially for them and great desserts which the kids loved. A high chair was provided for our son and they provided us with a child monitor for when they went to bed and we were still eating.

Wine and alcohol was not included in the price and was paid for at the end of the holiday and there was a wine list on the table so no-one was in any doubt of how much everything cost.

My Mum had a stone therapy and herb massage which she thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend. It was in a private room and was booked the day before, and was very relaxing - she says Mirjam is a true professional!

The hot tub was beautiful - so lovely to be sat in a tub at 38 degrees surrounded by snow. The staff even served you drinks in the tub if you wanted them! The robes were lovely and warm and cosy - the only thing I would recommend is that you bring a pair of slip on shoes or flip flops to wear for the walk from the front door to the tub.

The chalet has wonderful views. However, it is not within walking distance of the resort. We took our car every day, which only took about 5 minutes or soand there was plenty of free parking up at the resort. Solneige provide you with heated lockers (included in the price) at the local ski shop so you have lovely dry boots, gloves etc up at the lifts. Vaujany facilities at the ski resort itself were limited - very few shops, and a handful of restaurants - but a wealth of wonderful skiing and state of the art cable cars, ski lifts etc. There is also an ice-rink and a sports centre with swimming pool in a different part of the resort.

The ski shop was fantastic - ski set - highly recommended - fabulous staff, more than helpful. Can book in advance. 3 shops in resort.

The ski school was also fantastic - ESF Vaujany. Lovely instructors.

Also, Mirjam at Solneige had told us of a kindergarten in the resort which she can book for you in advance. Our little boy went there for 3 mornings and the staff were lovely and the kindergarten itself was wonderful. The 2 managers and one of the staff speak good English.

We all had a great time - the snow could have done with being better but other than that, it was lovely. Mirjam does her best to accommodate everyones needs and requirements - on her night off, she booked us into a local pizzeria for dinner and gave us directions - another lovely meal there too.

Even afterwards, when we returned, she responded to our emails and I would like to think that we will all be back again in the future. All in all, it's expensive (we normally go skiing on a very tight budget) - but this year we decided to splash out. It's a shame we missed 2 days but hey, we can blame Easyjet for that!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisterSwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Stayed in the apartment for 2 weeks with my husband , daughter and my parents. The view from the balcony is stunning. The owners Jan and Mirijam made us very welocme and even cooked special dinner fro our little daughter and offered earlier meal times for her! The dinner was abselutly fantastic. I can only second the other reviews- there is no need for eating out. The big garden is great for families or couples/groups to relax or play. It's a great spot for strating out on hiking/walking or cycling trips. There is as well a shed available to store bicicles or other sport equipment as well as a car park.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tascha_lalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
3.9 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
417 reviews
15.1 mi away
Chateau & spa de la Commanderie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
9.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Balme
Chalet Hotel La Balme
#1 of 6 in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Solneige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Solneige

Address: Pourchery | Parking address: 188, Route du Col du Sabot, 38114 Vaujany, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaujany
Price Range: £68 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Solneige is a stylish catered chalet situated in the picturesque alpine village of Vaujany in the heart of the French Alps, close to Alpe d'Huez. Enjoy our beautiful chalet and fully equipped apartments during your ski break or summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Solneige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solneige Hotel Vaujany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing