We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Chalet La Maitreya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet La Maitreya
Ranked #1 of 1 Vaujany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We arrived on a hot sunny afternoon and after being shown to our room, which was actually a small apartment, we sat on our rooms terrace and enjoyed the spectacular view of the mountains and lake Verny, in an extremely quiet environment, whilst drinking wine from the 'cheap' self service bar and reading. A perfect Sunday afternoon! We enjoyed the hotel from the first day.

Evening meals were fantastic, the food is, fresh, imaginative and the meaty bits huge. Dishes included, mint cappuccino starter, cod ceviche, salmon and a fantastic rice pudding. Meals were a relaxed affair taking about two hours.

For cycling, the hotel is well positioned for accessing many major climbs, although it takes about 15 minutes to climb back up the mountain to the hotel. As a triathlete I found Allemond pool to be suitable for training as it was quiet from 11 - 12 am. The pool is less than 10 minutes away by bike. There is a footpath from Allemond to Bourg d'oisans that is flat and suitable for running. The Hotel has bike storage.

It is highly likely that we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

great place, great food, great welcome, I do not have anything to add but this site requires waffle to 200 min characters... how ridiculous... am I there yet? no obviously not so here's a bit more, and more and more and more and more and more and more

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmallWonders1, Director of Sales at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and more and more and more, hahaha!

It was a real pleasure to welcome you once again and we will do our utmost to even improve the customer service, the quality of food, the accommodation in the nearby future.

Hopefully we will meet up again very soon.

Kindest regards,

The Small Wonders crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddenham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at La Maitreya with a couple of friends to cycle the big mountains in the area.

Our accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the Chalet is ideally based a little further down the hill from the centre of Vaujany itself meaning less of a climb up the hill at the end of each ride.

I've travelled to many places round the world but can't recall a better view from a room than the one we had, snow capped mountains and the valley below.

The food was exceptional and this chalet is good value for money but what really makes it is the team who run it.
We were made to feel completely at home. When we were an hour late for dinner one evening having cycled all day we were met with smiles, sympathy and a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJ500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmallWonders1, Director of Sales at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hi,

we really enjoyed your company and your great sense of humour! It was a true privilege to have you as our guests.

On behalf of the whole team, we are very much looking forward to your stay beginning of July, so we can share some great moments together again.

Kindest regards,

The Small Wonders team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Fantastic team of people, very welcoming and helpful, fantastic quality food.
Nice lounge for relaxing, great views from balcony.
My only criticism is that for a fairly serious cycling holiday which we were on (Alpe D'Huez climbing and various other 80km strenuous routes...and I guess same applies to skiing / boarding holidays), although the food was excellent, restaurant standard, there just wasn't enough when you burn off over 4000 calories a day cycling those hills.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmallWonders1, Director of Sales at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Hi John,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It's always a bit of fine-tuning at the start of the season and we fully appreciate your point of view. As we speak, we improved the portions of the evening meals and offer complimentary snacks to our (cycle) guests when returning home after a beautiful (and long) cycle day.

Hopefully you fully enjoyed our healthy breakfast, while with all modesty, our breakfast is sumptuous and is of very high quality offering organic and seasonal produce. Please be aware that during the main cycling holiday weeks we offer a complimentary pasta dish between first-and main course, so cyclists will enjoy the required complete proteins.

Look forward to meet again, so we can show you that we took your feedback very seriously.

Enjoy your day and kindest regards,

The Small Wonders team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasmechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

we do not even count the times we have stayed here. this was again a very very nice week. the food was incredible. this coming from a group of 13 gourmet friends I think is a big compliment, but they deserve it. the service is outstanding. you feel so much at home there. there is a certain cosyness that is difficult to find in the French Alps. hopefully we can go to their new desination next year...........val D'Isere.

Room Tip: all the rooms have there owm charm and are decorated in a warm clean way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Well what can I say, we were greeted at the airport by a team of very friendly and welcoming people and from there on the experience became better and better. The chalet was very warm and cosy with a wonderful log burning fire, that was always lit at the right time. The sofas in the sitting area were so comfortable I felt as though I was in my own home. The rooms were all spacious with lots of storage and places to store all our belongings. Richard and Alice sorted out ski hire and passes, as well as being there for transfers to and from the slopes at any time. If we needed anything from a chemist or shop they were happy to take us and never complained. The cake and tapas was always delicious and served upstairs in the sitting area while the children ate downstairs. The Breakfast was always served with a different type of eggs from day to day and plenty of lovely bread, cheeses and ham amongst other things. The dinner in the evening varied from fish to different meats which were always so well presented and with a lot of work and expertise put into it. It was never a disappointment!!!! The service during dinner was excellent with both Richard and Alice creating a relaxing and happy atmosphere. We always retired to the sitting area late in the evening and just carried on from our great days skiing chatting and laughing about the days events, ready for our next days skiing.

All my family and my friends had a wonderful experience. We looked forward to returning after a days skiing as we were greeted with a cake, tapas and evening dinner. The staff were welcoming and the service was excellent. I would recommend to families or couples and will be returning soon!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were looking for a catered skiing venue for a large family gathering to be together for our Golden Wedding. Chalet La Maitreya proved to be the perfect place. It was made perfect by the hosts - Richard and Alice. Nothing was too much trouble. With our ages - 18 of us- ranging from 2 to 73 it could have been tricky to accommodate all our needs. Not so. The Chalet was very comfortable and homely. Big fire in the evening. Delicious food for children at 6pm and adults at 8pm. And all near the most amazing ski amenities for all ages. We cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairM437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
0.3 mi away
Chalet Solneige
Chalet Solneige
#1 of 5 in Vaujany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
Hotel le Chamois d'Or
#10 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel  Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#2 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Saskia
Chalet Saskia
#1 of 11 in Vaujany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet La Maitreya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Maitreya

Property: Chalet La Maitreya
Address: le Perrier, 38114 Vaujany, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vaujany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catered Chalet La Maitreya is a place of peace. The place is all about honest, unpretentious authenticity and will offer a space to breathe where one can enjoy nature in her pure unspoilt state.This stylish and charming Alpine retreat offers you a highly individual place, that make a holiday remarkable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalet La Maitreya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing