We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Solneige
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Au Chamois d'Or(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SportHotel Beausolel(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Le Christina(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Dome(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eliova le Chaix(L'Alpe-d'Huez)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
99
16
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacakegreat hostshot tubski hirelovely christmasheated lockersski clothesvillage calledspent a weeklog fireeach eveningnext yearpietercheeseadultsalpe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A beautiful chalet with welcoming, knowledgeable hosts combined with exceptional food made our week here the highlight of our skiing vacation.
Pieter & Therese went out of their way helping us with planning, transport, ski hire, ticketing etc. to make for a stress free holiday, even to the extent of helping arrange cycle hire in the middle of winter to ride Alpe d'Huez for a memorable 50th birthday event!
We were recommended to Chalet Solneige by friends & our high expectations were certainly exceeded.
Thank you both & we look forwarded to returning soon to experience the region in a different season. (...and to eat more delicious cheese!)

Room Tip: "If you're a keen cyclist & lucky with the weather, Alpe D'Huez is a beautiful, quiet ride in winter time, so make sure to pack some cycling kit amongst your ski gear"
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We realy enjoyed having your party as our guests! And you were special ones: cycling the Alpe d'Huez in winter ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in the summer, great location and the weather. Our bikes were locked in the shed and every time we needed them we had to ask owners ( only at times when they were available) for the key. Felt so uncomfortable to interrupt them during their lunch time. Had a teenager son with me and we were almost reminded to join the other guest for their "lovely dinners". We expected some proper French cuisine, instead the Dutch owners and the cook ( she never wore an apron, always in a summer dress) offered the kind of food that students wouldn't eat in their student canteen. Obviously, this happened only on one occasion, so we can't judge the food overall. There were loads of flies everywhere, too.
The rooms are clean and well equipped. Their daughters & helper were very friendly and just fantastic.
The owners are trying to be helpful but they also know that this is the probably first and last time they will see you, so who cares.

" Don't judge book by its cover."

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRATBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations. As we cook a 'table d'hotes' and we do not have a big restaurant kitchen, we have to plan the dinner in advance. That is the reason we ask our guests every day if they want to join us for the evening meal. In response to your justly comment regarding the shed key we decided to have more copies available for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I visited this beautiful Chalet in februari 2013. Had a great time. Pieter and Therese, the owners, are very helpful to make your holiday a success. The chalet is near the Vaujany gondola to the Alpe d'Huez ski area. And in the evenings a very good meal and bed. Just TOP!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you very much, we are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed with Pieter and Therese for 6 nights and have a fabulous time. We were there with friends to cycle some of the mountains in the area (Alpe d'Huez, Col du Galibier etc.) and it was ideal. Pieter helped us with our routes and plans and that really helped, andTherese helped my wife with her walking / jogging routes - great local knowledge!

One of the real highlights was the evening meal, lovely big communal table and a great spread each evening, excellent food and some great wine and a chance to meet the other guests.

The locations was beautiful, lots of outside space and a great variety of garden furniture, my one regret was not having more time to spend in the garden with it view down the valley!

We were looked after excellently and had a great stay.

Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limehouse_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Manager at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you very much, you are welcome to sit in the garden any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Solneige in early October and had a wonderful time. The setting of the Chalet is remarkable, high up in the Alps. It is very peaceful and quiet. There are plenty of outdoor activities to take advantage of the location. Pieter and Therese were very hospitable and helpful in providing cycling and hiking tips including lending me an invaluable map to assist with my hike. The rooms are spacious and each have their own separate bathrooms. The dinner we had on our arrival night was delicious as was the breakfast and packed lunch. I would recommend staying at Solneige and our only regret was that we did not stay longer. Note we had a hire car, having travelled from Australia, and it made travelling around this region possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Owner at Chalet Solneige, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Merci beaucoup!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews