We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The PERFECT Alps Holiday.”
Review of Chalet Solneige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Solneige
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaujany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Solneige in late May after much researching of the area. Luckily we decided to stay here as it was the perfect location for so many reasons. Beginning with the help given to us by Pieter and Therese when we were arranging our stay up until the last morning drop-off at the local bus depot, we couldn't have asked for a better overall holiday experience.
The chalet is warm and inviting, the hosts catered to our every need and were very genuine and friendly, the food is exquisite, the view from any window is breathtaking, and the list goes on. With the aid of a rental car we were able to move from the chalet in any direction and take in a massive range of activities and once-in-a-lifetime sights and historical landmarks. As well as Alpe d'Huez, Galibier, Glandon, Croix de Fer, being located a short distance away for the cycling fraternity.
If I was returning to The Alps for any reason, especially bike riding, I would not hesitate to lock in my accommodation at Solneige for a return visit.

Cheers,
Ken and Louise,
Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Solneige a very cozy chalet in a beautiful setting in the French Alps. The owners Therese and Pieter are very friendly, provide you with everything you need and make delicious meals! The rooms are perfect and very comfortable. The surrounding is the dream of every cyclist. This chalet is definitely a must. Next year we will go back for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Solneige is the perfect alpine retreat - a real 'home from home'. Peter and Therese are the perfect hosts being completely flexible to our needs and providing us with the best in home cooked cuisine - 4 course dinners and beautiful afternoon tea and cakes, not to mention a well-stocked beer and wine fridge!!

The chalet is in a beautiful location no more than 10 minutes from Vaujany and set in orchards on a steep hillside with stunning views that could be enjoyed from our room's large balcony. Our room itself was beautifully presented, spacious and spotlessly clean, with a well equipped bathroom containing a roll top bath and separate shower. The communal living space in the chalet is large but very cosy with lovely furniture and an open fire adding to the warm atmosphere.

Within a very short space of time, we felt like we were staying with friends rather than at a hotel or guesthouse.

We very much look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: The family suite is large and very comfortable consisting of entrance hall, bedroom with bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you so much! We loved to have you as our guests, looking forward to meet you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed with Therese and Peter during the Tour de France. Beautiful setting, amazing food and wine, lots of activities close by. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was to return to this area of the Alps.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you very much, it was very nice to have you here as our guests from down under!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Therese and Peiter have created a beautiful home away from home in the Alps. The location is gorgeous - stunning scenery, so quiet and peaceful, and easy access to the amazing Alp D'Huez skiing area as well as hiking trails etc. The Chalet itself if gorgeous, spacious and the rooms comfortable. Meals are incredible - Therese and Peiter are passionate about food and provide a memorable culinary experience as well as lovely company.
Thank you for an incredible, very memorable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConorandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We came here in July with our young baby (9 weeks). The location is fantastic, with stunning views in a quiet village not far from Alpe D'Huez (can be accessed by cable car too). The beds were comfortable, the accommodation was clean and spacious, and the breakfasts were very nice too. The also provide dinners for an extra fee which are definitely worth it (we had two) - excellent food and a friendly atmosphere. They were very chilled about the baby, which made us feel relaxed too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy_da_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our second stay but with children and under the new ownership. Beautiful chalet with nice touches like the outdoor hot tub. Especially good if you are a good skier and go off for the whole day using the extensive lift system from Vaujany.....car is a must and you can easily drive to Alpe d'huez if you prefer.....priced very reasonably it makes a great alternative to some of the more expensive resort chalets which at Xmas or holidays charge 2 or 3 times usual price and for children too. They were fantastic with the children and made it easy for us to enjoy the delicious dinner after the kids had eaten, they could entertain themselves in another room or play alongside us without annoying the other guests. (ages 5 and 8). Our hosts were very helpful and ensured we had a great stay. I do not recommend the ESF at Vaujany......for young children Alpes d'huez is much better, especially if your kids are beginners.I would consider staying there are driving down the valley to another resort like Alpe d'huez........Taking the whole chalet would be a great idea.....Summer must be fantastic too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annastylewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
3.9 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
417 reviews
15.1 mi away
Chateau & spa de la Commanderie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
9.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Balme
Chalet Hotel La Balme
#1 of 6 in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Solneige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Solneige

Address: Pourchery | Parking address: 188, Route du Col du Sabot, 38114 Vaujany, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaujany
Price Range: £68 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Solneige is a stylish catered chalet situated in the picturesque alpine village of Vaujany in the heart of the French Alps, close to Alpe d'Huez. Enjoy our beautiful chalet and fully equipped apartments during your ski break or summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Solneige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solneige Hotel Vaujany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing