We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food and hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirnbacher Hof

Kirnbacher Hof
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Wolfach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Regional – fresh – qualityThe black forest offers everything for a great kitchen and foodWe get our product from regional bakers, butchers, farmers and hunters. Only the best quality is allowed, without compromise. We are very happy to live in an enviroment, which supplies us with everything we need to create fantastic food.They say the way to man´s heart is through the stomach our kitchen philosophie is simple, the creation of our meals highly inventive.A great meal is a pleasure for body and soul. Our region is rich in natural quality goods. We are pleased to know, that our chefs are masters of their crafts. Only when you know, that every little ingredient helps to make a meal complete, you know what you are doing.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I cannot recommend this restaurant and its head chef highly enough. We have eaten here most days of our stay and the food is superb. It is as good quality as I have eaten at Gleneagles and similar restaurants. We have tried meat, fish and vegetarian dishes and they are all freshly prepared, high quality ingredients and delicious. The service is attentive without being intrusive and the staff are very patient even if you struggle with German. If you do not speak German and you are not with someone who speaks both it and your own language then as with most restaurants in this region you will need a dictionary. A French couple at the next table complained bitterly that the staff did not speak French and they couldn't understand the menu which I thought was unfair. Why come to another country if you are not going to make an effort with the language? And believe me the food here is really worth the effort!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tregunc, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A nice family restaurant in the Black Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Luckily we made a reservation Saturday evening Easter weekend - the restaurant was full. The restaurant has an excellent reputation in the region. It is family owned and luckily for those who do not speak German - the chef's wife is American - and was helpful with our selection.

We ordered a delightful "Syra" red wine from Baden. My wife ordered the salmon, our daughter ordered the Red Snapper, and I had the "lammkotelette". The salmon and lamb were cooked to perfection. Unfortunately the Red Snapper was over-cooked and had to be returned. However the lamb was so well served -we were able to share our main course.

Our deserts were wonderful - particularly the "desert for two" which included a soufflé .

Although the wait between courses took some time. We were told this was due to the time it takes to prepare quality food for a packed house. Understandable.

We enjoyed our evening - and getting to meet the delightful children of the owners. Will we be back during our next visit to the Black Forest? For sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtbjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

good quality fresh local food and drink, wonderful covered terrace allows you to enjoy the visitors of this special Kirnbach Valley location. The welcoming owners speak English and Menus are also available in English.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The food was great, the service eas excellent, the value was very good.
We ate shnizel, beef and pasta.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank itamaroran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good food, with seasonal variation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Excellent food, reasonably priced, with normal and seasonal dishes. Staff is friendly. We had dinner there 2 consecutive evenings and did not regret at all.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank knolpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirnbacher Hof also viewed

Wolfach, Baden-Wurttemberg
Wolfach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Kirnbacher Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing