We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Royal heights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Heights Resort
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff bent over backward to give this hotel an exclusive and extravagant feel. All very friendly particularly the two waiters in the evening restaurant and kostas at the pool bar.. had some amazing days filled with cocktails and laughs.

Our room was beautiful and when we arrived late on the first evening room service was given in place of half board dinner. Plates of Meats, cheeses, salad and olives, caviar and fresh bread and fruit arrived. We were very impressed.
Breakfast had plenty to offer - fruits, cereals, sausages, bacon and eggs cooked on request.
Half board option - evening meals were amazing! So so good we stayed 10 nights and ate out once! Lovely service, very friendly waiters.

We visited toward the end of the season so only experienced reps coming in to use the pool once and didnt bother us. A wedding took place too. The chapel was beautifully decorated and we heard the service from our room. Very very busy but staff so organised and professional that it had little impact on our day and we were invited to join their evening reception.

We walked most days to Malia, 10 minutes at the most. Not the most attractive scenery on route and quite a hill but worth it to get to the gorgeous old town and save 7 euros in the taxi! Saw a few fitness fanatics running back up but no way we could walk it - taxi rank right at the bottom of the hill!

There are nicer places to visit than malia itself, neighbouring towns much less ruined by british pubs and lack of culture but wherever I visit in crete I will most definitely return to royal heights to base our stay from. Thank you to all working hard at RHH.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Royal Heights Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Late holiday and Malia was very quiet. Hotel was GRAND in every respect of the word. very friendly staff greeted us - slight problem with airport transfer - BE WARNED - you will be dropped in Malia and need to get (and pay for) a Taxi to the Hotel. That apart we were shown to our apartment and were very pleasantly surprised. Restaurant staff very happy to help. breakfast - lots of choice. Evening meal served with great humour. Other guests (multi-national) were all managed with the same quality of service despite some language issues - it all added to the party spirit. The 20 minute walk down to Malia then afforded access to the local buses for visiting all parts. some organised trips were made via the tourist office.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoMan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We can honestly say we have never been anywhere so beautiful in Europe. Everything was perfect. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The facilities were excellent. Would thoroughly recommend it if you are looking for a nice peaceful break

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nestled up in the hills overlooking Malia, Royal Heights Resort lets you get away from the Madding Crowd of Malia resort. We had a villa with private pool with a sea view. Open plan kitchen/diner/lounge gave space and ability to rustle up snacks for kids easily. The website makes the resort look more luxurious than i think it is, but it works better for families, as I didnt mind letting the kids run wild. The best kept secret is the kids soft play room next to the restaurant/bar/terrace which has a qualified nursery teacher on duty. So while you order and wait for a meal, kids can play until they're called to eat and then go off and play again. Food and service was excellent - staff all spoke perfect English and extremely helpful. However, we visited at easter and too cold to swim in outdoor pools, disappointed that the indoor pool wasn't heated. But we made up for it using the jacuzzi in the villa! Was expecting 2 bedrooms, but instead it was 1 bedroom and 1 sofa bed, which wasnt very comfy. But these are small niggles, overall a wonderful spot and loads to explore/see/do nearby. Hiring a car is almost essential (can be done cheap using local car hire companies). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prama129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Royal Heights on two occasions, both times I have thoroughly enjoyed myself. When we arrived the receptionists were very welcoming (Julia and Anneliese) The pools are amazing as is the view. Lovely food. Great atmosphere. Staff really are extremely informative and helpful. Great rooms, modern, clean and well maintained. Will definitely be going back and recccomend the hotel to others!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank rosie_blue_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

October break for 4 nights. When we arrived I could've sworn there was no one else in the place but at night the restaurant was full! This place was fantastic. The apartments are quiet, clean, well equipped (even Jacuzzi) & well serviced. You are quite high up so a great view of the whole of Malia but NO hustle & bustle. An easy & cheap cab ride to new town, old town & beach too.
During our stay there was a Greek wedding in the hotel main building with "only 760 guests" This was about 50m from our apartment & their party went on until the early hours, or so I was told. We didn't hear a thing! Either it was very well managed or everyone wore slippers & didn't talk.
Thoroughly recommend this place for a relaxing chill-out break.

Room Tip: From what I could see we were nearest the main building & that was fabulous so I'd say they...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeoffM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A beautiful apartment with stunning views and a wonderful private pool!

Although the address is listed as Malia, don't be put off-this place is high up in the mountains and a million miles away from the image that the 'Malia' name is usually associated with.

There is an excellent restaurant and spa in the hotel facility as well as another 2 swimming pools and the reception staff were extremely helpful.

The only slight negative was the failed wifi in our apartment which we were assured would be rectified on day 3 but unfortunately never happened, making it difficult to stay in touch for business purposes.

Room Tip: Go for the 2-bed luxury apartments-these are much larger and have amazing views!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pietros_Puckerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
18.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,729 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
922 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heights Resort

Address: Pezoula, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#2 Spa Hotel in Malia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malia
Price Range: £56 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Heights Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Heights Resort is situated in Malia area-Pezoula on an amazing privately-owned hill consisting of 60 acres of land with breathtaking views of the beautiful Cretan Sea. Located just 2 minutes away by car from the amazing beaches of Malia and just a 20 minute drive from the international airport ‘Nikos Kazantzakis’ in Heraklion and five minutes from the golf of Herisonnisos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heights Hotel Malia
Royal Heights Resort Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing