We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay - perfect for young children!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Indoor pool, also designed for children!
Gym
Gym with the pool in the background
Sauna
Trampoline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Le Grand-Bornand, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
VickiLond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - perfect for young children!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful stay in June with our two boys aged 2 and 4. The location is amazing - stunning mountains everywhere you look, very peaceful and the pretty much the only sound you could hear was the sound of cow bells on the nearby hills. The chalet is brilliantly set up for children but also has a luxurious feeling and has been beautifully renovated. Apartment 1 is spacious with two bathrooms (one ensuite with the master bedroom) and we loved the fact that the living room opened out onto the (shared) deck area with tables and chairs and a bbq. The trampoline & climbing frame in the garden were a constant source of entertainment for our little ones and the fact that they could run round to use them while we watched from the deck on sun loungers or from the windows of our apartment was a huge bonus! The playroom on the top floor of the chalet was really well kitted out with everything our boys could have wanted to play with and we would have used it a lot more if the weather had not been so glorious. We also loved the pool - small but perfect for young children with a large shallow end they could stand in and bubbles & a fountain for fun too. The owners have thought of everything when it comes to children - built in baby monitors, small cutlery and plastic plates, cups, bowls etc, cots, highchairs, everything you need. We were made to feel very welcome and particularly enjoyed being cooked for one night by Eva. The option of bread and pastries delivered to your door every morning was a treat too. The location of the chalet is perfect for the summer months to explore the surrounding area. We enjoyed going to Lake Annecy (Veyrier was great for kids) and riding in a gondola up the mountain in nearby resort, La Clusaz amongst many other outdoor adventures! The village of Le Grand Bornand is a short drive away and had lots of restaurant options that were family friendly with good food. We absolutely loved our stay at Chalet le 4 and would highly recommend it to anyone with young children. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and stunning scenery.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“a beautiful chalet with superb catering”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed here for a week whilst on a cross country skiing course. The chalet is beautifully renovated in a lovely peaceful rural area, with great views. This is one of the loveliest places i have stayed in ages. The facilities are excellent, and it is very well equipped for anyone on an active week. Eva who runs the chalet was extremely helpful and went to a great deal of trouble to ensure we had a good week. She is very warm and welcoming. We stayed half board and the food was superb, with an unusual, varied menu which the whole group raved about. I have already recomended the chalet to friends and fully intend to go back with my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“luxury chalet le 4 - great base to explore Haute Savoire”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was quite simply the best chalet we've ever stayed in anywhere. We've skied on & off for 30 years and nowhere have we had such a warm welcome (thanks Eva!), great food and fantastic accommodation. The chalet is a family home, has been completely rebuilt in traditional style and is very comfortable. All the fixtures and fittings are to a very high standard and we really could not have had a more attentive host or a more relaxing and luxurious place to stay in the lovely Le Grand Bornand area. There's a mixture of winter sports activities and we think the Haute Savoire (and the chalet) would also be great all year round.We were able to hire ski kit & buy ski passes next door (almost) & we had the most fabulous week...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well everything really....
Liked least: can't think f anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iTravel4J...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, warm, faultless, stylish luxury”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

From a beaming smile welcome to a sad farewell my stay at the Chalet, hosted by owners Eva and Piet, was perfect in every way. Eva's cooking was looked forward to each day whilst working up a good appetite on the ski tracks. Returning home (it felt like home) for afternoon cake, different and freshly baked each day, was a real treat. A blast in the superbly kitted gym or swim in the endless pool followed by a sauna and roll in the snow (ok last bit I lied!) rejuvenated set me up for the evening meal. Everything was without exception delicious.
The Chalet, recently rebuilt has been completed to an amazingly high standard, retaining the old farmhouse wood but recycled into the new structure. Subtle details everywhere showing much thought and sensitivity went in to the rebuild. How many places have luxury white towels for each exercise areas, each with gym, sauna or pool discretely embroidered in them?
In summary - awesome. I'm already planning to go there again next season with Tracks and Trails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia R
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at Chalet le 4 for a week in Feb with our 3 year old twin girls. It was our first holiday of this type with the children. On arrival we were delighted by the appearance of the Chalet, the wonderful location opposite the sledging field and cross country skiing, framed by mountains behind. There was lots of snow but the roads were all accessible. The owners Eva and Piet welcomed us warmly and showed us around. The chalet is like something out of 'Grand Designs', well thought out and very high quality throughout. Touches like the hard wired baby monitors and family friendly equipment were a big help. The apartment was spacious, spotless and like a home from home with everything we needed. The swimming pool was perfect, warm and clean, we used it daily with the children. Eva cooked for us on two evenings and both meals were delicious. This is a truly high quality establishment and we would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Han D
Baarn, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second time, same excellent experience”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We definitely can recommend this still (after two years) new accommodation in de France Alps. We booked it this year for the second time and where surprised it still looked as new. The family who build it and live on the top floor with their three nice kids, handle Chalet le 4 with care and love. In combination with the beautiful view of the Alps (when you wake up) this place is well deserved holiday destination. Go for it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCE2013
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Excellent, enjoyed every moment”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed with Eva & Piet for a short cycling week. The chalet is a perfect location for traveling to the french alps. Surrounded by great scenery it offers great luxury for anyone. Local shops are within five minutes drive. Our apartment was super clean and offered everything we needed. Eva & Piet were great hosts and took care of us in a perfect way. Anyone want to cycle tour de france stages this is the location to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing