We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet La Foret
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Vallandry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry(Peisey-Vallandry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel la Vanoise(Plan Peisey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (73)
    Filter reviews
    73 results
    Traveller rating
    46
    22
    2
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    46
    22
    2
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsboot warmersski olympicplenty of hot watercakesski hireafternoon teagood sizehis teamchair liftin housethe hotel managerfantastic weekeasy accessfree wifiski triponly gripethe staff were great
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    54 - 59 of 73 reviews
    Reviewed 23 April 2014

    This is a fairly typical French Chalet Hotel that sits directly on the ski lift connection between the lower Vallandry sky runs and the main ski lift. The rooms are clean but basic, an extra pillow would be nice! Good communal areas and an excellent veranda with panoramic views. Bar Food is excellent although end of season choice of drinks becomes limiting.

    The restaurant offers excellent food with a vegetarian option, and a non-fish option when fish is on the menu.

    What really makes this hotel is the quality of the Chalet hosts and management. No request was too much trouble and all the staff were helpful and engaging at all time leading to an excellent holiday experience.

    Room Tip: Upper rooms are split over two levels with a mezzanine, this may not be appropriate for smaller children.
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Steve W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 March 2014

    This was the first ski in ski out chalet I have stayed in and it was great to get straight onto the slopes. The chalet itself was well run, the food was really good, wine ok (but it is Included with dinner). Rooms were a good size compared to other chalets I have stayed in and also have tea and coffee in the room. Our bedroom had wonderful views over the mountains. Good boot room with heated bootwarmers. All transfers and service from Ski Olympic was efficient, friendly and well organised

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    1  Thank Jaxie7
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 February 2014

    Gary runs a great chalet hotel, excellent atmosphere, good food and wine (although better wine would be nice!). We - that is 10 old blokes - have been there three times now over the last six or seven years and it has always been run well. Nothing is too much trouble - he will sort it! If you take a day of skiing its not a bad place to it around, lovely views across the valley and free WiFi.

    Genuine ski in ski out with heated boots facility now and ski hire. Some nice red and blue tree lined runs nearby for a bad light day. Would revisit.

    Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a lovely view.
    Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    1  Thank skibiker46
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 January 2014

    We have recently returned from a family ski trip, the chalet is average at best but the staff are great and do their best to make it enjoyable. Wasn't impressed by Ski Olympic, we booked at the show and the majority of information we received was incorrect. There is ski hire in the Chalet but not for young children, so we and other families had to hire ski equipment in the village. There is no transport available from the Chalet so there were several unhappy parents after we all had to walk 20 mins uphill carrying several sets of skis and children. You are sold lift passes when you book or advised to purchase them on the coach even though ESF include lift passes as part of the fee for lessons so several families paid twice. We were offered a discount at the show and we have only received part of it because of the small print (that we didn't receive) and even then we had to get the Chalet staff to sort it out for us.

    Vallandry is good family resort, the staff are 5 star for effort, the Chalet is 3 star and Ski Olympic is 1 star

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank MMAC111
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 January 2014

    This was the best family ski holiday we've ever had. A proper ski in/ski out chalet hotel, and just 5 minutes down the blue (La Foret) run to the meeting point for ski school. The chalet was always warm so easy to dry out wet ski clothes. The bedrooms were really spacious with generous wardrobe and shelf space. The bathrooms were large, with a bath and loads of hot water. I hadn't realised there were no hairdryers, but was lent one of the three in the chalet! The evening meals were good to excellent and the house wine was very drinkable! The chefs were very accommodating and if you told them by breakfast that morning they would cook an alternative meal. Be warned -the acoustics in the restaurant aren't brilliant, it got very noisy, but the chalet was full. The hotel bar had Sky Sports, BT Sports and seemed to show every game of English football played that week! The whole experience was made by the brilliant manager Gary who seemed to work 20 hour days. He was knowledgable, charming, obliging and even sang one round of the chalet quiz. Can't wait to return.

    Room Tip: Rooms on the front have balconies with views over the valley, but the back rooms are still very pleasant!
    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 0161FiFi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews