We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a regular visitor to Malia, Bella Elena is Okay - there are alot better places!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Elena Apartments
Ranked #23 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Essington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As a regular visitor to Malia, Bella Elena is Okay - there are alot better places!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I came in June 2012 with a group of friends for a clubbing holiday.
On arrival we were greeted at the bar and told house rules. Annoyingly they had given us 2 rooms complete opposite ends of the hotel instead of next door to eachother like we had asked! They said there was nothing they could do about this, so we decided to all cram into the one room - the nicest of the two, even though they told us we couldnt! The other room was in the older building and was horrible - the shower room was dirty and the room felt like an oven during in a day! They also took our passports away from us until the end of the holiday which was un-nerving! After asking for them back several times I gave up. The family that runs the apartments were nice if you treated the place with respect. Although if you had an issue they would pass the blame onto the manager who I saw once in a blue moon! The 24 hour pool bar was not 24 hours either! It shut for several hours in the morning. The security were stupidly strict! The guard would often argue that my friends didnt stay at the apartments on our way back in during early hours. Dont even bother trying to bring anybody else back! We didnt opt for air-con as we couldnt afford it! 70 euros for a week seemed crazy.
The location wasnt the best either. A good 10 minute walk to the strip - which is all uphill on the way back! Very irritating. And at least 20/25 minutes to the beach which we didnt realise before we booked it. In the heat its the most unpleasant thing ever!
During the day the apartments were decent. The pool itself was always clean and the pool bar does burgers and breakfasts to cure your hangover at reasonable prices. The younger guys behind the bar always had decent tunes pumping throughout the day too! The pool area was clean and had sun most of the day. During the evening we were allowed to drink on out balconies and play our music quite loud. There was a good atmosphere.
The nearest shop is about 200m down the road which sells everything you need to get by - 6 bottles of water for 1 euro. Alcholic bevs and pot noodles, crisps and chocolates etc. I'd advise you to take some in your suitcase if your on a tight budget!
On BBQ night we had a spread of local foods and a quiz by the pool - although i found a label in my food which put me off eating..
It was alright for the price we paid. If your going to Malia for a clubbing holiday I'd advise you to stay somwhere on the strip! So much better. Danaides apartments opposite Safari Club are lovely. If you want somewhere abit quieter in old town out of the strip this place is okay. But be aware that its an uphill stagger back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    36
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

What can I say, fantastic holiday! The apartments are clean and basic, the pool is lovely, as are the bar staff that run it, hello thomas!! The strip is about 10 min walk away where youl find all the bars and clubs which are all really good!If you fancy eating out all the nice resturants are on your doorstep in the old town! The beach is about 20 min walk away, one day it was too hot to walk so we got a taxi, 10 euros to the beach, which between us wasn't bad! We stayed at the pool mainly as it played good music and served good food and drink, probably annoying everyone around us as we were the 'crazy loud Mancunians' someone has mentioned previously haha, hello! But if what your after is a laid back holiday, in a nice set back area close to all the amenities bella elena is for you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very nice complex of apartments all well maintained and very clean.
The apartment we had housed our family of 3 easily and would have housed another easily too.
The kitchen area was well equiped with all the usual must have's cooker,hob,fridge and microwave so if you don't fancy the eating out every night this is ideal.
There's a family run bar-diner at the pool side which we all found very friendly and was open all night for your return from the strip and has security on site too.
The pool area was very clean and cleaned every evening this was surrounded with many sun beds enough for all the complex at once.! all with sun brollys.
There's aircon (At a cost) and a safe(at a cost).
These Apartments are set in the old town of malia so if the club scene isn't your cup of tea you're well away from it,but it's a 10 min walk at the most for those who do go for the club scene,beaches are close and if you find yourself hiring quads quieter beaches are found farther a field..All in all my 14 days there were very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The apartments are so clean and new looking. Were cleaned regularly and sheets and towels changed. Had a lovely big room with a balcony that overlooked the pool. We were there in the last week they were open which suited us perfectly (little bit quieter!)
If you want to find fault with the rooms you could (e.g bathroom door didn't shut) but all really minor things that shouldn't affect the quality of your stay that much! The pool is nice and you are in a really great location in the old town to be out of the way of the strip if you wish, and where all the lovely restaurants are located. 10 mins walk to the strip or to the bus stop where you can get the bus to other places as we did only a few mins and a euro or two to Hersonissos and Stalis (lovely beach).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and my friend came here for our first clubbing holiday.. We both didn't expect much from this hotel because of the amazing price we payed for a mid-August holiday! However we were pleasantly supised! The room was small but big enough for us, it was very clean and we had our room cleaned every 2 days. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful view that the hotel has to offer. We payed €25 each for a weeks worth of air-con which isn't that bad however the air con wasnt very good and we found it better to have the doors open towards the end of the week. The strip was only a 5-10 minute walk away and the beach was a 20 minute walk but it was an interesting walk as its through the strip which also have nice little shops and places to eat open during the day. Durinng the day we would sunbathe by the pool, it was a nice atmosphere and everyone was very friendly, even the staff. We didnt feel that nikos was pushy with trying to sell drinks like some other reviews mentioned, he was very nic and so was the rest of the family that worked there! All in all we would defiantly return as we had an amazing time and the hotel was lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Arrived early hours of the morning, to be checked in quickly and efficently, as it was so early we didnt bother asking about the air con/safe, so we just slept with the windows and doors open....sufficent. We got this the next day, 60Euros for a weeks safe and air con, not bad at all!! Air con is defo needed in 40 degree heat!

Always plenty of sunbeds as people do not get up till midday, Good choice of foood, ate breakfast here near enough everyday, bacon and cheese toasties are amazing!! Thanks Natasha! ;) Nikos also showed me how to make the amazing Tzatsiki :) I am addicted!! The whole family, Nikos, Natasha, Dimitris & Thomas will do anything to make your stay a good one! Also fully recommend the BBQ night, 10Euros, all you can eat! Not bad at all!! :)

Wouldnt say this hotel was specifically for young ones, we met several people who were older....as long as you know how to have a good time, and you arent too bothered about the young ones messing about in the day then its perfect as its in the old town....away from all the hustle and bustle, but yet a lovely stroll into town or the beach.

Some absolutley gorgeous tavernas on the way to this hotel. Also recommend Zorba's pizza when your on your way in after a heavy night at 6am! Really is the best pizza in town! Zorbs needs to come to England!! Hahaha!

All in all, would definately return to this hotel, Thanks Nikos, Natasha, Dimitris, Thomas and every1 else who made it a FAB holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel was to a good standard. We assumed we would be in the original part of the hotel. Upon check-in we realised we had a room in the new section. The development was to a very high standard, however you had to pay for air-con and as i have really tight mates we never had it. Rooms were cleaned every 2days. We only had one issue and that was the blood stained sheets my friend had, slightly unpleasant but liveable.

We all had a great time at the hotel, met some crazy loud Mancunians on the last evening which was eventful.

Food, drink and pool was good. Was a very relaxing time even though I nearly died on the journey home..... Longest trip of my life...

Ally Murison

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyMurison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#16 of 90 in Malia
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#30 of 90 in Malia
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#26 of 90 in Malia
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princesse Irida
Princesse Irida
#9 of 22 in Malia
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Days Studios
Happy Days Studios
#6 of 79 in Malia
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Elena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Elena Apartments

Property: Bella Elena Apartments
Address: Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Elena Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Elena is a modern hotel unit, built in the heart of the village of Malia. Only a couple of minutes on foot from the central square of the village with its traditional cafes ready to serve you Cretan food and a few steps away from the seaside road of Malia, the most famous road for the nightlife it offers. Our apartments offer 3 star accommodations and are certified by EOT (Greek Tourism Organization). They dispose comfortable and sunny common areas, a big central swimming-pool, a small one for our young friends and a pool bar which is open 24 h a day. The location of Bella Elena is ideal for you to move on foot to every place in Malia, but also to discover the well-known sandy beaches of the area. At a near distance you will find super-markets, pharmacies, banks, restaurants, cafes, pubs, clubs and all kinds of shops so as to buy from clothes and souvenirs to jewelry and traditional Cretan products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Elena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Elena Apartments Hotel Malia
Bella Elena Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing