We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Med at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Club Med at its best”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My family along with our friends booked the Club Med Peisey Vallandry after carefully scrutenizing all options for a full board vacation available in the area and were not disappointed. True to its reviews, our stay at Club Med Peisey Vallandry was perfect from our Check in at the Reosrt till the time we hopped on to our pick up van on our departure date.
The Resort has something for all. We had our 5 year old son booked in for private Ski Lessons at the ESF, other than the times he was busy at the Mini Club Med with the other kids. He was very well taken care of by the attentive staff.
Spa treatments at the Nuxe Spa were very professional and relaxing after a long days ski and are highly recommended.
Plenty of activities through the course of the day all through the night ranging from our Kids show at the theatre, and ofcourse a daily 9pm entertainment package put together by the multi tanlented Club Med Staff.
Dining options though limited at the resort were more than accpetable as the daily lunch and dinner buffet in the dining halls had themes for each of 7 days we were there.
We booked the club room which had more than enough space for the three of us. Our son had his own little space and his comfortable sofabed as the room had the option of a sliding partition for privacy for both. Housekeeping was prompt and the rooms although simple were functional and well maintained.

Just a 2 min walk from the hotel are some sport shops including InterSport from where Ski Rentals can be arranged for the trip, or in the event Ski Gear needs to be purchased. A lovely Crepe shop and some food take away options for snacks at another shop are all close by.

A special mention about Mohammal Ali at the Bar, Tom at the Mini Club Med, our fantastic Ski instructor from ESF, Jean Pierre, and ofcourse, the Chief of the Village, Eric.
Overall, it was the Club Med staff made our holiday a memorable one, and we would certainly reconsider ClubMed Peisey Vallandry for a future visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    416
    118
    52
    9
See reviews for
1,022
214
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good hotel! My kids loved the Mini club and the ski classes.

Food was very good, although in the end we where a little bit tired of it! The Raclette was delicious!

Rooms are good and spacious, but the bathroom is not the best! It would be better to have a shower curtain in the bathtube, because the glass was too small and the bathroom would be all wet after a shower.

The bed was comfortable, but pillows were not good.

The group ski classes were great and after a week we were skiing very confidently!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polianasdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is the second club med we have been to, and our first Club Med snow resort. We absolutely love the vacation despite some problems here and there.

We flew to Paris and took a high speed TGV duplex train to Landry. Do note that it's better to alight at Landry and take a taxi, as it is closer to the resort than Bourg St Maurice station. The transfer took all of 15 mins. We found this information on one of the ski forums and during our stay, we found that many others actually took the train to Bourg St Maurice and took a much longer time to reach the resort. We didn't take the club med transfer as I feel that it wasn't good value. We booked a taxi (viva taxi) in advance (no prepayment required) which took all 9 of us up to Club Med for 75 euros. We also didn't get our skis and boots from Club Med as I have researched and found a better deal at Noz sports, which is just a 3 min walk from Club Med. :p The kids still got theirs from Club Med though, but on hindsight, I wondered if that was a good choice as measurements of their feet size wasn't taken due to the sheer number of people who were getting their skis and boots on the same day, at about the same time. At Noz sports, feet measurements were taken and things seemed just a little more professional. My younger son complained that his feet hurt throughout the stay and dreaded skiing and missed many lessons while we were out skiing. I didn't know for sure if Club Med got his shoe size correct...then again, it was his first ski holiday and he could be just not familiar with the feeling of wearing ski boots. Next time round, if we go for a Club Med ski resort, we may just get our boots fitted properly at a ski shop.

Checking in day on Sunday was quite chaotic and we did have to wait quite a long while before our rooms were ready, though of course the staff handled our luggage and we were free to just lounge around and chill and check out the whole resort, which we did. The snow was fantastic, considering that it was the first week of the season. It snowed for many days, and when it didn't snow, the mountain was just glorious and fantastic for skiing. There are so many nice runs around, and it is truly beautiful. My older son (6 y.o.) enjoyed the resort very much, from the skiing, to the nightly performance, to the swimming...there's so much for him to do. It's a pity my younger son (4 yo) didn't like the skiing much, although he did still have a good time when we stopped his classes at the snow garden and just took him up on the chairlift and skied down the mountains with my hubby helping him down. He loves whizzing down!

We got a little tired of the food after a while, and there are things that aren't perfect, like there is no washing machines for a 1 week stay, in a resort largely catering to families (although there's laundry service, e.g. washing a shirt for 9 euros thereabouts), no bathrobes and slippers (my sister has sensitive feet and really needed slippers but there are not even provided upon request). But overall, it is still a very nice resort, with nice, huge rooms. The snow and skiing are just fantastic and that kinda make up for the shortfall. We will definitely go for a club med ski resort again (try another club med resort). :) And hopefully our younger son will be more receptive to skiing then.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Su Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We have stayed at quite a few club med resorts before but all were beach resorts and this was our first time seeing snow never mind skiing. Overall we had a FANTASTIC holiday. We stayed the week before christmas, which was the first week that the resort was open for the ski season. Apparently we were really lucky because we had tons and tons of snow, which made everything look so amazingly pretty - out of this world really. All the snow made it easy to learn to ski too, as the snow didn't compact and become slippery and icy.

We had Valley view rooms on the 6th floor which were really nice, stunning views, icicles hanging from our balcony roof, our beds and pillows were so comfortable, bathroom was spaceous and nicely decorated and separate loo which is always nice. The rooms seem to be sound proof but not in the passages, we had quite a few little children on our floor who would run up and down the passages and the people on the 5th floor would complain.

Our ski instructor - Sophie and Kathy, were fantastic. Their English was brilliant and they managed to interact with my teenagers and well as the older generation. Sophie was fantastic, so patient, encouraging and full of pride when we finally "got" what she was teaching us. I am sure she is the best instructor the area has to offer. The ski's and snow boots looked brand new and we were very grateful for the ski in and ski out as we were exhausted after every session (never missed one!).

The food was nothing to rave over - especially compared to the other Club Med resorts, but we did always find something to eat. The French like raw meat (including hamburgers) and from the middle of the week we would just ask them to cook our food for at least 5 mins longer. The desserts were great and the ice cream is delicious. We tried the Fondue restaurant out and that was very nice. (Cutlery was often not cleaned properly too)

Our room was ready when we arrived but there were quite a few people left to wait for a few hours for their rooms, which didn't make sense as it was there had been no previous visitors as it was the opening day of the season - surely the rooms should have been ready the day before. The teens made their own group as the GO's didn't make much of an effort to get a vibe going and mixed them with the young kids, which definitely didn't go down well. They had about 10 in their gang and had tons of fun.

The reception staff were also not very good. We wanted to do some excursions, dog sledging etc but they didn't seem to know who to contact etc, the same happened when our return flights were changed - the staff didn't seem trained. I am sure that as the season progresses, the staff will get better, but I would expect the staff to be trained in the week or so before they open to the public.

We had a fantastic holiday, make no mistake but honestly that was due to the amt of snow, the amazing views, the great skiing instructors which are not part of Club Med and the people we interacted with.

Room Tip: Try stay on the 6th floor with a valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our 3rd ski holiday with Club Med. Having tried Mark Warner and Ski Esprit in previous years and been disappointed on several levels each time, it is a real pleasure to visit Club Med villages in the knowledge that the welcome will always be warm and professional, the accommodation will be comfortable and well designed, the food will be fabulous and delicious, the entertainment will be low key - there for those that want it but unobtrusive so as not to impose on those that don't. The hotel will be ski-in, ski-out and well appointed for the slopes. The ski service will be great and well organised ... and in-house. Peisey Vallandry is all this and a little bit more. The food, in particular, is so wonderful in this village - fresh seafood every night, an amazing range and variety of freshly cooked dishes. Superb! Ski lessons - delivered by ESF - were great. We had Bruno who literally transformed my skiing. My red runs are now blues, my blacks reds and my off-piste my blacks. Such a nice guy too. Well done to Eric and his team and thanks for a terrific week. PS the entertainments team put on some great shows.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms, right hand side (eg 335) overlook the valley and benefit from the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyMcClairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was one of the best Club Med resorts we have been too. Ski in, ski out. Great rooms with masses of storage. Bath and shower. Great Hammam and spa. Really good food. Excellent ski are for all levels. Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-AnnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was our first experience with Club Med. We stayed for a week, the week before Christmas. Apparently the resort was not that full (it was before the french school holidays). We had 2 interconnecting club family valley view rooms. Absolutely wonderful view and very spacious.

I suppose 2 adults and 2 young children can share a room (the sitting area can be closed of and used as a room), but I preferred the 2 interconnecting rooms.

The staff is excellent, and my children loved Mini Club, they literally preferred to stay there than spend time with us.

The ski instructors are excellent and because the ski lessons are spread over a week (both mornings and afternoons), they make an effort to also make it a bit of a guided tour of the mountain ski areas rather than just teaching you the technicalities.

There are 2 restaurants in the resort, we just ate in the big buffet style one. They make an effort to ensure variation, but it tends to get a bit boring. This is for the adults, for young children this is great, they figure out by the beginning of the week what they like and then they are sorted for the week (2 edged sword).

The children entertainment and ski lessons are very good, my kids loved it and could both go up the mountain by the end of the week. The mini club staff are excellent.

The swimming pool area is very nice, but could get a bit crowded at times.

The predominant language is french, and we sometimes struggled a bit, but this is not a major issue, they try and assist.

Room Tip: The Valley View rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeblack_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peisey-Vallandry
3.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maeva Residence Charmettoger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chalet la Tarine
Chalet la Tarine
#1 of 2 in Nancroix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence l'Arollaie
3.5 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Peisey-Vallandry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Peisey-Vallandry

Property: Club Med Peisey-Vallandry
Address: Plan Peisey, 73210, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peisey-Vallandry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Peisey-Vallandry 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at a height of 1600 metres, the Peisey-Vallandry resort embodies the convivial heart and soul of the mountains of Savoy. Close to dramatic streams and lakes and bordering a forest of larch and spruce, the two chalets of the Club Med Village, combine traditional materials with the refinement of contemporary design. The Club Med Village's location at the entrance to the Vanoise national park makes Peisey-Vallandry the ideal base for a weekly expedition to try out whitewater sports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry Hotel Peisey-Vallandry
Peisey Vallandry Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing