We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Ski”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good accommodation, comfortably near to the slopes.
Very helpful staff.
Not disappointed.
Recommend it.
However Wi Fi is poor.
We have stayed at this location twice, both of which had stunning South Facing Views.
On the last occasion we were on the 5th floor.
Balcony included on both visits.

Room Tip: Enjoy the South Facing Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just spent a week at Residence La Foret for our first family ski trip. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the accommodation was perfect for a ski holiday with everything you need after a long day on the slopes. We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and fine for my family of five.

The apartments are right next to the slopes and the snow was great as most reviews suggested and the variety of ski runs was excellent for all levels. I am very pleased that we picked Flaine for our first family ski holiday and also that we stayed at Residence La Foret and with Pierre Vacances. There are in my opinion some pretty unfair reviews about these apartments. They offer good quality and well priced family accommodation right next to the slopes. We had such a good time that we are already planning to head back to Flaine and to stay at Residence La Foret next year.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Wayne070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Excellent position for ski in and out. Basic accommodation but fine if skiing is main reason for stay. Shop near by. Good to book when offers on for great value. We asked for a quiet apartment and that was attended to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank GrahamandRachel_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've been to Flaine a few times but this is the first time we've stayed at the top of the resort. Having read the reviews we weren't sure what we'd find, but we were not disappointed.

First, the apartment. We had a one bedroom apartment (sleeps 5) for the two of us and it was very comfortable with loads of space and storage. With 5 adults it would be cozy but still doable so long as you all got along well. The kitchen is very well equipped for the size of the apartment and it would be easy to cook a 3 course meal if you wanted to.

Beds were comfy, heating adjustable so you can have it as hot as you like and endless hot water. The shower is over a full size bath and the loo is separate, great if you are sharing. It was very clean but the walls and carpet are light colours so I guess some may end up looking a bit worse for wear if holiday makers don't look after them.

You have to make the beds yourself and strip them at the end, which is no big deal. You get a kitchen cleaning kit with cloth, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid. You get one roll of toilet paper but if you run out, just ask at reception - they give you more.

We asked for a high floor after the reports of noise. They gave us the 5th and I have to say we had no issues with noise at all, either outside or inside. We didn't pay the extra to be on the front but they upgraded us anyway so we had a balcony with a view too.

The wifi is charged at 15€ for the week! which isn't too bad. Reception was always good even with multiple devices on at the same time. You get a tv too, with 6 or 7 English channels (bbc, itv etc) so have entertainment if you want to stay in your apartment.

The pizza restaurant was really good, both to eat in and take away. We didn't use the on site supermarket as we didn't buy much, too easy to eat out, but others said it was well stocked.

Lounge area downstairs was nice with an open fire. They had pool table down there too and have board games you can borrow.

Flaine itself is a lovely resort, which is why we've been several times. Not the prettiest by a long way but a nice ski area with something for everyone. We'd very happily come back to flaine and to La Foret.

Room Tip: High rooms may be quieter, south facing has better views and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northerngirl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from a short ski - last minute.
+ : close to the slopes
+ : fresh bakery every morning
+ : hot water
+ : pub, restaurant next door
+ : you can book for a few days

- : WIFI : you need to pay but it doesn't work
- : bad smell in our apartment
- : cleanliness

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We are a middle aged couple who drove down to Flaine for six days skiing in mid an 2014 and our first taste of self catering on the slopes. If you are like me then you scour the brochures/online trying to find the best position for lifts and the best standard of accommodation in the price range. Sometimes you win, sometimes the brochure misleads but not in this case. The staff were extremely helpful and the place was clean and tidy and the restaurant and supermarket facilities were within the building. Outside there were bars and shops and two more supermarkets within a true 5min walk. Vehicle parking was higher up on the hill but still within 10 mins. Sure it was a bit noisy on a couple of nights when the après skiers returned in the early hours but only whilst they found their room keys and hey - we're all on holiday, what do you expect? I couldn't fault the accommodation or the public rooms and I am told they are due for a makeover in 2014 so will be even smarter. The bus service passes right outside the front door and the lift down to Flaine Forum is right in front of the building. The road outside is a bout 150metres from the bottom of the Grand Vans chairlift. (we only realised that on day three when the lift was out of order. We caught the bus and the driver dropped us off 15 seconds later at the lift and gave us a wonderful smile and a 'Gallic Shrug'. We just smiled sweetly and pretended we knew where we were going). We would certainly recommend this place for standard and position.
Now, later in the week we had run down 'Tourmaline' and saw a small lift 'Gerats' which takes you to a short blue and an even shorter green. But what it also does is give access to the new accommodation being built at the top of the village. Some of it looked quite smart so we skied in to check and found that 'Les Terrasses D'Eos' is a ski in ski out apartment block which is five star and also run by Pierre & Vacances. Difficult to compare prices but I would say it is 20-25% more expensive with a more comfortable standard of room and a heated indoor/outdoor pool. Same high quality of staff by the way. Worth a look if you want to go a bit more up market and we may try it ourselves next year. It's a bit further to the shops but nothing is any real distance away. Beware though that to get the 'Gerats' lift you will have to ski down Tourmaline which can be a bit challenging for beginners when the snow is thin. The alternative is the bus of course, and yes, it stops right outside the Terrasses D'Eos. I hope this helps.

Room Tip: You can call and request a room facing the slopes but a room facing the rear is not really a disadva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you are looking for the quaint alpine village experience this is not the place for you. But only 2 minutes to the slope and very very family friendly. Resort at 1600 m so we had good snow even over New Year's. Rooms were nice, mostly clean, and functional. Lots of Blue and Red runs, so good for intermediate skiers and groups of mixed ability. We had minimal waiting times for ski-lifts. I would gladly go back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahlimang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
0.2 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
2.8 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#2 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
222 reviews
2.7 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#5 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
0.7 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
0.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret

Address: Residence La Foret, 74300 Flaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Flaine
Price Range: £68 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedestrian resort perfectly integrated into the landscape. A residence "on the slopes" & "Heart Station". Spacious apartments, comfortable and renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret Hotel Flaine
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Foret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing