We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of German charm + style”
Review of Weinhaus Zum Krug

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weinhaus Zum Krug
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hattenheim
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best of German charm + style”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This small beautiful hotel/ restaurant place was perfect for us coming by airplane late in evening from Frankfurt main airport. Only 25 minutes from airport you are in the the beautiful parts of winedistrict Germany. This tiny hotel is extremely cosy, with typical German details. The old is combined with the modern. Extremely friendly staff, they look you in the eye and greets you with warmth. We only stayed for one night, but wil heartly reccommend this everybody looking for something with authencity and charm... We went on towards Moseltal next day...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    16
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
27
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of good reviews from Trip Advisor and it is a very old but very modern hotel. They have remodeled the rooms with very modern fixtures, but in a structure that really is very old. I would call it charming. We had a great duck dinner for two in the restaurant and breakfast is good. However, I must color this review with a very negative point. Our room, Bollesje, was on the ground floor in the back street area. At first when we exited our room via the back stone stairway we noticed two overfilled garbage bins just below our window. The smell wasn't terrible but entered the room when we opened the window for some "fresh" air. The next morning the garbage truck woke us when it came to pick up the garbage at 7 pm. The next day after returning to the hotel we were shocked to see a huge pile of garbage bags under our window next to the stairway. Again in the morning the garbage truck woke us. When I spoke with the owner, Josef Laufer, he didn't say much other than "yes there was a lot" and was completely unconcerned. Well, I guess Herr Laufer felt it was a trivial matter. The caveat is, if one chooses to stay at the Weinhaus zum Krug make sure not to accept this bedroom or others on this side of the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawdoglaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We recently spent the first two nights of a trip through the Rhine/Mosel at Weinhaus Zum Krug. For us it was a perfect destination outside of the major tourist towns and less than an hour from Frankfurt. The guests were mostly European but the staff spoke excellent English. The hotel has two sections: one in the old part and one in an adjoining renovated building. We stayed in the newer section which has tastefully modern rooms with a large shower/bathroom. The owners cheerfully accommodated our very early arrival which allowed a couple hours nap to recover from an overnight flight. The restaurant is a cozy room with superb food, both traditional Rheingau and some newer adaptations. The wine list is extensive and excellent. The wait staff graciously translated the menu and offered suggestions. There is a traditional German breakfast with fresh breads, meat platter and home-made jams. Hattenheim is well situated for touring the local vineyards (Schloss Johannesberg and Schloss Vohlrads), a fascinating cloister, churches as well as providing nearby access to Rhine River destinations. Parking is free but very tight which might be a problem in high season. Hattenheim is not a place for those seeking tourist shops or nightlife but for those who want an authentic German town which invites wandering and exploration.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The menu has two sides: One left lists traditional Germany dishes, and the right side lists more innovative fusion dishes. I ordered a traditional appetizer and a fusion seafood dish, and they were both sumptuous. The staff was very friendly and gave me excellent suggestions. Compared to the more expensive Kronenschlösschen (the other high-end restaurant in Hattenheim), this restaurant seems to have a more steady clientele, which apparently ensures a good turnover of supplies and thus freshness. I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcschlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Firstly, I haven't stayed here, just visited from Frankfurt which I try to do whenever I'm in the city. It's an easy train ride or car drive from Frankfurt.
The food is fabulous, even the vegetarian offerings - slightly unusual for Germany I think. The wine is also excellent and they sell it by the case - our main import to the UK when we have the car. The dining room looks and feels old fashioned, traditional if you prefer, but the food is bang up to date with worldwide influences on good German foundations. They've never failed me.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Since our first visit to Josef Laufer's small hotel / restaurant, my wife and I have returned more than 20 times. Laufer and his family offer superb service, an excellent kitchen and fine accomodation. If you like small romatic hotels, Krug is perfect. If you have any interest in German wines, Josef's cellar is the absolute best in Deutschland. Ask him very nicely and he'll show you the thousands of bottles, some a century old, in his collection. Bottom line is that this is a special place and I could not say enough good about it. Top recommendation! Gary and Beryl Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
367 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The Krug in Hattenheim is in a great 18th C. house, near the Rhine but within a historic village and so no river view. It has its own vinyards and a restaurant which I would judge one of the best, and the best as regards price/value, in the Rheingau, which is one of Germany's main gourmet regions. Gault Millau ranked the restaurant's wine menu the most interesting one (I think) in its last review. The decoration is traditional German-Rhenish; this is not to everyone's taste, but many love it. It's owned and run by one family which takes this very seriously, and that is a great touch.

As my usual hotel was booked for one night I had to spend in the area, I asked for a room there, and it turns out they have some 15 rooms or so. Mine was quite large, with a sitting area, a huge double bed, the same "ye olde Germanie" deco as the restaurant, a small TV, wireless internet (weak in my room but free), huge bathroom, and a plate of fruit, house champagne (Sekt), lemonade, and water for free - most uncommon hereabouts. Parking is tricky but provided, and free. Of course, this is an inn, so no spa and the like. The breakfast was much weaker than expected from a gourmet restaurant, but good coffee and nice rolls.

In sum, for €75 this was really a good deal (special corporate rate though). If one does not need the Rhine front and spa facilities, it's a great place. And the restaurant remains spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hattenheim
0.1 mi away
Kronenschlosschen Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
#3 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park-Hotel Tillmanns
Park-Hotel Tillmanns
#4 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ruthmann Hotel
Ruthmann Hotel
#2 of 4 in Oestrich-Winkel
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Koegler Hof-Hotel und Weingut
Koegler Hof-Hotel und Weingut
#5 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenberg Eltville
Parkhotel Sonnenberg Eltville
#8 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weinhaus Zum Krug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weinhaus Zum Krug

Property: Weinhaus Zum Krug
Address: Hauptstr. 34, 65347 Hattenheim, Eltville am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Eltville am Rhein > Hattenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hattenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Weinhaus Zum Krug 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das historische Weinhaus zum Krug ist bereits seit dem zweiten Weltkrieg in Besitz der Familie Laufer. Schon damals hat Josef Laufer I. Gesagt ,,klein und fein, so soll's sein" - und daran haben wir uns bis heute gehalten. Inzwischen fuhrt Josef Laufer III. Das Hotel und die Gastwirtschaft ,,Zum Krug". Manches hat sich verandert, das Gute ist geblieben. Klein und fein ist das Angebot an unseren liebevoll eingerichteten Gastezimmern. Ob unsere traditionellen Zimmer im Weinhaus zum Krug oder die modern gestalteten Themenzimmer im angrenzenden alten Rathaus - bei uns fuhlen sich alle wohl, die eine familiare und ruhige Atmosphare schatzen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Weinhaus Zum Krug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing