We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing base for an awesome alpine summer break”
other traveller has booked this property
Chalet le 4 in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet le 4 in winter
View from the chalet over cross-country ski slopes View over the Lormay valley with Chalet le 4 on the right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Chalet le 4 in winter
View from the chalet over cross-country ski slopes
View over the Lormay valley with Chalet le 4 on the right
Lounge area
Kitchen an dining area
Double bedroom
Second bedroom with two single beds or one double bed
Bathroom
Apartment 2 - Floorplan
Endless Jet pool
Indoor pool, designed for children too!
Fountain in pool
Gym
View from gym on pool
Sauna
Communal deck with access to indoor swimming pool
Slide and swings
Trampoline
View on communal terrace
Communal dining area
Communal lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Grand-Bornand, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
joconn123
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing base for an awesome alpine summer break”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We (2 adults, 3 kids - 11,9,7) wanted a change this year from our usual bucket and spade beach holiday so we looked for a non-beach, active holiday somewhere hot and sunny and wanted to base ourselves in a comfortable apartment. The alps/chalet le 4 hit the right mark for us on so many different levels.
The chalet itself certainly has the wow factor from the minute you pull up onto the drive. Everything is very well thought through and all of the equipment/appliances are top notch. The pool is a real bonus - small but perfectly formed and, along with the gym and sauna, is great for unwinding and cooling down after a long day out hiking or cycling with a nice decking area to sit out on. There's also a handy morning bread/pastry delivery (the 'bread fairy' leaves it hanging on your door) and we also participated in a table d' hote one evening - dinner with the other guests cooked by the hosts (Eva). I definitely recommend this as a). Eva is a great cook, and b.) it's a good way to get to know the other families/kids to make friends etc. The hosts were great - really friendly and helpful. Eva arranged tennis lessons for our kids at the local courts.
The area around Grand Bornand is stunning - with a huge variety of activities to participate in - hiking, cable cars, cycling, zip wires, summer luge, paragliding, go ape (type) course, golf or simply lounging around the beautiful pool in the village. I'm not sure if we were lucky with the weather but we only had 1-2 afternoons of drizzle/rain (plus one proper mountain storm) - otherwise it was 30 degrees sunshine most of the time. Overall we had an awesome holiday. The kids have already decided that mountain holidays are the way forward....and to be honest I think they have a point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian V
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baby heaven - everything you need for a stress-free holiday”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our first break away with our one-year old, so we wanted somewhere that would allow us to relax. Chalet Le 4 was built with young families in mind. Everything - from the pool, washing and drying facilities, intercom baby monitors, cots - it's all fabulous. Our apartment had a lovely feeling - very cosy and welcoming, and there's nothing like fresh croissants in the morning, which are delivered on request. Eva and Piet are great hosts - their meals are excellent if you don't want to cook - and they know the area intimately. Le Grand Bornand is a special town. It's quiet, but none the worse for that. Our little one couldn't get enough of the cows and their bells! She was teething most of the week, but we still left feeling refreshed, which tells its own story. Can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Places of this quality are rare in the Alps”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We rented 3 apartments.. They are high quality,comfortable and homely,made all the better by Eva and Pete our hosts, who did all they could to make our stay memorable. The gym and swimming pool were a big hit with the children and for those adults who didn't ski (how else do you work off the Tartiflettes and Fondus?). The location for us was perfect. The chalet is in a lovely valley and only 100 mtrs from a free bus service into town, although we drove into Grand Bornand most days. And if you are a gastronome it is only a short stroll to La Ferme du Lormay, where Albert will cook you some good honest dishes in his quaint and atmospheric farmhouse..now a restaurant with modest prices.

The welcome was great. The attention to detail was fantastic. Eva cooked superb meals, all in all the experience exceeded our expectations. Well done Eva and Pete and your 4 children who cleared the sow from the drive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity induced by Claet Le 4
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tish2015
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Chalet”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Chalet le 4 apartment 2

Amazing very relaxing , clean with great linen so comfortable - loved our stay. Our apartment had a wood burner, nespresso machine and all mod con.

The Chalet even has a pool and gym.

The Chalet owners Eva and Piet are great host.
Highly recommend Chalet le 4

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin j
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended for young and old alike”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Chalet le 4 is a modern building in typical 'French Alpine style' located in a picturesque setting in the French Alps, ideal for keen skiers and cyclists as well as for families with children of all ages. My wife and I stayed in one of the 4 apartments and my daughter, her husband and two small children were in another. The in-room facilities were outstanding, with clean lines and modern equipment in the kitchen and bathrooms. The building also possessed a swimming pool, sauna and fitness gym as well as a laundry room, all immaculate. There is also a well-stocked children's playroom and reading/TV area located on the top floor. The owners live on site so were always available when needed but discreetly so. They even supply fresh bread from the local bakers each morning!
I strongly recommend this holiday home as it caters for people of all ages.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain C
St. Lucia
2 reviews
“If I could buy it, I would”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Apartment 2 of Chalet Le 4 which was a perfect 2 bed chalet apartment within a traditional French chalet. However, inside everything was new and modernised to the highest standards. High ceilings, big open plan rooms, an en suite to the main bedroom, wi-fi, microwaves, a toaster, a kettle, travel cot, baby bath (we were with our 14 month old son) and built in baby monitoring to allow to use the communal rooms in the rest of the chalet. Other facilities included a play room with toys and books, a garden with a slide and swing (Matthew was too young for the trampoline), a pool (we swam everyday), there was also a gym and sauna but time did not allow us to use them although we did have a massage in the massage suite. An amazing apartment in an amazing chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia P
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful chalet - apartment and facilities, stunning location and great hosts”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Chalet Le 4 has stylish and well equipped apartments with everything we needed. (The daily bread delivery is a nice touch). The gym and pool provide all the facilities you need with a lovely decking area and private balconies to relax in the sun. A peaceful location, the views up the valley from the apartment are stunning but near enough to Le Grand Bornand for practical things like going out for a meal, drink or picking up food. Best of all, Eva and Piet are great hosts with time to chat and provide helpful advice on what to do and can tell you about trail runs, cycles and walks in the area. They successfully manage to give you lots of personal space and be available when you need them to be. If you are into the outdoors and love to be active this is a fantastic venue (but is equally good for those who just want to relax in a beautiful location). We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing