We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a relaxing stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Contessa
Ranked #27 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Went on a fmaily holiday to Malia old town with my parents and sister. The apartments were spotless and cleaned three times during our stay where we were given new towels. As theres only 10 rooms you do tend to meet everyone whos staying there which is very nice and friendly. The road outside is the main way for people staying in the 18-30 hotel down the road to get to the strip so you do get some noise but we found that once were in bed by midnight we missed most of the noise. There is also no air con so I'd advice hiring a fan from George as the rooms do get quite stuffy in the evenings. There is no pool at Villa Contessa which would be its only downside for me but you are allowed to use the pool at other apartments such as the 18-30 hotel. I wouldnt recommend that pool as it is filled with young people but the Stelios Apartments which is two minutes away was perfect - there was no one there apart from us and there was lots of sun loungers and a pool bar!
George is an amazing host and was really welcoming! On our first morning we all sat with George and he asked us about our flight and gave us some home made Raki. One piece of advice I'd give is to mix the Raki with orange juice - it tasted a bit like paint stripper but when in Greece.......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

very clean apartment with veranda onto front street beautiful flowers flowing over to give privacy very impressed with apartment more than enough room for the two of us wish I could have stayed longer no pool but can go pool hopping round the neighbours gentleman George was very welcoming to his hotel - if you could pick the hotel up and move it near a beautiful beach you would be in heaven - but you are in the middle of 18 to 30 territory so ideal time to go would be second week in September when most of them have gone home then you could hire a scooter to nip to beach without facing an army of quad bikes - the old town is beautiful but would love to ban all traffic after ten at night - so much to do so many places to eat you need two weeks to do it all

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mobyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We wanted a cheap and cheerful week away in the sun and decided on Villa Condessa. The property front is beautiful, with trailing flowers and a circular staircase. I have never stayed in such a well maintained and immaculate 3 star apartment in Europe. George obviously puts a lot of time and care into maintaining them and we would definitely go back/recommend a stay there. We were facing out the back so never had any bother with noise, but heard from other guests with front facing rooms that they had been disturbed by people returning form the strip. The strip itself is far enough away to avoid it on an evening if you want, but if you do want to go down there, it gets busy from about midnight onwards. The old town of Maila is a complete contrast to the strip in terms of people and atmosphere, despite being so close. For a self catering apartment, it was amply supplied with utensils etc, even the glasses sparkled! However, if you do plan to cook while on holiday, there is no oven and only one hob ring. There are several restaurants in the old town, all within a few minutes walking distance which serve good food. San Giorgio even does its own Greek night with plate smashing, dancing and live music on a Friday at no extra cost to the food. We should also mention that if you continue past the old town square (if Toto Loto is on your left), you will reach the restaurant Kalesma which is lovely, and you will also come across the gorgeous Connexions secret garden bar. You'll get a friendly welcome from the English owners and a good drink in there!
We got a public bus to Aghios Nikolaos and Elounda for the day for about €15 return for the two of us, so never bothered with any excursions from the tour company. You can reach Spinalonga Island from Elounda on one of the many ferries. We had use of the quiet and clean pool at Stelios apts. For the beach, we went to Aeolos beach resort. It's €3 each a day for a lounger, parasol, use of their amenities, pools and its water slides. Although initially we were a little dubious of going to Malia as a couple over the ages of 17-21, we had a really lovely holiday!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank smt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Having just returned from the Contessa I cant wait to go back. The villa is ideally situated in the old town not far from lovely restaurants and also the strip in in walking distance. The one bed apartments have all the basics you need. I have never been anywhere where you get constant hot water like here. George is so helpful and nice nothing is too much trouble. The only downside to it is that you have to book through Olympic holidays to stay here, and they are a nightmare for service and changing your flights.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the villa have the sunshine in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FuerteKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We just got back from staying only one week at Villa Contessa in Old Malia & wish we could have stayed with longer Son, George & Father, Nickolas ...much longer. They were so friendly & nothing was too much. You know how sometimes you book something online because it looks good? Well, in this case actuality is much better than a picture! The villa is beautiful in every way you can imagine. The flowers are wonderful & grapevines just outside our window had us talking about how they make Raki which is deadly. The whole of the villa is spotless & although basic, good enough to have a great time. We are definitely going back to visit again next year but next time longer! Thank you so much George & Nicholas! xx

Room Tip: A small out of the way place in Old Malia it's far enough away from the 18-30 scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jessicalittlebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have visited Crete many,many times - first with my parents,then with my own family and now finally as a single traveller. The first couple of times on my own, I stayed in neighbouring Stalis which is where I/we have always stayed but last year I needed a change. And what a change. I cannot praise Villa Contessa enough.
The location in the old village is just perfect, a quiet residential street. There is a lovely patio area to the front of the property if you want to be social, or a quiet balcony with your room if you don't. George is always there on your arrival with a welcoming raki or 3! There are plenty of traditional Greek tavernas within a very short walk, all of which serve excellent, local dishes - and some potent local wine!
If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful holiday this is the place to choose. If you want late nights and early mornings, then please stay somewhere else. This really isn't the place for you.
The only negative I have was the tour rep. I stayed in Oct 2012, and he was worse than useless. As a frequent visitor to the island, this wasn't too much of an issue for myself, but for a first time visitor, it could be very off-putting. Though this has nothing to do with George, everything to do with Olympic Holidays. Hopefully Mike won't be there when I go back in October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Arriving at the Villa Condessa me and my partner were greeted by the most wonderful hosts you could imagine, Geroge and Nikolas. A shot of the traditional raki welcomed us and off we went to a spotlessly clean room with wonderful view of the mountains behind malia. The villa was located a short walk from a small corner shop and then a 10 minute walk to the cash and carry to collect your food supplies. Further on from that is the new Malia. Villa Condessa is located in the old town of Malia, beautiful and very picturesque!

All in all this accommodation was fantastic and we shall return one day! One small point to make is that there is no air conditioning, but a big fan can be hired from George and Nikolas. If you are thinking of using this accommodation as a base for nightlife activities.... then this is really not the place, but perfect for couples old and young looking for a relaxing get away.

visited first week of sept 2012 and stayed for 1 week. BRILLIANT

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STE2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartments
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartmen...
#3 of 8 in Gournes Pediados
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Contessa
Villa Contessa
#1 of 2 in Xirokastello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Elena Apartments
Bella Elena Apartments
#29 of 78 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aglaia Apartments
Aglaia Apartments
#62 of 78 in Malia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adonis Apartments
Adonis Apartments
#12 of 29 in Gouves
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Apartments
Aquarius Apartments
#19 of 37 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Contessa

Property: Villa Contessa
Address: 12 Fragaki Armandou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Contessa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a garden, Apartments Villa Contessa is situated in Mália, 30 km from Heraklio Town. Hersonissos is 8 km from the property. All units include a seating area. Some units have a terrace and/or balcony with mountains or garden views. All units feature a kitchenette equipped with a dishwasher and refrigerator. A stovetop and kettle are also featured. There is a private bathroom with a shower in every unit. Towels and bed linen are available. Apartments Villa Contessa also includes a terrace. Ágios Nikólaos is 25 km from Apartments Villa Contessa, while Eloúnda is 24 km away. The nearest airport is Heraklion International Airport, 27 km from Apartments Villa Contessa. We have had hundreds of satisfied guests, many of them becoming regulars and friends that every year reward us with recurring visits. So, put on your swim suit, add some sun screen and relax. Your holidays start here and we promise it will be more than you expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Condessa Hotel Malia
Villa Contessa Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing