We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ringhotel Goldener Knopf
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bad Sackingen
Reviewed 3 October 2011

By that, I mean not only the Ringhotel Goldener Knopf, but the picturesque town of Bad Sackingen, too! Whilst meandering about the upper Rhine with NO reservations, looking for a place to rest our travel weary heads, we accidentally stumbled onto this happy place. The hotel staff was exceptional in their helpfulness and the room overlooking the calm Rhine was comfortable and attractive. The only negative comment would be that the internet service existed, but was exceedingly slow. We were impressed with the variety of offerings at breakfast, and really enjoyed the location, on the river, overlooking the wooden covered bridge (lit at night) and next to the fine, fine church. We heartily recommend this hotel, especially for the staff - they were always prepared to be as helpful as possible, and with happy smiles.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side are larger, and the views are tranquil. There are small balconies to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

it's a lovely hotel with a lovely quiet view on the Rhine. the meals, especially dinner,are exccellent. when you make a reservation, just pay attention to 2 different sorts of rooms,
and take the more expensive with the balcony on the Rhine,,, it's larger, and so is the bathroom, and that balcony is irreplaceable, though you have a nice terrace for every body to hang on, and the first floor restaurant has it's garden sittings also...service is good, only
i wish they had some more on place info about public transportation, as they give you a free ticket for the days you stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Pros: Wonderful location on Rhine, Cozy hotel, Nice food, Helpful staff.
Cons: Room v.v.v. small, Cleanness and Air condition are average, small bed.
But I can recommend since Bad Sackingen is a small town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HossamBashir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

What a shame, picturesque little hotel on the bank of the rhine. Should have been lovely but was unfortuntely over priced and delusional
Service was slow, food hugely overpriced (but tasty)
We left the restaurant as hungry as we went in but €60 a head worse off
The beds are so uncomfy that I woke through out the night with pins and needles in which ever side of my body I had been laying on
A shame....

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyLife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I first stayed here for a few nights in Spring 2006 and greatly enjoyed my small single overlooking the Rhine and the wooden bridge. Now, four years later, it continues to be a great place with a small but nice room (same one by my request), wonderful food, and a helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThinkNarrowGauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Slightly tired 4* hotel but in a nice location and our room had balcony and overlooked the river and the wooden bridge.

Nightmare to find by car as its in a pedestrian zone, I parked up and walked through town where I got directions and a permit for the car - presumably now I know, I'd just drive straight through pedestrian zone and get permit once I was at hotel. Parking was outside hotel.

Nice sized room but safe was broken and the shower-room dated. I'd class it as decent 3*, not 4*

Plenty of options for meals and breakfast was very good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK-Neddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Over New Years I had an amazing stay with Hotel Goldener Knopf! James who worked at the Front desk was incredibly helpful through out our stay from train schedules to helping find nearby attractions. The Restaurant was also a wonderful experience from the delicious food to the exceptional service. A superb way to start off the New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tallygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Sackingen
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rheinsberg
Hotel Rheinsberg
#1 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St. Fridolin
Hotel St. Fridolin
#2 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
49 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zum Hirsch
Hotel Restaurant zum Hirsch
#4 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schweizerblick
Hotel Schweizerblick
#6 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
37 reviews
6.7 mi away
Schloss Beuggen
Schloss Beuggen
#2 of 4 in Rheinfelden
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel zur Fluh
Hotel zur Fluh
#3 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Goldener Knopf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Goldener Knopf

Address: Rathausplatz 9, 79713 Bad Sackingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Bad Sackingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bad Sackingen
Price Range: £100 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Goldener Knopf 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax and enjoy a unique location, with direct view of Europe's longest roofed wooden bridge. Our hotel is situated in the heart of the old town of Bad Säckingen in the south west where Germany meets Switzerland and France. This historical building was first mentioned in official records in 1456. Joseph Victor von Scheffel, author of the "trumpet player of Säckingen" was a regular visitor who loved to spend his free time there. Over centuries the Ringhotel Goldener Knopf has grown to become one of the most prestigious houses in the region today. Our hotel is special - be it the stunning location or it's high standards of cuisine and guest pampering. Spoil yourself in our restaurant "Le Jardin" or gourmet restaurant "VinoGusta" and choose from our selection of delicious wines (about 100 different wines, mostly from the renowned Markgräfler area and the Kaiserstuhl). Whether for family occasions, wedding receptions, business meetings or conferences, the Ringhotel Goldener Knopf offers the perfect location. We cater for parties between 10 and 80 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ringhotel Goldener Knopf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing