We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay despite losing the pre-Christmas snow...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Peisey, Peisey-Vallandry, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay despite losing the pre-Christmas snow lottery”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Having endured the long summer's wait for a ski trip, we couldn't help ourselves but gamble on the first week of the season. Unfortunately the usually snow sure resort of Les Arcs and La Plagne let us down, I'm pleased to say however everything else compensated magnificently.

White Stripe Mountain Lodge is cosy and modern and with the attentions of three wonderful hosts in Russ, Lucy and Charlotte we had a great week. The menu was hearty, varied and fresh in its preparation. At breakfast in addition to the usual continental breakfast there were freshly baked croissants and bread, whilst eggs and porridge were cooked as required. Three course evening meals were eagerly anticipated and Charlotte's years of hotel cooking experience were obvious in everything we ate. A big plus was the willingness and ability to cater for individual requirements. My particular favourite dinners were chicken, cooked to perfection in a tarragon and white wine sauce and tartiflette served with salad and a platter of ham and salami. Wine was free flowing throughout dinner and as a pleasant surprise came from well selected bottles rather than a supermarket wine box.

Though the chalet is in Nancroix, a quiet village of Les Arcs, Russ was on hand to drive us to the slopes in the morning and pick us up when we rang in the afternoon. Though the snow was limited, we were equipped each day with the best information of how to make the most of our day and could not fault the level of customer service.

I hope very much to return with a larger group of friends in the near future and would recommend a stay at White Stripe Mountain Lodge whole heartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The incredible food
Liked least: The poor snow conditions
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam T
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic and friendly chalet - plus properly good food”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Came for the first week of the season and had a brilliant stay. Russ and Lucy were super hosts and Charlotte's food was beautiful and hearty - a cut above the normal chalet catering - confit of duck, tartiflette are springing to my mind!
Chalet is comfortable and warm and 5mins drive to the Peisey lifts..
Can't fault it!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M
Bradford on Avon United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous chalet, with great hosts and a fab cook :-)”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just returned from spending a fabulous Xmas at white stripe with friends. Our group of 9 included 4 children and we all had an amazing time and were catered for perfectly. Russ and Lucy, the chalet owners were lovely hosts and couldn't do enough to make our stay a good one. They collected us from Bourg station so there was no stress getting to the chalet and Russ dropped us at the ski lifts every morning and picked us up within minutes of calling him when we were ready to go back to the chalet. On their day off they gave us clear instructions on bus timetables etc so we found it really easy, especially as the bus stop is right outside the chalet.
We enjoyed amazing 3 course meals every night prepared by Charlotte, who is the very experienced cook who my kids loved to bits :-). They went out of their way to cook food we would like and that the children would eat and they even made sure our Xmas lunch was just as we wanted with pigs in blankets and Christmas crackers! They prepared the children's meals for 6.30 so we could get the younger ones to bed before we ate which was perfect for us. We had endless wine throughout the evening which wasn't wasted on any of us :-)
The chalet itself is located in a quiet area so no good if you want to walk to any kind of nightlife but as we had great food and the wine was flowing we didn't feel the need to go out anyway. The chalet was lovely and warm all the time and sometimes a bit hot but that was our fault as we just had to make use of the lovely log burner.
Although we had a lack of snow, until the day we left when the biggest snowstorm hit the Alps, we still enjoyed a great holiday which was largely to do with our great hosts and their willingness to make us as happy as possible. Thanks to Russ and his snow tyres we made it back to Bourg through the blizzard and got our train home :-)
Would highly recommend a stay at Whitestripe and we would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food was amazing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrisC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday great hosts”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just back from a week's skiing in Les Arcs. Stayed in this chalet - very clean and bright. Excellent hosts, Jodie and Renato, went above and beyond the usual. Jodie is an enthusiastic and talented chef and they make a great team with Renato ever helpful in taking us to drop off and pick up points in the valley.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
“Wonderful boutique chalet with great hosts”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

White Stripe Mountain Lodge is a small but well appointed chalet, perfect for groups of up to 8. The accommodation is pleasantly furnished and offers a comfortable place to rest after skiing. There's not a lot of room for luggage, so pack efficiently! The ski storage is outside, but there's an indoor boot warmer and space downstairs for coats and helmets. The location is great - five minutes drive from Peisey lifts, and in a quiet idyllic village next to a superb restaurant.

Where it really scores is on hospitality. Jodi and Renato did a superb job of making us feel at home - they were flexible in picking us up from Bourg St Maurice, delivered and collected us from the slopes every day at a time to suit us, put cake on the table every afternoon, and served a fantastic three course meal every evening. They even catered for our one vegetarian and one fish-hater. The wine was good and flowed freely, and they did everything with a smile. Breakfast was ready when we woke up in the mornings, and there was always more than we needed.

We had a fantastic time, and would happily go back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: The beds were a bit small and soft. Small complaint though.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A friendly, cosy, welcoming and beautiful chalet”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

From the moment we arrived we could not have experienced a more welcoming arrival. The chalet is nestled within a pretty traditional village with splendid views, is cosy and warm (bathrooms cleaned daily) with everything you could need for a relaxing informal stay. Renato happily drove us to and from the ski- lift, with enough room for the whole group and equipment, at our convenience, a really personal service which took any stress out of getting to the ski lift. The food was simply exceptional, just the most plentiful and tasteful home-cooked fare, and with me being gluten free, I was not left wanting. Extremely tasty home-made cakes or tarts each day by Jodie, just scrumptious! So, with a dietary necessity and an 8 year old who was catered for appropriately, with just the sort of food an 8 year old likes on holiday, at a time that suited her too, was no trouble at all. And if you are worried about being away from the après ski, no need, the wine at the table was plentiful and very tasty - courtesy of friends with a vineyard! So, if you are looking for friendly, courteous, nothing's too much trouble type of service in a warm, cosy and beautiful location you can't go wrong with White Stripes.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and friendliness
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top ski chalet - great for a group of friends”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at White Stripe Mountain Lodge over New Year as a group of 9 (along with the last two reviewers) and can echo that we also had a fab time. The chalet, food and hospitality were great as was the restaurant next door where we went on the hosts night off (serving much better food than the standard raclette and fondue you normally get in Alpine restaurants). The only very minor downside is that it's a bit of faff getting to the slopes on the one day the hosts have a day off and you don't get chauffeured striaght to the lifts (it means getting a bus and a retro lift thing) but this is not to detract from the overall expereince which is brilliant. If you're reading this and thinking of booking you definitely should!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The chalet itself and the food
Liked least: Bit of a faff getting to the slopes on the hosts day off but not enough to deter me from booking again
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
Thanks a lot - we're so pleased your holiday was a good one with us. We're sorry you had a bit of a hassle with the public transport on our day off. It's usually a very easy bus and ski lift ride, but things may have been delayed a bit as you were here during a particularly busy week when the resort was really full. Hopefully our daily private shuttle to and from the lifts on all the other days made up for it. We really enjoyed having all of you to stay - and loved your dinner-time chat. Always a lively debate! Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing