We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maison Caramel... Sun and ski!!”
Review of Maison Caramel

Maison Caramel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Caramel
Ranked #1 of 1 Landry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maison Caramel... Sun and ski!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My friends and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Chalet Maison Caramel, Landry. The chalet is beautiful - a rustic old building beautifully modernized to a very high standard providing luxury accommodation for all. We (four friends) stayed full board for 7 nights and had a great stay.

The accommodation is very spacious spread over several floors; we had rooms two rooms in the penthouse section which where both great sizes and really well presented. One with a role top bath, shower room, annex with extra spaces for kids (if you need it) and both had large balconies where we enjoyed a cold beer, home made cake and watched the sun set everyday.

The living areas are really spacious, modern and contemporary. They offer really comfortable areas to chill out and enjoy a drink or two (!!) as we did on more than one occassion.

The chalet hosts Sam & Jerry, Jon & Dan where fantastic. Really helpful, flexible with our lifts to the ski runs, transport and all our needs. Nothing was too much effort at all. Really friendly and not at all intrusive - perfect balance of welcoming & professionalism. They offered advice on routes and runs, bars and restaurants and then laughed and shared in our tales from the slopes everyday.

Sam & Dan shared the cooking and both where fantastic, really varied menu every night providing an alternative when a member of the group had a different preference. The food was familiar but often with a french twist which was great and i had way too many beautiful puddings! But hats off to Sam especially whose afternoon cakes and cookies have earnt a very special place in my husbands heart for ever (even taking requests and producing the best lemon drizzle cake we have ever had!)

Whilst i know we where fortunate because the chalet was quiet so perhaps our hosts where able to spoil us a bit more ... I would not hesitate to recommend Chalet Maison Caramel. The food, accommodation and hosts where fantastic. And yes it is a short drive to the slopes but the beautiful location and flexible shuttle service that our hosts offered meant this was not a problem at all. In fact it added to the options of locations to start from each day.

Any complaints ... no i cant think off one. Thanks to all for a fantastic week (now i just need a short break to recover!!)

Room Tip: We had Penthouse - Rose and ... erm the other big one with a open plan bathroom (cant recall the nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Michelle,

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your praise to the hosts. The other room you mention with the mezzanine and bath is Alpage. We hope to see you again one day.

Best regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    8
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton , Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at Maison Caramel from 1st-8th March 2014 as part of the group of 15. Loved the quirky nature of this place - so many different levels & every room different . Sam , Jerry ,Dan & Jon are a great team and work really well together . Nothing was too much trouble & everything was done with a smile .
As one of the four non-skiers I must mention Alvaro's kindness . On two of the days he drove us to places we would not otherwise been able to access. The first time we walked through snowy woods before having lunch in a chalet type cafe . The second time we crossed to "the sunny side " of the Tarentaise Valley . Here we had a high level walk in the warm sunshine before a superb lunch in an auberge . Two seasons in three days !

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in Montagne - a lovely room with 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Climber52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your kind review. Alvaro very much enjoyed his little trips around the area with your group, he always came back with a smile on his face!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fifteen of us stayed at Maison Caramel from 1st -8th March 2014. Alvaro and Gerry met us on time at Geneva airport and from the outset were genuinely friendly and helpful. Maison Caramel has been beautifully renovated in keeping with its period and we all found it very comfortable and very clean. The lounges were large enough to accommodate all of us and beautifully warm with the log fires. The rooms are spacious with some of the mezzanines making tremendous design features. Every room is genuinely en suite - many with bath as well as shower. There were little extras thrown in which were much appreciated (free wine boxes -anytime!!) and cheap beers at the honesty bar. The French wine served with dinner was good. Sam's cooking was excellent and used traditional Savoyarde recipes with great skill. Both Dan and John couldn't have been more helpful when running us about or dealing with minor issues. We all really enjoyed our stay in an easy going atmosphere where the staff went the extra mile at times to make sure everyone was looked after. I would thoroughly recommend Caramel whether you are one large group or staying independently in smaller numbers. (And give the local bar a try - very French!)
Good luck to Alvaro and his team.

Room Tip: The top floor is self sufficient with its own lounge and log fire. The master bedroom ("Alpage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We're very glad you and your group had a good time at Maison Caramel, and I can safely say the team enjoyed it too! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's much appreciated.

Best regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goudhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

For a change we stepped out of our normal ski-in/ski-out preference and stayed in this small village below Peissey/Montchavin.
It was a great decision as we had one of our best skiing holidays in 20 years!
The house is a fantastic traditional French place to stay-very much like a home and more convenient than you would imagine! 9 of us had the main house, the bedrooms were clean and cosy with huge amounts of hot water and the wood burning stove in the main sitting room provided a really snug atmosphere.
The food was brilliant and Sam and Jerry looked after us all incredibly well. We were whisked up to the 1st bubble lift in a few minutes at our convenience and met at our requested time but knew that we could change it with a quick call!
'Alvarro' who owns the chalet was on hand, kind and helpful and we would highly recommend a holiday here.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better balcony views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We're delighted you enjoyed your half term holiday, and that we've convinced you that there are good alternatives to ski in and out chalets ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Four of us stayed at Maison Caramel in late April for a couple of nights, en route from Annecy to Northern Italy. We wanted to experience some alpine scenery and Landry was in a fabulous area for views of the alps and as a starting point for some very scenic drives.

Sam , Alvaro, and Tillie, were most helpful and gracious. We took the penthouse and had three lovely rooms. We can highly recommend Alpage which is a very spacious room with fabulous views, and the other rooms were equally attractive.

One thing..the penthouse is up a very steep and rather rough path...there is no other way to get to it so if you are not fit and reasonably strong (think luggage!!) go for one of the lower floor rooms.

Room Tip: We loved Alpage with its corner situation and views. Great balcony to sit and enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pubhillfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked the single centre self guided walking holiday, as we specifically wanted a holiday where we could walk from a base without using a car. Sam and Alvaro gave us a comprehensive folder with maps and walking directions for each day. The walking was as demanding and the scenery was breathtaking as we had hoped and after a long day's walk it was lovely to return to a lighted stove, delicious meals and delightful hosts. The room was charmingly furnished and very comfortable, it's easy to travel to Landry by train from the UK if you don't want to fly or drive, and we will certainly recommend Maison Caramel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen24Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We went in May, with another couple, for a walking and cycling holiday. Sam and Alvaro worked out a great and reasonably challenging 4 day (5 night) hike, which included 2 other Auberges. We stayed at both Maison Caramel and their other smaller B&B Ferme Blanche. After the hike we had 3 days of cycling up some of the climbs surrounding Bourg St Maurice. Although the weather was unseasonally cold and we had significant snow on the cycling climbs, we had an excellent time. Sam and Alvaro were great hosts and looked after us superbly - picking us up, dropping us off, arranging bike hire, providing excellent track notes and feeding us excellent meals. All in all this was a great experience. Remember this is a B&B, not a five star hotel, so expect cosy Alpine accommodation, not a Hyatt or Sofitel. Don't underestimate the challenge of the hikes or rides and you will have a fantastic time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikemanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonCaramel, Owner at Maison Caramel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are very pleased you all enjoyed your walking holiday and it was a pleasure looking after your group. The weather is now improving thank goodness and most of the cols are open again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maison Caramel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Caramel

Property: Maison Caramel
Address: Chemin des Glieres, 73210 Landry, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry > Landry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Caramel is a charming B&B and ski chalet in an alpine village 7km from Bourg Saint Maurice, opposite the GR5 long distance footpath, and less than 10 minutes drive from the ski lifts of Les Arcs and La Plagne (Paradiski). The house has lots of alpine charm and plenty of space; including a guest sitting room and garden terraces with mountain views. The 5 en-suite bedrooms have a balcony or terrace access, and there are 4 more ensuite rooms in the top floor Penthouse gite. We serve a tasty and varied breakfast, and delicious home-cooked evening meals using organic or local red meat(3 course set menu), and free range chicken and eggs. There's great walking, mountain biking and cycling from the door, and a shuttle bus to the ski lifts in summer & winter (bus stop 150m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Maison Caramel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing