We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Team slugs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Elena Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bella Elena Apartments
Ranked #30 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Team slugs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and my friend came here for our first clubbing holiday.. We both didn't expect much from this hotel because of the amazing price we payed for a mid-August holiday! However we were pleasantly supised! The room was small but big enough for us, it was very clean and we had our room cleaned every 2 days. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful view that the hotel has to offer. We payed €25 each for a weeks worth of air-con which isn't that bad however the air con wasnt very good and we found it better to have the doors open towards the end of the week. The strip was only a 5-10 minute walk away and the beach was a 20 minute walk but it was an interesting walk as its through the strip which also have nice little shops and places to eat open during the day. Durinng the day we would sunbathe by the pool, it was a nice atmosphere and everyone was very friendly, even the staff. We didnt feel that nikos was pushy with trying to sell drinks like some other reviews mentioned, he was very nic and so was the rest of the family that worked there! All in all we would defiantly return as we had an amazing time and the hotel was lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    32
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Arrived early hours of the morning, to be checked in quickly and efficently, as it was so early we didnt bother asking about the air con/safe, so we just slept with the windows and doors open....sufficent. We got this the next day, 60Euros for a weeks safe and air con, not bad at all!! Air con is defo needed in 40 degree heat!

Always plenty of sunbeds as people do not get up till midday, Good choice of foood, ate breakfast here near enough everyday, bacon and cheese toasties are amazing!! Thanks Natasha! ;) Nikos also showed me how to make the amazing Tzatsiki :) I am addicted!! The whole family, Nikos, Natasha, Dimitris & Thomas will do anything to make your stay a good one! Also fully recommend the BBQ night, 10Euros, all you can eat! Not bad at all!! :)

Wouldnt say this hotel was specifically for young ones, we met several people who were older....as long as you know how to have a good time, and you arent too bothered about the young ones messing about in the day then its perfect as its in the old town....away from all the hustle and bustle, but yet a lovely stroll into town or the beach.

Some absolutley gorgeous tavernas on the way to this hotel. Also recommend Zorba's pizza when your on your way in after a heavy night at 6am! Really is the best pizza in town! Zorbs needs to come to England!! Hahaha!

All in all, would definately return to this hotel, Thanks Nikos, Natasha, Dimitris, Thomas and every1 else who made it a FAB holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel was to a good standard. We assumed we would be in the original part of the hotel. Upon check-in we realised we had a room in the new section. The development was to a very high standard, however you had to pay for air-con and as i have really tight mates we never had it. Rooms were cleaned every 2days. We only had one issue and that was the blood stained sheets my friend had, slightly unpleasant but liveable.

We all had a great time at the hotel, met some crazy loud Mancunians on the last evening which was eventful.

Food, drink and pool was good. Was a very relaxing time even though I nearly died on the journey home..... Longest trip of my life...

Ally Murison

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyMurison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I arrived at the apartment at 2 am off the flight to find I was being sold a BBQ meal for the next week I asked if the room had air con this was going to be an extra 60 euro cash a week bet the Greek tax man won't see that the room had blood stained sheets I asked the man at the bar he said it was not his problem he just ran the bar . So I slept on a towel on the bed . The next day I was at the bar chatting to some nice British army guys the minute they left a son of the guy from the night before was slagging them off saying how bad they are to not be eating and drinking at the pool then to only disrespectfully talk down our Ames forces . I was then horrified to know that his brother study's in England I was charged toilet roll the first one was free by all accounts , all I did then was just to sleep there as there was a brilliant food place called zorbs on the way up the hill and used the beach any way be for warned .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kwalker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

8 of us booked this holiday as our first clubbing holiday. after reading the reviews we were apprehensive as to what the hotel/staff would be like and we were pleasantly surprised!
as there were supposed to be 9 going out we had a 2 bed, 3 bed and 4 bed apartments. however the 4 bed was on the other end of the hotel in the new block. we asked the manager (who is lovely, can be scary if you get on the wrong side but as long as you respect her she's nice) and she said it was fine for us to move into the new 4 bed apartment next to our other friends. so we spent the first night in the 2/3 bed apartments which were very basic but did the job. the air con you had to pay for but it was expected, however it was crap in the old block blowing out the most pointless warm air (probably not worth the money! you ended up just as sweaty with or without it!)
the rest of the week we all spent in the new apartments, which were AMAZING! they had touch screen hobs, flat screen tv's and the air con was brilliant! the apartment was split into a room, bathroom and kitchen/living area with 2 huge sofas which you could use as beds.
the staff are so friendly, nikos and his family were wonderful! nikos stayed up until 7 am each morning and even made me toast when i had no money and said i could pay him back later (which i did). His children are so funny, thomas is 17 and just gets drunk all day with us all, and he's hilariously rude! i disagree totally that nikos pushes you to buy drinks at his bar, its his living so of course he will nag a little but it wasnt off putting at all! thomas was making a joke of it at the quiz (which was rather fun) and at the end of each round he'd shout "ITS STILL HAPPY HOUR, HAPPY HOUR IS STILL ON!"
the hotel is quite a walk from the strip, down some small roads until you reach the main road then the strip on the right. its about 15 mins and about 20 to the beach however it doesnt feel that long as you walk through the strip to the beach. the bars and clubs are amazing! the union bar was the best bar and we visited it almost every night! "3 drinks, 2 shots and 2 fish bowls for 5 euros" is pretty much what you get offered everywhere!
its a really cheap place, i managed a week on 300 euros. drinks are cheap in the bars and more expensive in the clubs. there are only 3 big clubs, zig zag, apollo and candy club. however its more than enough for a weeks holiday.
the hotel has security which is really helpful as you have one room key between you all (4 of us) so he let us in each night, which also means no visitors (cheeky bunch) however the beach proved more than welcoming for your wishful antics.
all in all it was a really pleasant holiday, it was cleanly run and just a great week! would definitely recommend everyone stay here!! we even met some lads who had been there 2 years consecutively it was that good!

Room Tip: new block has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I went to stay at Bella elena as a cheap holiday so wasn't expecting it to be anythin special arrived on 17 th July 2012 couldn't believe my eyes the rooms are absolutely beautiful, the bar is run by a family of 4 such friendly people. Could have wished for a better place. I highly reccomend the BBQ which is just 10 euros on a Sunday tea Time well worth waiting for followed by a quiz after. The pool was very clean as it was cleaned ever evening this is defo the place to stay. Not shy of playing music at all times also music of your own choice. About a ten min walk to the strip were all the night life, food is served 24/7 and bar is open 24/7 about a 15-20 min walk to the beach I recommend pleasure beach I enjoyed Malia

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Immensely enjoyed my stay at the Bella Elena Apartments. A lovely hotel run by extremely friendly staff which creates a great atmosphere around the pool and bar. Rooms were basic yet were suitable and adequate for the holiday. The pool was clean and there was enough sunbeds for everyone who was staying in the hotel. Air con was available and the views from the rooms were enjoyable.
Also i am against the other comments of customers saying the bar staff harassed and begged people to buy drinks as i did not feel this was the case. Lovely hotel, i'd recommend it to family and friends. I would definitely return to Bella Elena and i can honestly say i think it must be one of the best hotels in Malia.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#30 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#11 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Irida Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Elena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Elena Apartments

Property: Bella Elena Apartments
Address: Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Elena Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Elena is a modern hotel unit, built in the heart of the village of Malia. Only a couple of minutes on foot from the central square of the village with its traditional cafes ready to serve you Cretan food and a few steps away from the seaside road of Malia, the most famous road for the nightlife it offers. Our apartments offer 3 star accommodations and are certified by EOT (Greek Tourism Organization). They dispose comfortable and sunny common areas, a big central swimming-pool, a small one for our young friends and a pool bar which is open 24 h a day. The location of Bella Elena is ideal for you to move on foot to every place in Malia, but also to discover the well-known sandy beaches of the area. At a near distance you will find super-markets, pharmacies, banks, restaurants, cafes, pubs, clubs and all kinds of shops so as to buy from clothes and souvenirs to jewelry and traditional Cretan products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bella Elena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Elena Apartments Hotel Malia
Bella Elena Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing