We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't lose your key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't lose your key”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I was in general rather disappointed by the hotel. The rooms were pokey and badly designed - we were unable to sit 6 people round the table or is sit everyone on the chairs/sofas, and it was very difficult to control the heating. The real crunch came when I lost a key to the room and was charged 100Euros to replace it, which I regard as extortion.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeGeeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    92
    51
    46
    24
See reviews for
182
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

100 yards from the slope and a brilliant view mask the fact that the rooms (for 5 people - I don't think so!!) were poor and we had to wait 1 hour plus to check in, then to be fleeced for towels and sheets. Fortunately the snow/weather was great, so chilled out. But will not go back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flaine hotels

England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Terrasses de Veret in Flaine. We paid extra to book a larger room with two bedrooms for 6 people even though there was only 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children, 9&7) and were very glad that we did. The apartment was basic but clean. Downstairs there was a double with ensuite shower roomand upstairs was another bedroom, bathroom with bath and shower, separate WC and small living area with kitchen and table. The balcony was big with fantastic views!

The main reason we chose these apartments was for location, last year we stayed at the Montsoleil apartments which were lovely, however we had to get the bus to the slopes morning and afternoon which, with 2 children and all our equipment was hard work! This year we were able to walk out of the locker room and onto the slopes which made life so much easier! The children were in ski school with ESI each day and the meeting point was at the top of the yogurt pot lifts which were literally a 5 min walk which also meant we could pop back for lunch when we wanted to, which saved us a fortune! As has been mentioned previously Flaine is not the cheapest place to eat out!
The locker rooms were damp and not overly practical, especially in a morning when everyone seemed to be there at the same time, however considering it was the Easter holidays it was not too busy and we managed. We had the same problem with boots still being wet the next day so sometimes we had to take them up to the room to dry them out.
The children loved the swimming pool and hot tub and as we were usually back in the apartments by mid afternoon we never found it overly busy, however it did seem to get busier as the afternoon went on.
Would we go back-yes, we have already booked again for next year! Purely on location alone!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Having read the reviews of these apartments we weren't expecting much but we were extremely impressed by the hotel. Our apartment was perfectly sized with a huge balcony and comfortable furnishings. The biggest plus is the view! It is the best view I have ever had from a note/apartment...just spectacular. We had a room meant for 6 for our family of five which was a very good size so I would recommend booking a bigger room than you need. The staff were all extremely helpful at the hotel and the pool/sauna/jacuzzi was perfect after a long day on the mountain.

As for Flaine itself, it is extremely overpriced and some of the restaurants aren't great. We had lunch everyday and some evening meals at the apartment and it saved us over €500. But if you look there are some brilliant restaurants like the Monte Bianca which is nearly right beside the complex.

The skiing was brilliant and over all it is a fantastic place to stay for family's.

Room Tip: Always book a bigger room than you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our second visit to Flaine. First visit we stayed in the Hotel Club Flaine in the very bottom of the bowel, and without children. This year we took our 11 and 13 year old with us. We booked via Nielsons and managed to get a two bed apt for the 4 of us. On reading other reviews about the apartments being small we were happy to pay the extra to get a larger room, as we knew the location was perfect.
Yes the stairs are steep, and if you have any injuries then you will struggle pulling your cases up them. I wouldn't take small children/toddlers, personally but there were a lot of families with young children staying there. I would have been very worried about the stairs.
Over all, even though the kitchen was small, the apartment was spotlessly clean, bedding was provided and clean, towels, and pillows.
The locker rooms as previously mentioned are terrible. the odd chair is available if you're quick enough to grab it! but it wasn't show stopping and didn't ruin our holiday.
The swimming pool was too busy with unsupervised children, and they were also jumping in the jacuzzi and throwing snow in the jacuzzi and pool. Therefore we only visited the once.
We chose these apartments mainly for location, and the guaranteed views from the balcony. we were not disappointed. There is a small supermarket two minutes walk away which is very reasonably priced and much cheaper than the Spar. they also provide spit roast chickens and chips and also have a pizzeria next door. Although its dear to eat out we found this shop the best for value for money. Sirloin steak was 5 euros, Chicken and chips 7 euros (enough for two people) bottle of red wine 3 euros etc.
Over all we had an excellent holiday, the room was very comfortable, little noise, and snow was perfect which meant we could literally ski too and from the locker door. We may return again next year!

Room Tip: try and get a larger room than needed. its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I spent a week here with a group of friends and I really couldn't recommend it more. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the apartment itself was fantastic. It is located right next to the pistes, so you can ski off straight away in the morning. It also had wonderful facilities with a lovely jacuzzi that looked over the mountains! I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rog187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We've just ended a week of skiing in Flaine. Great resort with great slopes for beginners/intermediates and Madame Vacances is as near as you can get to the slopes. You can literally ski in/out of the locker room.

Another positive is the pool, sauna and hot tub...however, one day the pool shower was out of order. The following day the whole area was flooded and so the pool area was "no access".

Given the location, this place would be great if only some thought had been given to the design. Echoing the reviews below, the locker room is just grim. No seats, so you have to stand and put your boots on and there is no heating so your stuff stays cold and damp. And, there is no room for more than one locker to be opened in the same corridor...so you end up waiting and manoeuvring around other people. To top that, it's dirty...doesn't look like it's been cleaned since it was built. Our locker had damp cardboard, old clothes and god knows what in it!

Our apartment size was fine for the two of us (although there is no way it could accommodate four people as advertised). It was not clean and we spent an hour cleaning before we could unpack our things. Again, bedding and towels are not usually included so we brought our own with us (we drove, so had the luxury of being able to load up the car up). And when we saw the state of their sheets, we're glad we brought our own!

Again, the apartment could have been designed better and the furniture quality is poor (the beds are not comfortable). Although, our views were spectacular and it was great having a balcony.

Our apartment had a very small kitchen (microwave, hob, fridge, dishwasher, kettle & toaster). Enough to do the basics and the crockery/cutlery were all in clean and in good order.

There is secure underground parking at a reasonable cost.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and when we complained about the state of our room, they were apologetic and offered to go and clean the room themselves.

Overall, we had a great holiday but this property certainly didn't meet our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
0.3 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
2.6 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Le Flaine
Club Hotel Le Flaine
#9 of 17 in Flaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret

Property: Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
Address: Flaine-Foret, 74300 Flaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Flaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses De Veret Hotel Flaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing