We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to the slopes, tidy and functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location close to the slopes, tidy and functional”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We went on a last minute break before Christmas to take advantage of great early-season snow. booked direct with P&V which saves loads on standard UK prices.

This residence does what it saysnearer time - near the slopes, clean and tidy, with ski hire in the building. The shop and restaurant cater for a captive audience with breathtaking prices. It's almost cheaper to eat on the slopes than self-cater.

Good selection of games kept the children occupied. Flaine is a good fun, family friendly resort, with great snow records and stunning views of Mont Blanc. Some of the buildings are spectacularly ugly, but the views from them are often breathtaking.

Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    173
    72
    31
    16
See reviews for
272
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Check-in was manic and took quite a while. Not quite as efficient as it should have been. Having said that, the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Great location 100m from a fast chair or you can ski down a very short red to the main gondala or another fast chair. Over the road is one of the 2 lifts that link Foret with Forum. There's a supermarket, cafe and small restaurant in the complex. Supermarket is a bit pricey in comparison to the Sherpa in Forum but it's handy.

We booked an Economy (General) 2-room apartment (1 bedroom) through Sunweb. We had 4 people in there and that was fine (3 single beds in the bedroom and 1 on the double sofabed). 5 would have meant 2 people on the sofa bed and would have been cramped. Probably best not to max out the apartments unless you have to. We did get shown a very small 1 bedroom apartment that they said was fine for 4. It would have been really, really small and not much fun. Luckily we asked to swap and they 'found' us another room after a bit of arguing.

There's a good amount of storage space in the apartment.

The wifi worked fine. Not the quickest but it was fine to split the 15 euros between a few people.

We didn't use the kitchen much but it seemed to have all you'd need. TV in the living room has foreign (ie. English) channels as well.

Each apartment gets it's own ski locker which uses the same key as the apartment. Enough space for 5 pairs of skis or 3 skis and 1 snowboard. Boot warmers were a welcome surprise!

There is a bag store you can use but it will cost 1.50 euro per person.

The reception area is nice with sofas, a pool table and table football.

All in all, it's a good deal if you don't max out the apartments.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Phillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Decent size, clean apartment. Modern + well furnished.

Said it slept 7 but I think 6 would be pushing it!

Location great (lots of snow so ski'd 100m down the road to the pistes in the morning and walked back at the end of the day.

Ski hire (Skiset) in the building - access door next to reception.

Supermarket - in the building - access the other side of reception (fresh bread every morning without going outside!)

Cafe / Pizza restaurant - again - accessed from reception corridor

Ski lockers on lower floor included boot warmers and easy access to street to get to skiing.

Ski lift 100m away is a fast chair to the centre of the Grand Massif.

Only downside was wifi. 15 euros a week would be ok but it was slow and connections seemed limited (+ required a log on every time it was used).

Overall - great for a long weekend or cheap week.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We read mixed reviews about this hotel before we travelled. Some people said that the staff were not friendly and the accomodation dirty. We did not find this at all.
On arrival we were offered an upgrade for 40 euros - this was for a front room with a balcony overlooking the slopes and the room was available immediately. We arrived at around 2pm and the rooms were not ready till 5pm so being able to get in straight away was a big bonus.
It was surreal sitting on the balcony in shorts and t-shirt watching people skiing down the slopes as the temperature was in the 70's for the first few days. This drastically affected the snow at the bottom of the slopes. However at the top there was still plenty of snow although it did mean only 50% of the Flaine area was open and all surrounding resorts closed - the worst snow record for years (just our luck).
The reception staff at the hotel speak enough English to get by. There is a small shop in the hotel for basics and a comfy reception area (if you do have to wait to get into your room).
The hotel was very clean in communal areas. Our room was also very clean with ample storage. A lovely deep bath with plenty of hot water. The room has no oven just a microwave and eating out in resort is very very expensive so you sometimes have to be a little inventive with your dinners. We ate a lot of pasta cooked on the rings and managed to succesfully microwave a pizza!!
The best thing about this hotel was the heated ski and boot lockers which are provided free of charge. It was heavenly putting warm dry ski boot on every morning. The location in the foret area of Flaine is also great as you are right opposite the lift to go down to the bootom for the ski lifts in the morning. You can usually ski back virtually to the door - though due to lack of snow this was not possible when we stayed.
Flaine itself is lovely - though very expensive for both eating out and groceries. If you are driving take as much with you as you can. Off piste skiing is great and very varied. Unfortunately when we were there the surrounding resorts were all closed so this restricted out skiing but we still had an excellent week of skiing without getting bored.
I would go back to Flaine and stay here again - but I will probably drive next time and bring my own groceries.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony at the front is definetely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bealfamily004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Basic but clean accommodation, nothing to write home about.
One bedroom apartment was adequate for two guests.[ Rated as suitible for 5, but I would have found this extremely calustrophobic]
Noise did travel from other apartments especially late at night.
On site mini market /cafe was welcome.
Great location close to slopes.
Ski lockers downstairs were appreciated, also ski hire shop on site.
Limited chice of restaurants nearby were more than adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdes_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I've never stayed in such a disgusting place, dogs running loose, fowling everywhere!
The room itself was filthy,glad i took anti bacterial wipes,it obviosly had'nt been cleaned before our arrival.Staff were unable to speak much english (thats when it was open) not very friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Always wear shoes,floors are dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

You don't go to Flaine for the architecture but this place is poorly built and poorly maintained. We went for a long weekend. This was the second time that I have stayed at La Foret and have resolved not to return.

When we got to our apartment, we wanted some water but the glasses were filthy. When we looked at the plates and bowls, there were the remains of someone's spaghetti in one and other food remains in others (all stacked on top of each other under cleaner crockery). Missing light bulbs, dingy bathrooms and ingrained dirt everywhere. This apartment needed to be take out of service and given a deep clean/refurb. What made it worse is that we paid for a premium apartment. This was on the side of the building. South facing? Well part of one room was. The bedrooms were North facing.

I have stayed at P&V in Flaine and Les Arc. In Les Arc we got bed bugs. At the time I thought that it was a one off but now I think that cleanliness is way down the list of priorities for P&V. (P&V will send you a feedback form but not respond.) If you stay on a Friday night take earplugs as you are likely to be kept awake by partying neighbours.

On the plus side, the staff are pleasant and the apartments are near to the slopes but that is not enough to justify the price or the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOM_1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
0.2 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
2.5 mi away
Hotel Residence les Servages
Hotel Residence les Servages
#4 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
0.7 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
0.1 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Panoramic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
Address: Residence La Foret, 74300 Flaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Flaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedestrian resort perfectly integrated into the landscape. A residence "on the slopes" & "Heart Station". Spacious apartments, comfortable and renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret Hotel Flaine
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Foret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing