We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence CGH Le Centaure
Nearby Hotels
Les Airelles(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
la Croix de Savoie(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
US$161
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Residence les Servages(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Odalys Sunotel(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
55
41
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
41
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred runlarge poollovely balconythree bedroom apartmentforum shopsquality accommodationspeedo typesherpa supermarketgreat poolthese apartmentswelcome packflaine forumwashing up liquidweek stayboot roomski lockerssmall children
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very please with transfer to these apartments, 1.30 from Geneva . Check in was about 5.30pm and was very quick and swift from the lovely Maria . We were a party of 2 couples and I had emailed the hotel before our trip to ask for rooms next door to each other, this was done no problem. I did not find any problem with the layout, I thought it was excellent. Split level 2 girls upstairs in twin room with a huge window overlooking the slopes ( 7th floor room 46 ) shower and sink, bothered about a curtain and not a door, er no! No toilet upstairs is the only snag, but no big deal really. The stairs were narrow and spiral, so like any spiral staircase you have to be careful. The downstairs was really spacious and very well equipped with lovely balcony.
The boot rooms was a godsend and we kept all our gear in here, got the lift down to that floor in the morning and we all had individual boot rooms. Out the boot room and 1 minute walk and you are at the top of a slope leading to the lift. The ski back is down a very short red run, but our girls 7 and 9 managed it , and you can literally ski right to the boot room door. Easy !!
Coming back to the hotel at about 3.30 and making use of the lovely leisure facilities was fantastic, beautifully done and well cared for, never over crowded. You do not have to go outside to get to this facility there is a door on the bottom floor that takes you straight in. A robe can be hired for €8 a week and I wore this to and from the spa area.
Maria at reception was amazing and a real credit to the place, so accommodating , anything she could help with booking us restaurants and offering the bread service, games console, DVD playing, cards. We had some great restaurants, le Michel was our favourite. Supermarket also fantastic and well priced, lovely hot food counter.
Skiing was brilliant only snag was cascades run was shut. Days out to morillon with plate de jour at Le Bleu, situated at the end of the brilliant green marvel run through the trees and les molliets which also had a lovely restaurant.
Flaine was great for sledging and ice skating. One day we even found a free activity, hopping on to a big rubber ring, sliding down a long ramp and taking off before falling on a large under inflated cushion, children could not get enough of it....hilarious.
Overall very sad to leave to resort and hotel. The only improvements I would make would be to add a bar to the lovely reception area as it seems a bit wasted and we did have trouble overheating at night in the apartment and couldn't seem to turn the heating off.
On checkout we were asked to strip our beds and clear the rubbish, which took about 10 mins so no problem, but just hadn't factored it in to our early morning departure. If space is important to you when you book make sure you all get a proper bedroom, people sleeping in the lounge, whilst good to have as an option is never ideal. We were only 4 in a 6 man apartment.
Please don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kirst135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabienne w, directrice at Residence CGH Le Centaure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Dear guest,

i would like to thank you for your comment,and we are delighted that you have a pleasant stay in our residence , i look foward to see you again and welcome you for a next stay at the Centaure

best regard,
Fabienne.
the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My famly and I visitied over New Year. We have stayed in Flaine for the past 3 years at Montsoleil Appts and had seen this new property being built. It is overlooking the Ski School and most of the shops and restaurants that Flane has to offer. It is in the perfect situation, you can ski to and from it easily enough, the ski locker room has lots of space and seats whilst the boots are warmed/dried overnight.
The apartments are furnished to a high standard but unfortunately there are issues with the layout. The use of the space is poor, the upstairs bedroom is cramped and its shower room is curtained off as there is no room for a door. The stairs are precarious, especially when traipsing up and down with large cases. The lounge area, with pull down bed and TV with 2 English channels is spacious enough as is the dining area. However, there is a fan that is on constantly, so anybody sleeping in that room has that noise to contend with.
The kitchen has all you need but very lacking in workspace. Bathroom and separate toilet (only 1 toilet between 4-6 people is not enough) are provided and the main bedroom has an inbulit wardrobe and plenty of drawers.
We needed to charge phones/ipads daily and I dont know why but they would rarely charge from the plug points, so much so that I thought my Iphone had broken.
The leisure area is very impressive. A large pool, gym, sauna and Spa are located on the ground floor, the only downside being you need to go outside to access it. Very small towels are provided for 5 euros each, for the week.
Despite the criticism I will be returning next year as it is so convenient for shops/restaurants/ski school unlike Montsoleil, although Montsoleil is nicer.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabienne w, directrice de résidence at Residence CGH Le Centaure, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear mister,
I would like to thank you for your comment, and wish to answer about.
I am sorry that the arrangement of your apartment was not up to your expectation. Is it true that the Duplex apartment are not suitable to everyone.
Most of our apartments are in Duplex and this particularity makes that all our guests can enjoy the magnificent south view.
For your next stay, I would like to suggest you to come back to us and recommend a one level floor apartment or a larger one, if you do not want to have someone sleeping in the living room.
About the Wellness area, I confirm you that you do not need to go out to access to the swimming pool, there is a direct access for our resident from the door before the exit down the elevator at the main entrance.
I look forward to see you again and welcome you in our residence for your next stay in Flaine.

Fabienne, The residence manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice new apartment accommodation located near the center Forum. Next to a main slope.
Lay-out of apartments is quite clever. Most of the apartments are split over 1,5 levels. At the entrance level, the is a bed room and shower and a staircase up (ore down) to the main level. Here one find a bed room (at the back of building), kitchen & dining table (middle) and sitting area and balcony (at front). This level goes from back to front of the building. We had our entrance at 4th floor. Our main level was at 5th floor. The opposite hallway door had their main floor At 3th (staircase down). The other entrance was at 7th floor with their main floors at 6th and 8th.

Lay-out of the apartment and utilities are very good. Beds are good. At street level and 1st floor there is a very nice and very large swimming pool, sauna, etc.

At 2nd floor there is the reception.

access to the building by skies possible.

Room Tip: all the rooms are split over 1.5 levels. only some apartments at the end of building not (maybe the 3 bedroom apartments??? For these specific apartments (maybe 10 out of the 60) one might need to take an other elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A1V1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Overall review:
- difficult access & little space to unload
- reception not open between 12 & 2 on Saturday
- reception only open at certain times & days during the week
- entrance not sign posted & you need a door code to get in before taking a lift to the first floor reception (nb the lift doesn't work to floor 1 when the reception is closed)
- weird lift system where you have to get a lift up, walk along a corridor and then take another one down to access some apartments
- apartments smaller than expected
- only 1 toilet for an apartment for 6
- no wash hand basin in toilet & you need to walk to the single bathroom to wash your hands
- single bathroom small & cramped
- problem with dishwasher, TV, fridge & coffee maker not working
- no instructions in English for any appliances
- noise from ventilation system annoying at night
- rooms overlooked by other buildings ( like being in a goldfish bowl)
- access to slopes is a sharp climb onto a busy red slope so not good for beginners
- similar problems on way back but downhill access is very narrow
- general feeling that building is only half built
On the positive:
- apartments are decorated well & comfortable
- close to lifts & ski school
- close to Forum shops & bars
- staff were very helpful and dealt with all problems

I can agree that some of these issues may be first year snags - the facility just wasn't ready - and hopefully it will be better next season when it should be working 100%
Forgot to add about the yelling & chanting at 2:00 in the morning - too close to the UCPA?
But Pierre/Peter is doing a fantastic job holding the place together

Room Tip: Check the facility is working properly before you book. If not, go somewhere else in Flaine
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabienne w, directrice de résidence at Residence CGH Le Centaure, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We thank you for the feedback : we always take care of each guest return. We feel sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations
I take this opportunity to inform you that all the opening problems are now fixed.
Our Wellness Area of 2000m2 with a covered heated swimming pool, saunas, steam rooms, bubble baths and fitness room is now open and free when you rent an apartment.
The access to the Spa and the reception has been simplified and the slopes access from the residence has been also modified to make it easier.
Some apartments in the extremities could be bothered by the closest building, but the living room keeps its south and cleared view like all the other apartments. It’s one of our Residence assets.
Finally, our reception is open every day from 7:30 to 11:00 am and from 4:00 to 8:00 pm every day and all day long on Saturday.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to give a new opportunity to discover our CGH Residence.

Fabienne, The residence manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have stayed in an 8p, 3 bedroom (4 room) duplex apartment.

Location: excellent in the Center of Flaine Forum. If you're not an absolute beginner, you can ski in & out Le Centaure without any problems (our 4y old daughter could handle the red slope already). Doing this, you're immediately near the ski-lifts and ESF ski-school.
Design & decoration: Very nice!! We'll upload some photos soon. The interior of the apartment is very nice. We especially loved the 'vintage' ski & mountaineering photos you find everywhere in the apartment.

Size: very spacious apartment compared to the French Ski Resort Norms.

Kitchen & equipment: Very equipped! Be aware: the coffee machine is of the Senseo type. In our brochure it was just mentioned 'coffee machine', so we didn't take along Senseo pads. Very large fridge - very convenient.

Convenience / Floorplan: this was one of the biggest minuses of our apartment. It was located on the left side (above main entrance). The building has there a bend, which meant:
- We almost didn't have a balcony
- The small room is almost of triangular shape. Which means you can hardly get between the two beds that stand against 2 of the triangle sides.
The main bedroom had also something awkward: it had a desk with bench, but there was literally no room left to shift the bench back, so it was sitting useless under the desk. We did have a look in a 6p apartment and there the main bedroom was bigger, so the desk & bench did have the needed space.
We stayed in a duplex, and it was really surprising that we entered the apartment at the top floor. It meant we needed to go down the stairs with all food and luggage for 4 persons (only 1 bedroom at top floor). Later during the week, we found it less impractical when entering with wet boots/shoes: you can leave them in the small hallway at the top floor and keep the living room dry and clean.

Lifts: don't even try to understand why the 7th floor of the right side lift is the same as the 3rd floor of the left side lift (like the 4th floor of the right side corresponds to the 2nd floor on the left side)... The staff doesn't understand it either ;-)

Finishing: You could very well see that everything was just recently done, but we had the impression as well that it was all done in a rush, with still a lot of tuning to be done. But then again, that's the risk you take when being among the first to stay in a brand new residence.

Ski-lockers: They have ski-boot dryers. Never seen in France yet...

Bathrooms: It took a couple of minutes to have hot water. I assume that once the swimming pool and spa is up and running, this will be solved??

Spa & Swimming pool: was not ready yet. We got a discount of €100 on our apartment. However strange to read that a UK reviewer got a discount of £300, which is 3,5 times higher than we got... (perhaps Fabienne W can explain us?)

Staff: Also still in a learning curve, but always very helpful and professional!!

Recommended for next ski season!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 'corner' apartments above the entrance (left side). They have a strange floorplan...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DirkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabienne w, Responsable réception at Residence CGH Le Centaure, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

dear mr
cgh thank you for your comment
and we are delighted that you have a pleasant stay in our residence the centaur;
in response to your question about the reduction that you had and that another customer would have received it depends very definitely the holiday period to which you have come this mr being a period of new year
and this depends on the tour operator you have chosen we will be delighted to see you again for next holiday in the residence the Centaure
weverbergh F .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews