We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Le Michet

Le Michet
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Flaine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Houston, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Went for lunch several days. Nice position. Good food and nice atmosphere. Have called in here a few times in our 3 visits to Flaine

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VFMTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    70
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb mountain restaurant”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is most definitely the reliably best restaurant in the Grand Massif. The staff are friendly and attentive, the quality and presentation of the food is excellent. Thé Plat du Jour is always superb and represents great value for money for mountain food, where obviously prices are uniformly fairly high. The menu is varied and the restaurant is warm and inviting on cold winter days. Outside tables are in the sun on spring days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drcaholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Correction to previous review”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We called in again for lunch as the last meal was so good. To my surprise Stephan was behind the counter managing the restaurant. He had not retired early but he did change the front of house staff and the chefs. Again we selected the Plate De Jour (at only €15) and it was excellent, the best meal of our break.
A couple of drinks, desert, coffee and a tip for €60 was, in my opinion, money well spent. If you are going to the Grand Massif you must visit Le Michet it is the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, right on the piste”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

On the outside, this appears to be a typical Alpine mountain restaurant, a simple wooden chalet right by the piste. On the inside it's a classy restaurant with excellent service, an interesting menu of beautifully presented dishes and a warm, friendly atmosphere with a very welcoming log fire in the middle of the dining room. No, it's not cheap but it's definitely worth splashing out at least once during your stay in Flaine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A perfect example of an Alpine Reataurant”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have skied all over the French Alps over the last 12 years and have experienced many different standards of food and service in this time. My husband found Le Michet on Trip Advisor, read positive reviews and, as it was my daughters birthday, we decided to have an evening meal there. We phoned to book a table the day before and were asked if we would like to eat any of the mountain specialities which require set-up such as fondue or raclette. We asked for a Hot Stone meal as it's always popular with our daughters and we were unsure whether they would be happy with the A La Carte Menu. After a long day skiing we were almost put off going when we saw that it was a 200 metre walk out of the town centre to get to Le Michet, we hadn't realised that it was situated out on the point where some of the ski lifts meet. However, it was a well lit walk across flat, well bashed snow so not a problem.
Upon arrival we were greeted by warm, friendly staff who accepted our weak French and also spoke good English, especially Hugo who became our host on several visits. A beautiful Alpine building with a central, blazing fire Le Michet is also spacious, unlike many Alpine restaurants. Cosy but in no way claustrophobic. They also have a fantastic soundtrack playing which we were clearly so enjoying that Hugo presented me with a CD of it at the end of our meal, Nice touch Hugo! Our meal and accompanying wines and champagne was superb. Although our table had been set for our Hot Stone meal Hugo made it quite clear that there was no obligation to stick with that as we had, by now seen the A La Carte menu which was full of good but uncomplicated dishes. We decided that we'd stick to our Hot Stone and return on another occasion. We had a really lovely evening at Le Michet and The Birthday Girl got a quiet fuss made of her and an indoor firework in her dessert.
The walk back to our accommodation seemed much shorter on full stomachs and we returned to Le Michet on 6 more occasions that week, sometimes lunch inside or outside on the sunny terrace during a days sking, and sometimes dinner as the walk across the snow became an attraction in itself once we knew what awaited us (there is also a self service snack bar in a next door building for skiers in a hurry although we didn't use this)! We never had the same thing twice but the food was always hearty and of the highest quality. The duck, pork ribs, Tournedos, pasta and burgers are all to be recommended and the salted cream caramel is wonderful.
If I was to ever own an Alpine restaurant Le Michet is exactly what I would model it on. Even if you are not staying in Flaine but in a nearby resortI would recommend planning a ski route to include a lunch here.
A great job Hugo and colleagues, thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjmutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Michet also viewed

 
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 

Been to Le Michet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing