We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and great walking”
Review of Maison Caramel

Maison Caramel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Caramel
Ranked #1 of 1 Landry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and great walking”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked the single centre self guided walking holiday, as we specifically wanted a holiday where we could walk from a base without using a car. Sam and Alvaro gave us a comprehensive folder with maps and walking directions for each day. The walking was as demanding and the scenery was breathtaking as we had hoped and after a long day's walk it was lovely to return to a lighted stove, delicious meals and delightful hosts. The room was charmingly furnished and very comfortable, it's easy to travel to Landry by train from the UK if you don't want to fly or drive, and we will certainly recommend Maison Caramel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen24Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    8
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We went in May, with another couple, for a walking and cycling holiday. Sam and Alvaro worked out a great and reasonably challenging 4 day (5 night) hike, which included 2 other Auberges. We stayed at both Maison Caramel and their other smaller B&B Ferme Blanche. After the hike we had 3 days of cycling up some of the climbs surrounding Bourg St Maurice. Although the weather was unseasonally cold and we had significant snow on the cycling climbs, we had an excellent time. Sam and Alvaro were great hosts and looked after us superbly - picking us up, dropping us off, arranging bike hire, providing excellent track notes and feeding us excellent meals. All in all this was a great experience. Remember this is a B&B, not a five star hotel, so expect cosy Alpine accommodation, not a Hyatt or Sofitel. Don't underestimate the challenge of the hikes or rides and you will have a fantastic time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikemanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are very pleased you all enjoyed your walking holiday and it was a pleasure looking after your group. The weather is now improving thank goodness and most of the cols are open again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was the third time we had visited Maison Caramel and by this time we knew the owners pretty well and they even took us out with the chalet staff for a slap up meal. They are genuinely nice people and good at what they do. The chalet is attractive, stylish and comfortable. The staff have always been incredibly friendly and helpful - they really make the holiday!! The food and wine is good and the skiing is absolutely amazing. You could never get bored. You can ski in both Les Arcs and La Plagne (both high + guaranteed snow) and you can store your skis and boots by the lifts at Monchavin or at the chalet. The chalet staff take and collect you every day. It's very civilised!! No lugging skis around. Moreover, it's also cheap and easy to get to. With Eurostar we go direct (no change of trains) and arrive only 5 mins from the chalet. The chalet staff collect us and they provide the transfers for free. It's the perfect skiing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have just returned from a week at Maison Caramel based only a 10 min drive from Montchavin which was a perfect base to explore the whole ski area. Matt, Becky, Saskia and Tilly were perfect hosts and made everyone in our party feel welcome and looked after (4 adults and 4 children aged 9,9,7 & 4.5yrs) going out of there way to make sure we had the best ski holiday to date. From ferrying us to Montchavin & back every day, excellent advice on where to ski & eat on the slopes, helping sort out ski lessons and nursery care, assisting us through ski hire, supervising and feeding great food for our children earlier at 6 so we could get them to bed before our dinner at 8. Even when our hosts were out skiing during their valuable own time, they would always go out of their way to stop and say hello and had no hesitation in being available to take you back to the chalet if you required an earlier return. Perfect evening meals, excellent food and our hosts created the perfect relaxed & friendly atmosphere and are genuinely interested in their guests. Saskia and Tilly even created a fun game with prizes after the children's last meal, the children are now begging to return again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henniker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Maison Caramel with our group of 21 and decided to book the whole house and opted for B&B. As our traveling date was getting nearer our trip organizer had some very confusing information exchange with Sam, the owner of the property. As we had opted for B&B we found out quite last moment, that we were not allowed to use the kitchen for our other meals. This was quite a surprise for us as we had intended to cook our evening meals ourselves as it is quite expensive and not always possible to dine out with such a large group. Secondly, Landry is a very quiet small village with no restaurant facilities.
Sam told us that if we wanted to use the kitchen we had to go for the "self catering" option, at the same price as the B&B. On top of that we would not have the benefit of the shuttle service to Montchavin, but we had to agree to let staff stay at the studio anyhow. ?????? (Her best suggestion was to cancel the booking all together)
We finally made it to an agreement that we would take the "self catering" option with limited shuttle service.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Alvaro, who quickly showed us around. We were a little bit concerned that the villa consisted of two seperate parts with own entrances. The living rooms did not really accommodate for such large groups, but it did work out in the end. The teenagers in our group stayed in the upstairs part and the parents downstairs. Navigating the walk up to the top part at night was a little bit tricky at times, because it is not very well lit and can be very slippery. Rooms upstairs are better appointed than the ones downstairs. It is nice if you like your neighbors as in some of the rooms you can hear your neighbors quite well.
We had a problem with hot water when all 21 of us wanted to shower after coming back from a day of skiing. The system could not handle so many hot showers in a short time. But after limiting shower time, we all managed to get a more or less hot shower.

We managed to squeeze in all 21 of us in the downstairs kitchen for mealtimes, but that is definitely the max. Shame the dishwasher did not work; luckily they exchanged it with the upstairs one after a few days. We managed to cook big meals for our group in one kitchen but we had to use utensils/pots/pans from both kitchens in order to serve our large party in one sitting.

There is not much to see our do in Landry, but it is very well located for the ski resorts in the area. For the teenagers in our party it was a disappointment that there were no apres ski facilities in the village.

The staff that stayed in the studio while we were there were extremely helpful and friendly although they were clearly instructed only to offer us limited shuttle service. The whole arrangement was a little bit odd for them as well.

Although we paid for the cleaning service, Sam gave us an enormous list of instructions how to leave the villa upon our departure. Specific fines for every item we did not execute to perfection were included. As we understood this list was drawn up after bad experiences in the past, it was not the most friendly approach to customer who already pay a hefty sum for rent and cleaning.
The staff were quite surprised when they saw us cleaning, mopping etc etc on the morning of our departure.

So all in all we had a great skiing holiday with good snow, sun and lots of fun. Only advise is to future visitors is to really have a clear understanding of booking conditions before making the deposit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
We're pleased you found the chalet an excellent location for skiing and that you received a good service from the chalet hosts, but I'm afraid you are incorrect about the lack of restaurants in Landry. There are two, the Bon Accueil and the Col du Palet, both just 5 minutes walk from the house. It's clear from your other comments that your group did not understand what it is meant by the term B&B, and did not read our website, email correspondence or terms & conditions properly before booking.

Our sites make it quite clear that we are a bed & breakfast (B&B / chambres d'hotes), that the shuttle service is for half board/catered guests only, that the house is split into two parts and that we can set up the top floor living room as a larger dining room if required (although as you note, the main dining room downstairs can seat 21+ guests).

By its very nature, bed & breakfast means exactly that, you get accommodation with breakfast. It does not give you the right to use the kitchen for your own use. You don't stay at a hotel and expect to use their restaurant kitchen to prepare your own food. It's exactly the same principle with a B&B (and indeed, it's often the owner's own private kitchen!). I appreciate you are not native English speakers, but even so, it's customary when you don't understand a foreign word or phrase to look it up - particularly when it's the crucial element of a such an expensive purchase as a holiday.

Once we realised that you had misunderstood the type of holiday you had booked, we did our best to help within the constraints of our chalet's winter set up and staff requirements (they had to stay in the studio as you wanted the house self-catered, otherwise they would have been homeless!). We even went so far as to give you the chance to cancel, even though it was late in the day and one of the most expensive weeks in the season. All of these things were stated in our correspondence with your group leader, and/or our booking terms & conditions, it's just a shame you didn't read them properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

we had an all too short three nights here, staying in the delightful River room, with windows in two directions with views of the mountains. Landry is a quiet French village, very quaint, but there is a free bus service up to Peisey Vallandry (tho infrequent), and easier access to Montchavin. The house itself is delightful, full of atmosphere and warmth, we were lucky to have a great mix of people to chat to and eat dinner with, all very ably prepared and served by Tilly and Saskia, the two chalet hosts, they were just great. nothing was too much trouble and they were genuinely interested in their guests, which was really refreshing. it was all such a great relaxing and enjoyable experience, can't recommend it enough if you fancy staying away from the resorts but within minutes of the action!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandall2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Maison Caramel and that the chalet hosts looked after you well. Tilly, Saski, Matt & Becky have all been doing a great job this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

On arrival at maison caramel, we were warmly welcomed by Alvaro, Sam, Tilly and Saskia who immediately took the very hungry children off for an early supper leaving the adults to unpack and enjoy some pre dinner drinks. The chalet itself has a quirky layout and a very homely feel with simple but stylish furnishings. Alvaro and Sam clearly enjoy what they do, are very knowledgeable about the local area, enthusiastic and helpful. Saskia and Tilly, our chalet hosts were a pleasure to spend time with, always cheerful and helpful and best of all, served up great breakfasts and dinner for both the adults and children, all freshly made and beautifully presented. The location in Landry was a short 10 minute drive to montchavin and there was always someone available to take our large group of 15 up in the mornings and collect us at the end if the day. I highly recommend maison caramel and will be booking again next year!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landry
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellecote
Hotel Bellecote
#1 of 2 in Montchavin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence l'Arollaie
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#10 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel la Vanoise
Hotel la Vanoise
#1 of 1 in Plan Peisey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chalet la Tarine
Chalet la Tarine
#1 of 2 in Nancroix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Caramel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Caramel

Property: Maison Caramel
Address: Chemin des Glieres, 73210 Landry, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry > Landry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Caramel is a luxury B&B and ski chalet in an alpine village 7km from Bourg Saint Maurice and less than 10 minutes from the ski lifts of Les Arcs and La Plagne (Paradiski). The farmhouse has lots of alpine charm and plenty of space; including a library, sitting room and gardens with mountain views. The 5 en-suite bedrooms have a balcony or terrace access, and the emphasis is on delicious home-cooked food (3 course set menu). Great walking and cycling from the door, shuttle bus to the ski lifts in summer & winter (bus stop 150m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Maison Caramel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing