We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days is right!”
Review of Happy Days Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Days Studios
Ranked #8 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Very Friendly staff made us feel very welcome. Nice and clean accommodation and dose the trick after all you only really sleep in the room. We stayed on the 3rd floor at the front which had a lovely view of the hills and the sea.
I would definitely return to this accommodation.
Only downside was no free wifi… but most bars and restaurants had free wifi

We are an Irish couple in our 30's so this is our opinion.

About the area it is about a 15 minute walk to the beach, bikini beach is a good spot for lying in the sun and listening to some cool tunes. The sea is so clear and beautiful looking.

Fab restaurant there called Thalassa Bar Restaurant in Malia it has the most amazing sunset you will see and a lovely glass of wine too

Another great resturant is based in the old town of malia called Odas Taverna ,it is a greek restaurant and is beautifully set out side under lovely flower bushes… very romantic

Worth a look are:
the remains of the old palace of malia
A beach called Potamos Beach so quite and lovely.
Zorbas is a pizza restaurant and omg anything like the size of the pizza
At peek season alot of young people are in the area so there is alot of quad bikes around. If you do wanna hire one I recommend one company called Motor Fun, we hired one for 24hrs and it cost us 40 euro.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Happy Days Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

After my travel company didn't send my booking to happy days , me and my friend turned up there to find they were fully booked and never received our booking however... Although they didn't have to they helped us out massively , after finding us a temporary hotel for the night they thenorganised us a lift there , free of charge and made sure we were safe. The next day we went to visit them as they said they would help us out , we were on the phone to the travel agents all day finding my money and booking , they let us use there pool and looked after our luggage , finally we found our booking and payment and because happy days was full up they put us in a hotel next door and allowed us full access to happy days until a room was avalible. With out all their help we would have had to go home , it was very daunting as my friend and I are only 18 and it was our first holiday away from home , this hotel is perfect , very happy and chilled environment and the staff are fantastic. Thank you for everything happy days! Happy nights!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannaherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Well.. In July 2014, I stayed in this establishment for 7 days.

We didn't expect much, and we got less.
'Self Catering', sure we were provided pots & pans, but without a hob to cook the food, they are not much use.
The fridge didn't work from day 1, after multiple complaints, It still didn't work on day 7.
Other residents balconies hung over ours, this resulted in waking up to a vomit covered balcony most mornings.
Cleaners came twice throughout the week to change our towels for dirtier ones.
The two cleaners were a little disgruntled that we were all naked, but were incredibly professional.
I'd give the smaller one a 4/10 & the taller one 3/10.

'Zorbas Pizza' down the road from the hotel is the only thing i recommend about Malia.

This experience has put me off from returning to this area of the world.

Regards,
Roly

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor. Check the room before accepting it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at Happy Days with my sister and best friend for 2 weeks and our stay was faultless. Can't say anything bad about the room, staff or hotel overall.
We stayed in hotel most nights and provided amazing cocktails, thanks to the best barman ever Chris and has the entertainment you need for an awesome night. Loved our stay at Happy Days and WILL be staying again, the place to stay for a Malia holiday. All staff are friendly and so welcoming, treat you like family and glad I met them a'll:)

Ashleigh, Scotland

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleighca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Before I start I must say DO NOT RENT FROM HERMES QUAD hire!! The Welsh scumbag who hires them is an aggressive thug who WILL scam you no matter what!

Really not as bad as I was expecting saying that I tried to change hotel after reading reviews on this place prior to coming here.
Pros
It's clean - the only clubbing hotel I've stayed in without seeing a cockroach.
Owners are nice genuine people if you speak to them the right way
Located in the chilled out part of old malia not too far from the strip.
Cons
You are unable to bring other guests in after a night out which is a real sinker, stupid saying it's malia not a abstinence summer camp. Or pay 30 euro
Chris the bar man is a nause but can easily be ignored.
No free wifi round the pool.
Don't be scared about staying here!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

You get what you pay for ! OK for price we paid. Family of six just returned from Malia. Stayed at this friendly hotel. We were three adults and three children and initially put in studios above pool bar ! Not good for three year old but were quickly moved to apartment at front away from noisy bar area. Family were very friendly and helpful. Great pool area. Limited entertainment for children. Lots of noisy groups of single girls and lads on their holidays so be prepared for that in Malia. Close to shops, bars and restaurants. We found Crete quite expensive for eating and drinking. Crete AIRPORT was a nightmare on return journey and spoilt a great holiday. Would recommend Malia for young people but not really for families. Crete people were lovely and great with the kids though so maybe another resort next time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front if you want quiet. Pool view rooms VERY loud !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank devontraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just came home from a two week stay here. Had an amazing time loved all the staff and defo going back (soon) miss u all already,
Iv travelled near enough around the world but by far this is the most welcoming and friendliest place iv ever stayed.
Thanks for a great stay xxx
Gemma (mum)
Ashleigh (accident sperm)
Shannon
Xx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#27 of 90 in Malia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#117 of 171 in Hersonissos
218 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
226 reviews
58.1 mi away
Pantheon Hotel
Pantheon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Days Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Days Studios

Address: 18 G Lapidis, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range: £10 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Days Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests the Happy Days Studios is a cheerful complex located within Malia's charming old town, only walking distance from Malia strip and beach. We invite you to experience the fun and friendly atmosphere of our complex which offers our guests a good selection of on-site facilities including two swimming pools and a generous pool terrace with sunbeds and parasols. Studios are clean, bright and airy, each one equipped with all basic self-catering facilities as well as TV and Air-conditioning. If you prefer to take the hassle out of meal times you will find the pool bar offers a large selection of breakfasts, snacks and evening meals, both from greek and international cuisine. Our friendly staff will ensure you have a fantastic time so refresh yourselves with our delicious cocktails and big variety of drinks and join the party! A warm and friendly place to escape, Happy Days Studios is suitable for all ages and all types of holidays. A home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Happy Days Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Days Studios Hotel Malia
Happy Days Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing