We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Solneige!”
Review of Chalet Solneige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Solneige
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaujany
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Sensational Solneige!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A beautiful chalet with welcoming, knowledgeable hosts combined with exceptional food made our week here the highlight of our skiing vacation.
Pieter & Therese went out of their way helping us with planning, transport, ski hire, ticketing etc. to make for a stress free holiday, even to the extent of helping arrange cycle hire in the middle of winter to ride Alpe d'Huez for a memorable 50th birthday event!
We were recommended to Chalet Solneige by friends & our high expectations were certainly exceeded.
Thank you both & we look forwarded to returning soon to experience the region in a different season. (...and to eat more delicious cheese!)

Room Tip: "If you're a keen cyclist & lucky with the weather, Alpe D'Huez is a beautiful, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We realy enjoyed having your party as our guests! And you were special ones: cycling the Alpe d'Huez in winter ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in the summer, great location and the weather. Our bikes were locked in the shed and every time we needed them we had to ask owners ( only at times when they were available) for the key. Felt so uncomfortable to interrupt them during their lunch time. Had a teenager son with me and we were almost reminded to join the other guest for their "lovely dinners". We expected some proper French cuisine, instead the Dutch owners and the cook ( she never wore an apron, always in a summer dress) offered the kind of food that students wouldn't eat in their student canteen. Obviously, this happened only on one occasion, so we can't judge the food overall. There were loads of flies everywhere, too.
The rooms are clean and well equipped. Their daughters & helper were very friendly and just fantastic.
The owners are trying to be helpful but they also know that this is the probably first and last time they will see you, so who cares.

" Don't judge book by its cover."

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRATBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations. As we cook a 'table d'hotes' and we do not have a big restaurant kitchen, we have to plan the dinner in advance. That is the reason we ask our guests every day if they want to join us for the evening meal. In response to your justly comment regarding the shed key we decided to have more copies available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I visited this beautiful Chalet in februari 2013. Had a great time. Pieter and Therese, the owners, are very helpful to make your holiday a success. The chalet is near the Vaujany gondola to the Alpe d'Huez ski area. And in the evenings a very good meal and bed. Just TOP!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much, we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed with Pieter and Therese for 6 nights and have a fabulous time. We were there with friends to cycle some of the mountains in the area (Alpe d'Huez, Col du Galibier etc.) and it was ideal. Pieter helped us with our routes and plans and that really helped, andTherese helped my wife with her walking / jogging routes - great local knowledge!

One of the real highlights was the evening meal, lovely big communal table and a great spread each evening, excellent food and some great wine and a chance to meet the other guests.

The locations was beautiful, lots of outside space and a great variety of garden furniture, my one regret was not having more time to spend in the garden with it view down the valley!

We were looked after excellently and had a great stay.

Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limehouse_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Manager at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much, you are welcome to sit in the garden any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Solneige in early October and had a wonderful time. The setting of the Chalet is remarkable, high up in the Alps. It is very peaceful and quiet. There are plenty of outdoor activities to take advantage of the location. Pieter and Therese were very hospitable and helpful in providing cycling and hiking tips including lending me an invaluable map to assist with my hike. The rooms are spacious and each have their own separate bathrooms. The dinner we had on our arrival night was delicious as was the breakfast and packed lunch. I would recommend staying at Solneige and our only regret was that we did not stay longer. Note we had a hire car, having travelled from Australia, and it made travelling around this region possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Merci beaucoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Solneige over the UK August bank holiday weekend and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Pieter, Therese, Yara and Claudia made us feel very welcome and at home. Pieter's knowledge of the local Cols was extremely helpful. Therese's help keeping us hydrated following a ride was also a benefit. Claudia's breakfast and 3 course dinners outside in the garden were restaurant quality. Location was fantastic for our cycling break and close to all the main Cols. Secure lock up to keep our bikes, plus plenty of room to park our car. Room was a good size with plenty of storage. All in all, it was a great break and are hoping to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 was dual aspect with large balcony, however, had 2 single beds pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you very much!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

First all the location is wonderful. The views from the Chalet are breathtaking and is a great part of the world to visitor in summer. The owners are as well very friendly and probably the B&B is very good judging by the comments from other visitors. Our problems was we stayed in the self catered accommodation at the top of the chalet. They have tried to squeeze too much in and frankly the accommodation wasn't great. For six people the bathroom was tiny and with no aeration its was damp and unpleasant. The bedrooms are under the roof so apart from a little strip of space you have no headroom and their are no wardrobes in the bedrooms. The kitchen as well was tiny and poorly equipped. So great location and friendly owners were let down by poor accommodation though this may not be the case for the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Such a pity you did not tell us during your stay in Chalet Solneige. We're planning to do some renovations in the apartments, and will use your comments. We hope you will come back once to see it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
3.9 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#15 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet La Maitreya
Chalet La Maitreya
#1 of 1 in Vaujany
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chalet Saskia
Chalet Saskia
#1 of 11 in Vaujany
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#2 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Solneige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Solneige

Property: Chalet Solneige
Address: Pourchery, 38114 Vaujany, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaujany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Solneige is a stylish catered chalet situated in the picturesque alpine village of Vaujany in the heart of the French Alps, close to Alpe d'Huez. Enjoy our beautiful chalet and fully equipped apartments during your ski break or summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Solneige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solneige Hotel Vaujany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing