We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magica Alpine destination, summer or winter”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Indoor pool, also designed for children!
Gym
Gym with the pool in the background
Sauna
Trampoline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Le Grand-Bornand, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tia60
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magica Alpine destination, summer or winter”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from our 2nd summer holiday in Le Grand Bornand, staying at Chalet Le 4. The accommodation is first class, as is the welcome from Eva and her family. The area is perfect for a summer holiday, with lots to do if you have young children or as part of a more active group. We enjoyed the adventurous activities at Le Clusaz and trips to Lake Annecy. That said, we were all very happy to stay put in the chalet! The kids loved the playroom, stuffed with great toys and books, the pool and trampoline and my husband and I loved the walks in the valley and scenery. Stunning, peaceful location and full credit to the owners, who have put thought and effort in creating a home from home for their guests. A truly special place to relax and forget the other 51 weeks of the year!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen r
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Family Holiday in French Alps”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our second, (summer) trip to Chalet le 4 and we wonder why we left it 2 years to come back! Where to start...it is such a lovely, welcoming place to spend your precious holidays.

The accommodation is immaculate and fitted with top quality appliances, comfortable beds, great showers, and a lovely nespresso coffee maker to accompany the daily delivery of delicious pastries and bread. The highchair, baby bath, steriliser, built in baby monitors, night lights, proper wooden cot all made travelling with little ones so much easier. The endless pool in the basement is perfect for swim training but also great for the little ones - with lots of toys for them to play with too. The playroom, located adjacent to a large dining area (if you're there with friends) is brilliant...parents can relax after dinner whilst the little ones keep themselves amused with a fantastic variety of toys, kitchen, table football, dressing up box, etc....

The wonderful hosts, Pete and Eva really have thought of everything when designing and equipping their beautiful chalet and we couldn't recommend it highly enough to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's so perfect, It makes a family holiday easy...and wonderful
Liked least: leaving....
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
1 review
“Exceptional family holiday and sports summer holiday. My 4th year in a row!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We (2 adults, 2 Kids) came to Chalet Le 4 in 2011 and have been back every summer since. I have not found anywhere to combine a sport holiday and family holiday so perfectly.

I like to cycle, straight out the door and you are riding in the Alps https://www.strava.com/activities/77640686 is one of my rides from 2013

https://www.strava.com/activities/375056741 is a ride from this year, rode from Le Bourg-d'Oisans over col du Glandon, then Madeleine, then...well then it got tough but what a great ride. The Family drove round and were waiting with a beer for me at the chalet. How good is that :-)

My Wife enjoys running and LOVES the trails which start near the Chalet, amazing views, elevation and the air - she comes back running - happy and alive.

The ability to do all this from the doorstep means it is easy for us both to have some time for us without it being an imposition, or being long enough to bite into the family time that we also come for.

This goes for the endless pool too - 30 min swim in London takes me 90 min, travel and changing included. At Chalet Le 4 a 30 min swim takes about 34 min.

So what do we do at Chalet Le 4?

**** Visit Chamonix - We Usually visit while UTMB is on so the town is buzzing and my kids do the mini race

**** Make Tartiflette - the Roblechon Farmer (that the owners introduced us to) showed us his Cows and chages €5 not the £12+ we would pay here! It is lovely quality too http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2014/feb/27/how-to-cook-perfect-tartiflette

**** Go up a Glacier http://www.chamonix.com/montenvers-mer-de-glace,81,en.html

**** Take the Kids to the Go Ape type tree top adventure thing just in town that is better than I have seen elsewhere http://www.dodes.fr/parcours_aventure.html

**** Catch up with our friends at Tracks and Trails http://www.tracks-and-trails.com/

**** Go to the local pool - 25M open air, mountain views with 2 separate kids pools and a slide AND YES IT IS ALL HEATED!

**** Eat at the wonderful restaurant 3 min walk up the hill from the Chalet (Owners have organised us a babysitter - thanks!)

**** Visit Lake Passy - VIEWS! (Google Images will give you a clue) BEACH! ICE CREAM!

***** Kids dress up from play box in the shared space...build Lego...play table footbal

***** Endless pool with Kids, they love it in there.

Every year we end up doing different things and every year the entire family has fun. We have been by ourselves and with other families. The shared space makes it a delight to eat together without it getting claustrophobic or intruding. Both Families we have been with have re-booked.

Really,
really,
good.
!
!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere - Lots to do
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashalina
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from the most fabulous week at Chalet le 4 (Apartment 4). I spent a long time researching appropriate places to stay where my husband and I could both relax but that had enough entertainment for our little girl (nearly 3) and baby boy (1). Chalet le 4 ticked all the boxes and honestly exceeded expectations. Our apartment (number 4) was spacious and beautifully kitted out. There were wonderful touches - a cot in both the second bedroom and our bedroom in case our little boy decided to bed hop (he didn't - thankfully!), a baby bath, a baby slip mat, a bottle of wine in the fridge for us. I wasn't at all surprised to discover that all three of the other families staying at the same time as us (with kids ranging between 7 down to 10 months) are all returners.

Other great touches - the bread ordering service, the gym towels, the well stocked playroom, the welcome meal on arrival - the list goes on...

Some tips for future visitors - we stayed the last week of August when Europe's biggest kids' festival is on. It is absolutely spectacular and our kids would have happily spent all day every day there.

Secondly, if you are a runner/cyclist or fancy trying your hand at either, don't hesitate to pack your kit- the surroundings are stunning and Eva and Piet will happily recommend routes that you can follow to explore the scenery. There is lots to entertain at the chalet while the other members of the family wait for you to return.

We loved our stay at Chalet le 4. The only problem was that a week just wasn't long enough - we have a big to do list for next year and can't wait to return to tick it off!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFamily...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect holiday in the Alps”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Last year we stayed at Chalet Le 4 for a week and we loved it so much that this year we came back for two weeks. Our 5 and 3 year olds love the swimming pool and garden and the accommodation is modern and spacious yet cosy and has everything you could need. There is so much to do locally (go ape style tree climbing, lido, crazy golf, river for paddling, summer luge, cable cars, trampolining, ice skating etc). Lake Annecy is also close by for beaches and swimming and Chamonix just over an hour away for more outdoor sports and a visit inside a glacier. Eva and Piet are so welcoming and have thought of everything you might need for travelling with small children. We would recommend Chalet Le 4 to anyone looking for a

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K P
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful chalet in a stunning location”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful week staying at Chalet le 4. The Vallée du Bouchet is stunning, with fabulous views from the chalet. The lovely owners and hosts Eva and Piet Hein Schram have thought of everything and more in the renovation of their chalet. The four rental apartments are cleverly arranged so that each has its own private feel and outlook but there are lovely inside and outside communal areas too in which to socialise. The ground floor pool, gym and sauna kept all the family happy. Fresh bread and croissants delivered each morning to order. Lots to do and visit in the area as described in other reviews, too much to do in a week.
Our highlights were fabulous mountain walks, the Reblochon cows and their bells, swimming in Lake Annecy, the market at Le Grand Bornand and a dining experience to remember at La Ferme de Lormay oh and seeing the circus arrive in town, not everyday you see a camel in the Alps. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mountain Bliss”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic week in apartment 4. Very clean and well appointed. Great shower, comfortable beds, Boulangerie deliveries each morning, cow bells, outdoor eating area, l could go on. The children loved the pool and l used both it and the gym. We did lots of walking which was all very good, the views were fantastic. We also visited Annecy, took a boat around the lake and swam in it on our hottest day. Having been in Germany the week before when it was very hot and muggy the cool mountain nights were excellent for sleeping well. The luge in La Clusaz was very popular with us all.

I have wanted to do a holiday away from the sea for many years, but was always overruled! This area and accommodation is ideal for families with so much to do. The drive up to Calais is easy. We stayed overnight near Arras but could have got back to Cambridge in one go on one tank of diesel. So much easier than slogging up from Provence. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing