We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to relax”
Review of Villa Mare Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Mare Monte
Ranked #4 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice place to relax”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the bustle of Malia, which is great if you want to enjoy the nightlife and restaurants but still get some sleep at night! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were able to check in early with no penalty. There was a nice pool and plenty of lounge chairs. The breakfast was tasty with lots of options, and they even make eggs to order. There was no wifi in the rooms, but we did not feel this was an issue since we were able to hang out in the common areas and use it there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skies_in_my_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    49
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
66
113
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've just had a week bed and breakfast here, having picked the place from other reviews on here. I couldn't fault anything about the whole week if I tried.
Food was excellent. Cleanliness, excellent. Service, excellent...you get the picture.
The location is far enough from the drunk Brit teenagers doing their thing down Malia strip to not hear anything, but close enough should you wish to join in.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful, with a wide range of languages between them. Sharon (mornings) in particular was helpful with her maps and pointing out places of interest. We didn't get to see much of Linda (afternoons), we were out sightseeing. Mandy (evenings) was just as good and friendly when we arrived back for nightcaps.
The room was fine and clean with a cracking balcony with view across the whole sea front.
I did read on some reviews about the location on the "hill" being a problem. Hill? Seriously?
Acid test: Would we go back? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had room 26. Top floor and the biggest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel at 2am, there was a bit of a mix up as the owner said that we were meant to stay at another hotel nearby as they had a massive group in who had booked the whole hotel, however the travel agents had not let us know in advance. But she gave us a small studio room (not what we had booked obviously) which was a lovely room with a private garden! The next day we were moved to the room we had booked which was lovely! The rooms all come equipped with a small kitchenette (cooker, kettle, fridge), lots of storage and a hairdryer which was an added plus. We had forgotten our travel adapters but there is a small shop about a 5 minute walk down the hill which sells them for about €2. The hotel is in a lovely quiet location up in the hills away from the all the noise from the quad bikes and music and partying, but still close enough to walk down too (about 15 minutes or 25 minutes walking back uphill!). The pool and bar were nice and quiet with lots of sun loungers and kilos etc.The staff were lovely, Sharon, Linda and Mandy were all so helpful and lovely and gave us a map to find our way round Malia and made sure we had everything we needed and even booked an excursion for us so we didn't have too. The food is amazing at the hotel and fairly cheap, on our last night we had a greek meze which was wonderful. The breakfast was huge and filling (meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, greek yoghurt etc) and they will also make you eggs however you want for no extra cost. The drinks are fairly cheap, a cocktail costing around €5 but they were so good! They sell water as well but the shop nearby sells 6x 1ltr bottles for about €2. It is worth getting a taxi back to the hotel if you are going out in the evening, the set price is €7 so don't let them cheat you out of more money! A lot of the guests staying were returning guests, the staff are so friendly and honest so I'm not surprised!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamjayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

With 35 friends we stayed in Mare Monte. The service is extraordinary, friendly personel, very clean, honest and fresh food, all the help we needed with finding guides, walks and restaurants. I can recommend this hotel without hesitation. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A group of 4 of us stayed in the Villa Mare Monte in July and I cannot fault the hotel at all. The apartment was lovely, much bigger than expected and with a shared garden that was perfect for meeting neighbours. By the end of the trip we knew the names of all of the staff and it felt like the genuinely cared about us. The pool area was lovely and the food served was good and reasonably priced. However, I've rated 4 stars due to the location, the hill up the hotel is almost pitch black at night and can be quite scary, we were told to get a taxi to and from the strip which was fine (about 7 euros) but meant the night was a little more expensive,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Mare Monte is a wonderful place that can facilitate groups varying from large groups and families. My experience with a large group staying at Mare Monte was marvellous and could not be better. The owner and the crew made it possible for us to gather and to really enjoy Crete to the max.

Room Tip: Let the owner of the location help you out since she knows best what will suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne Mieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Have just returned from a week staying here and felt compelled to write a review because we were so welcomed here. For the price we paid I think the hotel delivered above our expectations- it was clean, comfortable and with excellent facilities and surroundings, the rooms were a little hot but that's the only complaint I could make. As other reviews have said, the staff here are lovely and the hotel owner is very mothering. When our transfer to the airport was late on our departure, she even suggested that her son could drop us at the airport! Although we were two young (ish!) girls staying in the vicinity of Malia, we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and if that is what you're after then this hotel is perfect- if you're going to party stay somewhere else as this is definitely not the vibe, and the location is probably slightly too far away to be a stumble home from the bars. It is however fairly close to the old town (about 10-15 mins walk) which is the nicest part of Malia and has lots of great restaurants. We ate at the hotel one night (for the Mezze) and it was great food and fairly priced. Speaking to the guests, most of them go back every year and it is more like a second home to them- when we left it definitely felt like if we decided to return we would be given a warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice_Carvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.4 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#28 of 90 in Malia
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mare Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare Monte

Property: Villa Mare Monte
Address: 2 Kondylaki, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mare Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Mare Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Monte Hotel Malia
Villa Mare Monte Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing