We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village Oasis Studios and Apartments
Ranked #56 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad holiday”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

mold on mattresses ..semen stains and urine on bedding.blood on walls.
damaged doors ,tables chairs shower sink.
dirty linen dirty rooms no cleaners for three days.
items stolen from room .
50 euro's to have your bedding washed , no toiletries .
ignorant staff unconcerned reps very badly managed .

wouldn't put a dog in these apartments...

Room Tip: stay at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    40
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
4
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We went as a group of 8 girls to this hotel. We were a bit worried from the reviews we read. BUT OMG, if I could pick this hotel up and take it to any location I wanted to visit I would. Zak and his wife, Andy the bar man, Pedro, Elvis the cook & all staff were incredible! Giving out hugs when hungover haha! Hotel was basic but clean and we were charged 25 euros for a sheet and pillow which shoulda been 40 but if your on their good side they will be good to you! Literally the best hotel I have EVER stayed in. DONT listen to the crap reviews clearly they were booking a 3* and hoping for a 5*! PERFECT for a 18-30 holiday!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel seem to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 with my friends and we had the best week of our lives. The hotel is nothing like described on the reviews, it was basic, but clean and overall we were happy with our rooms. We didn't get fined on anything even though I thought we would of so they aren't even strict! The bar staff, the hotel owners, the security guard and the reps were all so lovely! When we first arrived one of the reps came to our room to give us our welcome meeting, he was dead laid back and didnt pressure us to buy any of the events, we just picked ones that sounded the best and they were worth it! Couldnt even fault the hotel and they tried their best to make it as fun as possible! The food is nice and good for when you're too hungover to go anywhere else and is served all day, the pool area is good too, great music playing all day and the hotel has a great atmosphere. Its only a 10 minute walk to the strip and theres some lovely restaurants in the old town on the way there. Would deffo go back, loved every minute of it!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel and buy air con!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurabM4786CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel between 28th August - 3rd September. BEWARE!! The damage cost of items are ridiculous! For example €700 for a door. €50 for a lost room key. So we tip-toed around for a week, making sure not to break anything. When we were checking out however, and before they would return our passports.. The receptionist had to inspect the rooms. After about 30 seconds of disappearing, she told us we owed €20 for 3 missing glasses and a plate. Funny thing is, we didn't even know we had cutlery or anything as we didn't open the cupboards. We originally took photos of the filth of the rooms so we couldn't get charged for dirty sheets (€30). Whilst arguing our point at reception, 3 welsh girls asked if we were getting charged too, and told us some lads had just been charged for 3 dirty sheets even though there was only 2 of them in the room. Unfortunately we didn't even consider taking photos of the cupboards or their occupants. We arrived early hours in morning, around 6am. Straight away told we could get a discount on aircon. Instead of €110 we could get their special offer of €80 for the week and that included a key for the safe. The air con in room 107 was pointless! Only one bed was located in the room the cool air actually circulated. The other 3 beds were located in the second room, which didn't have a door and took several hours to cool the room we actually slept in. Normally you would just leave the aircon on, in order to return to a nice and cool room. Problem! The device to power the aircon is attached to the only key they give per room. On arrival a 18:30 holiday rep bombarded us before we even put our bags down. Persuaded us into events that begin at 8pm and end around 10pm. Selling a number of events ranging from €25 a night or 'deals' at either €70 each or €210. Unfortunately again.. he didn't tell us the times of the events, so we missed the first one and wasted €25. Who wants to start drinking at 8pm and not even get free drinks after paying an initial €25 euros to follow a holiday rep down the strip? It's not hard to do in your group. It's one long road. The start of the strip is a good 10 minutes walk and at least 20 minutes to the beach. If you can call a 1m stretch of sand a beach. No wonder they filmed the beaches in Magaluf for the Inbetweeners movie. The showers were warm 90% of the time. However the showers don't fit the holder. Our other mates staying in the opposite room had to squat and hold the showerhead over their heads, whereas our room. We were able to balance the showerhead against the window after about a minute doing a balancing act. Complete privacy in the bathrooms? Nope! You're joined by an infestation of ants! And they migrate across the whole of the rooms. The majority staying in the bathroom. The cleanliness of the rooms is disgusting! The mattress' are supposed to be white. But are a dirty, manky grey colour - often covered in stains you don't want to know where they originated from. The sheets are stained considerably. And when the maids came in the second day, we thought we were getting clean sheets. Instead we noticed they had only turned them inside out. Surprised how this hotel/apartment managed to get 3 stars. Stayed in similar party destinations like Magaluf. Honestly would recommend going to Magaluf over Malia. Although we still had a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilton47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malia hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

okay so i came to malia in august on a 18-30 holiday and stayed in this hotel, really good hotel, nice people. there is a few things that was wrong about the hotel, alot of noise at night times, reps didnt really come to your room to talk to you we didnt even have a welcome meeting as you are supposed too, they didnt even speak to us half the time and they just didnt really bother with you. To top the place of we checked out on 3rd of september and we couldnt get our passports back if we didnt pay a fee of 30 euros for a chip on the chair which was already there (the reps didnt really say musch about it) and a 15 euro fee of having dirty bed clothing which they should have a washing machine instead of just refolding/remaking the bed!!!!! also i found ants in the room attacking a dead spiders body and random ants crawling in the shower.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 106 as you probably will get billed a 30 euros, braking the chair as it already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I loved my time in malia August 2012...
The rooms were equipped with what you needed and were plenty big enough!
The pool area and food around the pool was very nice!
However the only problem was with the security guard who me and my friends witnessed him beating someone up! He also followed girls on their own back to their rooms, just a very creepy man!
Recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthfulreviewer_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Village Oasis Area, Malia for 2 weeks from July 2nd - 16th. Group of 5 lads between 2 rooms. As with everyone we were nervous about all the reviews (massive charges, terrible security etc.) but arrived there + were massively surprised!
When we first arrived, all paid for air con + safe; came to about 45 euros per person but it is well needed. Rooms get way to hot and unbreable without it. Also the 18-30 rep was quick to come to our room to sell their trips however he really wasn't pushy at all. We paid for one trip (silent disco) which was 25 euro each and well worth it!
Hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the top of the strip and its located ideally. Hotels on the strip just seemed far too lively all of the time so was quite nice to be able to get back to a quieter part to go to sleep. The promo people on the strip can get really annoying but at the end of the day they're just doing their jobs. We found the best places to go on a night were Banana club, Zig Zag + Candy Club (all free entry).
Due to the majority of us having girlfriends (and one lad just failing to pull) we never had to experience the security much on a night, however we were told straight away on arrival that it was 25 euro to bring a lass back, but if we tried to sneak them in (which would be impossible due to CCTV EVERYWHERE) and got caught, it was 50 euro. Also when pre-drinking, some nights security was round asking us to turn music off by 11:00pm, however other nights would not appear and we would be un-interruped until going out at about 2:00am.
Finally, coming to the end of the holiday we were majorly worried about extra charges, due to us smashing a couple of glasses + having tattoo ink + pen ink all over some bed sheets. Some how, when we came to checking out we were not charged anything whatsoever!
From our experience, the hotel was everything we needed/expected for a lads holiday and had no trouble whatsoever!
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig912013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.8 mi away
Stelios Apartments
Stelios Apartments
#64 of 90 in Malia
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#48 of 90 in Malia
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ilios Malia Apartments
Ilios Malia Apartments
#36 of 90 in Malia
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Village Oasis Annex
#37 of 79 in Malia
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Studios
Dionysos Studios
#1 of 22 in Malia
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Oasis Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Oasis Studios and Apartments

Property: Village Oasis Studios and Apartments
Address: Malia Village, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Oasis Studios and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Village Oasis Studios And Apartments Hotel Malia
Village Oasis Studios And Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing