We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Review of Chalet La Maitreya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet La Maitreya
Ranked #1 of 1 Vaujany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Extremely clean. Huge chalet so fantastic for the kids. The hosts are very friendly and great with the children. They will drop and collect you at the drop of a hat and are very punctual. Highly recommend. 5*

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottejarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmallWonders1, Director of Sales at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi,

many thanks for your very kind review.

We had great fun having all the families in the chalet and your children are amazing!

We look forward to your next year Easter stay and the whole team will be there to provide once again an excellent service.

Enjoy your day and kindest regards,

The Small Wonders team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glanamman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just returned home from another brilliant holiday in Vaujany at Chalet La Maitreya. This is the place to go for 5 star service at a very good price. It was so good the first time that we had to come back, and this time I thought id write a review.

The Chalet:
Located just outside of the small village of Vaujany and 45mins from Grenoble it includes a Sauna a tv/dvd room and a good WiFi Connection. The living area has 3 large sofas that are really comfortable and difficult to get out of after a hard day skiing and the dinning area has a very long table that has enough room for everyone.

The Rooms:
The rooms have a touch of luxury with a towelling robe, good artwork on the walls, and very clean and comfortable beds. We had a balcony the two times we've been which overlook the whole valley. Really nice to spend some time sitting in the sun taking in the scenery.

Food
The food is wonderful. This is the most important factor of a holiday in my opinion and the two times we stayed it was of very high quality. Breakfast is usually a good continental breakfat with a couple of items of hot food which change each day, they inlude fruit, cold meats, cheese, juices, and pastries. During the dinner they have a wine tasting menu for 10 euros which gives you a different glass of wine to accompany each delicious meal - really nice! They also have a self service drinks fridge with a trust system where you talley what you've taken. It's a nice touch as it makes you feel more at home. (word of caution: you can easily tally up a lot of drinks if you're having a good time!! My bill was around 45euros both times and I went a bit mad so it's affordable.)

Chalet Hosts
Both times they have been brilliant. No request was too much for them. They cooked a birthday cake for a member of our family and were great with the kids. They take you up to the ski lifts in the morning and pick you up in the afternoon, leaving you to enjoy you're holiday with minimal fuss.

Snowboarding
I can't comment about skiing but pretty sure it was great. Snowboarding was brilliant, I personally enjoy the smaller side (Vaujany) as it's a lot quieter and has loads of little kickers and off piste areas that are great on a powder day - also a small fun park that is pretty good for it's size. Alpe D'Huez is a lot bigger and also quite a bit more busy and the village is definitely more British. Snowpark on this side is really good and a lot bigger, also there are some lovely runs - especially the Pic Blanc Serene run. I've been back twice now and buy passes on a daily basis depending on weather conditions to ensure I get the best of each resort.

I think i've covered everything - definitely worth coming to this chalet, I would reccommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 and Room 3 which both have a lovely view of the valley and their own balcony. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week and had a wonderful time. The chalet is beautiful spacious and comfortable. I stayed in room 6 which had amazing views. I felt that the cost of beverages and wines were of excellent value. The hosts were friendly and helpful and my granddaughter loved their huge dog. All in all a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mazla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmallWonders1, Director of Sales at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi,

thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciated your company and we were delighted to welcome the 40th Birthday celebration of your son.
We love what we do and want our guests to have a wonderful relaxing time enjoying the views, skiing, cycling etc or just relaxing in the sun!

We hope you will all come back to enjoy the chalet and its magnificent mountain scenery.

Kindest regards,

The Small Wonders Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Gorgeous Chalet - very traditional, cosy and comfortable
Rooms were all lovely and very clean
Dining area is lovely
We were made to feel very welcome and the hosts were good, I think Richard in particular offers a fantastic service. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for him.
Good food for the adults, the food for the children was average I would say. Also for the vegetarian in our group i think it could have been slightly better.
Shuttle - we were asked to try and coordinate to minimise the runs back and forth which i can understand but the hosts also need to realise that with a large group of children this is not always possible. One day i had to ask for a lift back just with my son and the host was not that happy about it.
We had a fantastic week and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We first stayed at Chalet La Maitreya Summer 2012 to investigate the area for an extended Winter trip 2012/13. Our first impressions still lie with us, a beautiful genuine old chalet and the view.....WOW. its breathtaking.
We had the best stay in winter 2012/2013 and so returned for a week Jan 2014 and everything was perfect again. Great food, very accommodating hosts, great ski area - beautiful village - everything.
Lots of people are put off by being a kilometre out of town DONT BE. The chalet team drive you up and drop you literally at the lifts, there is less walking than most other resorts I've ever been to. Food and drink experience at La Maitreya is first class, we're not talking 'UK Tour operator' style chalet food here, but a real experience and it works out great value with all that's on offer. (the cake is fantastic!)
We're booking to go again this winter, and will be back year on year. Put simply La Maitreya is our home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but for couples the top floor (think room 8) is up in the arches. They also hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

fantastic chalet, the staff were very helpful and accommodating - in particular when being hounded by a number of small children under 5! the chalet is beautiful and very comfortable. the lounge area is very special having super comfortable sofas by the fire, and the dining area is great with a beautiful view down the mountain. when we booked it was very clear what was / was not included and this was no issue, we just ticked a sheet if we wanted any of the extras! all tastes and dietary requirements were catered for. overall great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in the chalet and took over the whole chalet, the chalet was absolutely perfect - spacious, comfortable and had everything you could want for a week ski holiday - including amazing views. The chalet staff and management were so helpful and accommodating, the pick ups/shuttles to/from the slopes were prompt and always cheerful. everyday we were greeted with a welcoming afternoon tea in front of a roaring log fire on the very comfortable sofas. breakfast/ dinner were fantastic - all tastes catered for and menus adapted accordingly. overall a great chalet and highly recommended.

Room Tip: the family room is great and very quiet - you absolutely do not hear any of the other guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSHUA h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
0.3 mi away
Chalet Solneige
Chalet Solneige
#1 of 5 in Vaujany
115 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#2 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Saskia
Chalet Saskia
#1 of 11 in Vaujany
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chateau d'Oz
Le Chateau d'Oz
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet La Maitreya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Maitreya

Property: Chalet La Maitreya
Address: le Perrier, 38114 Vaujany, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vaujany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catered Chalet La Maitreya is a place of peace. The place is all about honest, unpretentious authenticity and will offer a space to breathe where one can enjoy nature in her pure unspoilt state.This stylish and charming Alpine retreat offers you a highly individual place, that make a holiday remarkable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalet La Maitreya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing