We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very close to the slopes and next door to hire shop - the apartments are recommended. Bad point was the beds and pillows - not comfy at all.
Would be very happy to stay here again.
We drove to Flaine and unpacked/packed the car easily enogh on arrival and departure. Had to park on the lowest level (€5/day) but that a very small inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank charityworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    165
    71
    32
    16
See reviews for
262
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very easy to get to the piste, we went back at lunchtime rather than eat in a mountainside restaurant. Ski rental shop, small shop & restaurant all within the complex. Staff very helpful, they really couldn't have done more for us when we had a medical emergency.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good accommodation, comfortably near to the slopes.
Very helpful staff.
Not disappointed.
Recommend it.
However Wi Fi is poor.
We have stayed at this location twice, both of which had stunning South Facing Views.
On the last occasion we were on the 5th floor.
Balcony included on both visits.

Room Tip: Enjoy the South Facing Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week at Residence La Foret for our first family ski trip. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the accommodation was perfect for a ski holiday with everything you need after a long day on the slopes. We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and fine for my family of five.

The apartments are right next to the slopes and the snow was great as most reviews suggested and the variety of ski runs was excellent for all levels. I am very pleased that we picked Flaine for our first family ski holiday and also that we stayed at Residence La Foret and with Pierre Vacances. There are in my opinion some pretty unfair reviews about these apartments. They offer good quality and well priced family accommodation right next to the slopes. We had such a good time that we are already planning to head back to Flaine and to stay at Residence La Foret next year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here as a family for 8 days after having booked online following some hesitation due to the un-Savoyard characteristics of the place. Nevertheless, we decided to give it a go as it was the only place in Flaine where we could stay 8 and not the normative 7 nights.

Unfortunately, we were deeply disappointed when we arrived to a filthy and run down flat. There was mould in the bathrooms, the corners and skirting boards were covered with dust and the beige, now grey, carpet hadn't had a good clean since it was put in and is now badly stained. Some mattresses were ripped and there were no protective cases on either mattresses or pillows. I was also delighted to find pubic hairs on my mattress from the previous occupants; I was therefore forced to hoover my mattress.

Moreover the general state of the apartment was appalling, skirting boards weren't fixed to the wall, walls were crumbling, there were holes in the very dated windows and no fixtures, be it radiator or mirror, were straight.

When the cleanliness, or should I say its lack of it, was reported to the head of the residence, we were told that the place hadn't been renovated since 2005, hence its state of disrepair and filthiness. We also informed her that the doors were disgusting, she responded plainly that they did not clean doors. Charming. Cleaners were sent to our apartment to clean it, but one wonders if they knew at all how to use the hoover. I understand that a place can be dated and old, but cleanliness shouldn't be a luxury but a standard expectation.

Also the noise is an issue, if you are above the infamous Flying Dutchman pub, be prepared to awaken to the sounds of drunken shouting, usually from Brits, who obviously cannot behave abroad. If only the noise was the only problem for P&V.

Last but not least, the communal areas are badly lit and like the apartments in a general state of disrepair. Saturdays, when most people check in or out, the reception is like a youth hostel, loud and noisy with people sprawled on the floor resembling a refugee centre.

Those who have put in their reviews that the hot water was a bonus, this is France in 2014, hot water is not a new thing. It is a basic necessity. Also to those saying that the place is clean, I'd dare not think what your houses are like.

Honestly, do not go there. The friendly reception staff and the individual heated ski lockers and location are the only positive things. Pierre et Vacances, I think I need another vacance to get over this one.

I have attached a few pictures to illustrate the aforementioned issues. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Do not come here, if you do, hire your private cleaner, painter and decorator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna5493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flaine hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Excellent position for ski in and out. Basic accommodation but fine if skiing is main reason for stay. Shop near by. Good to book when offers on for great value. We asked for a quiet apartment and that was attended to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank GrahamandRachel_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've been to Flaine a few times but this is the first time we've stayed at the top of the resort. Having read the reviews we weren't sure what we'd find, but we were not disappointed.

First, the apartment. We had a one bedroom apartment (sleeps 5) for the two of us and it was very comfortable with loads of space and storage. With 5 adults it would be cozy but still doable so long as you all got along well. The kitchen is very well equipped for the size of the apartment and it would be easy to cook a 3 course meal if you wanted to.

Beds were comfy, heating adjustable so you can have it as hot as you like and endless hot water. The shower is over a full size bath and the loo is separate, great if you are sharing. It was very clean but the walls and carpet are light colours so I guess some may end up looking a bit worse for wear if holiday makers don't look after them.

You have to make the beds yourself and strip them at the end, which is no big deal. You get a kitchen cleaning kit with cloth, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid. You get one roll of toilet paper but if you run out, just ask at reception - they give you more.

We asked for a high floor after the reports of noise. They gave us the 5th and I have to say we had no issues with noise at all, either outside or inside. We didn't pay the extra to be on the front but they upgraded us anyway so we had a balcony with a view too.

The wifi is charged at 15€ for the week! which isn't too bad. Reception was always good even with multiple devices on at the same time. You get a tv too, with 6 or 7 English channels (bbc, itv etc) so have entertainment if you want to stay in your apartment.

The pizza restaurant was really good, both to eat in and take away. We didn't use the on site supermarket as we didn't buy much, too easy to eat out, but others said it was well stocked.

Lounge area downstairs was nice with an open fire. They had pool table down there too and have board games you can borrow.

Flaine itself is a lovely resort, which is why we've been several times. Not the prettiest by a long way but a nice ski area with something for everyone. We'd very happily come back to flaine and to La Foret.

Room Tip: High rooms may be quieter, south facing has better views and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northerngirl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
0.2 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
2.8 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
0.6 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Le Flaine
Club Hotel Le Flaine
#10 of 16 in Flaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
Address: Residence La Foret, 74300 Flaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Flaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedestrian resort perfectly integrated into the landscape. A residence "on the slopes" & "Heart Station". Spacious apartments, comfortable and renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret Hotel Flaine
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Foret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing