We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent standards and facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence le Refuge du Golf
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having just returned from this property, I can say that I was very impressed.
The location is in the Hameau and as high as you can get. However, there is a free ski bus that runs to the slopes every 15mins and takes approx 5-10mins. You can also ski down via a track providing you are of a good standard of skier and the track is well covered with snow.
The facilities within the apartment are excellent. We had a 3 bedroomed apt sleeping upto 8. There was a flat screen TV in living room, plus a flatscreen in all 3 bedrooms. The Kitchen was very well equipped, Oven, Microwave, Toasters, Hob, Coffee machine, Dishwasher, Huge fridge. There was a seperate toilet, and all bedrooms have their own bathroom. One with bath, shower and sink, One with shower, sink & toilet and last one with shower & sink. The latter also leads onto own balcony on front of property. A second balcony also on the front of the property. Some members of the party used the pool/hot tub and said this was plenty adequate. Each apartment comes with own ski storage close to reception and this included heated boot warmers. There is a bar and restaurant at the main reception, although we didn't use as we made the most of the apartment facilities.
There is a local shop 5 mins away, however, this is VERY expensive and would only recommend for emergencies. Down in Flaine Forum, there is a SPAR, bakery and butchers. Very well stocked and reasonably priced. You can also catch the bus back home from right outside the SPAR.
The last bus from resort is at 1830hrs from bus stop number 7. This does get very busy, so try and get an earlier one back.
There are also ski lockers at the bottom of the slopes, "Patrick's Lockers" This may be an option to make the journey in a morning alot easier and easier home if you are buying shopping. We paid 14euros pp for 6days. Quite good for convenience.
Very nice apartments, great facilities, excellent standards, would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DollyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

As an expensive, newly built hotel, sold with the added benefits of spa, pool, sauna, fitness room etc, we had high expectations of a reasonably luxurious week in the Alps. Whilst we had a fantastic week skiing, and would use Refuge du Golf again in the absence of anything better, it is not the experience which is sold in the description.
The apartment was a reasonable size, very clean and comfortable and fabulously located with stunning views over the skiing area, nicely away from the busy and less pretty area of Flaine village. You could ski from the hotel to the main lift area, and shuttle buses were great (well, until 6.30PM). However, there were the following negatives:
- on arrival, 175 euros of extras, including 35 euros per car park space (no other close parking a/v) and 40 euros for one dog
- pool, spa, sauna, fitness room were totally oversold in the description- this is NOT a spa, pool hotel - do not be fooled. 14 euros for 30 minutes in the sauna, tiny draughty pool area, with unpleasant smells, fitness room about the size of a small bathroom with hardly any equipment
- restaurant was closed most of the week - good job we were self catering
- attention to detail lacking in apartment and generally (no benches in boot room, no coat pegs, no storage in apartment, no instructions for complicated electrical equipment)
- no ability to unload next to apartment (request for ten minutes parking refused!) so had to haul loads of luggage from underground car park through snow and ice!
- you had to go to reception to get your towels and linen and take these to your apartment and make up your own beds (mattresses ok, but quite hard) - and on leaving, strip beds, and return linens and towels.
- cleaning option was 120 euros for an 8 person smallish apartment - and to use this, you still had to clean the kitchen, toilets, etc.

Overall, expensive for what it is and had the skiing been limited due to weather, we would have been stuck as to how to fill the time, having booked this hotel for its apparent added extras, which were in fact lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyofFourItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Compa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gillesd522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre-Yves N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flaine hotels
1 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
0.3 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence CGH Le Centaure
0.7 mi away
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence le Refuge du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Refuge du Golf

Address: Lieu dit Les Gerat, 74300 Flaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Flaine
Price Range: £81 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing