We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stella Maria Studios
Ranked #13 of 23 Malia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I and 6 other girls traveled in 2 groups for our second girls holiday, the first group got taken to the wrong Stella Maria (the one right on the strip) but we got taken to the correct one (looks like the middle of no where) - so be wary of getting off your bus or you could be looking at an expensive taxi ride to reach the correct Stella.
Stella was always very friendly and the cleaner was amazing! she even done our dishes which definitely prevented some squabbles. The security guard is a top lad and actually carried one of the girls up to her room for us when she was so drunk we couldn't lift her up the stairs!
The rooms aren't any less than what you'd expect from a cheap hotel, basic but clean.
Stella makes some good food. Tad expensive but when you're hungover and just want a cooked breakfast it's worth it.
Don't know what the other review is on about with the fines cos we got none. 2 of the girls were sick on their beds so possibly stains some sheets and a mattress, the cleaner didn't bat an eye and we never heard of a possible fine. 1 of the girls also broke her bed, however we were clearly sober when it happened and so within an hour of reporting it she had a totally new bed put in her room. No staff gave us any grief for it and there was no mention of a fine (thankfully). There was also a glass or two smashed which seemed to have gone totally unnoticed.
It doesn't matter how much noise you make, everyone's drinking from 9-1ish at night anyway so no one cares about some noise. If you're wanting a night in you just need to wait until 1ish when everyone heads out and then it's extremely quiet.
Definitely a place to relax all day then party at night!
HOWEVER the location is not good. The distance isn't too bad (15 mins to strip) but you do need to walk through quiet and dark roads which at night time is NOT SAFE! Malia is especially bad for muggings - we got mugged on the 1st night on a main road and most people we met had also got mugged at some point on their holiday. Walking down the dark, quiet roads is pretty scary and dangerous for a group of girls. We always walked to the strip at night but got a taxi back, taxi is around 7 euro. The drivers also get confused sometimes when asking for Stella Maria in the Old Village and we once had to direct the exact way (not easy when you've been drunk every time in the taxi!).
Overall, I do not recommend Malia but if your heart's set then try and get a hotel closer to the strip. As much as I liked this hotel I'd rather pay slightly more money for a location I feel safer in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvine0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Stella Maria Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

The first thing people need to know is that. There are TWO stella marias. Hotels and apartments. We stayed at apartments, right near McDonalds! We read reviews that is was pretty awful, so we wasn't expecting much. We got there on 26th June 2012, and we were pleasantly surprised! The beds were clean, and so was the bathroom! The only downside is that, there wasn't cutlery! Which we never really understood but we just bought plastic knives and forks! For a cheap hotel, the 2 hobs on the cooker got hot really quickly! And as its a small hotel, you don't have much banging etc. There is also someone on security at night outside the hotel, so no strangers can get in! Which is a good feeling when its your first holiday away with girls. The air con was 45, and the safe was 25, but we got both for 60. If your in a room of 3, that makes 20 euros each which isnt too bad considering you control the air con on what you like all week! I advise people to not sleep with the air con on at night, you will get very poorly! The maid came in every other day and cleaned for us, and left us more towels too. We had no problems whatsoever and being 5 minutes from the strip isn't bad at all. I've seen comments about it being a massive "hill" and "pitch black" and I dont know if they mean the hotel not apartments, but it was fine, and we didnt notice it was a hill until the 3rd night! There are two supermarkets straight opposite, and a 2 minute walk a place that does a full english for 2.70.. We loved all the clubs in Malia, and felt safe the whole time! I would recommend this hotel and the place to anyone :) you want a clean bed and shower, and somewhere you feel safe! So its perfect :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Joanne-Alex-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Upon arival at the stella maria apartments in malia , I and 14 other freinds laughed at the sight of the hotel which had been described to us in brochures as a stones throw from the beach (5 mins on foot) which actually turned to a 35 min trek up a sizeable hill often in pitch black after a night out.
We then ventured into the rooms whic can be at best be described as habitable and bearable for a week. The room features included :
kitchen complete with plug in hob, ants nest and dirty fridge.
Bathroom in wetroom style missing a shower curtain and showerhead holder , not forgetting the €200 fine for putting used toilet paper down the dirty toilet.
Bedrooms came with a bed that shares the same comfort level as a block of concrete.
Airconditioning was also at a premium as was a room safe.

We then explored further the hotels 'facilities' , top of the list ..
Swimming pool complete with sun tan lotion oil slick
Kitchen complete with fagash chef incapable of making a decent meal.
Bar staff who only seem interested in getting drunk themselves , chatting up one another or handing out fines for the smallest of misdoings.

Hotel guests adopted a well respecting attitude and 'made do' with what was one step above being a prison.

Would reccomend any other hotel in the malia area over this one .

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harrysykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

The apartments maybe quite a bit of trek from the main strip, but the place itself is lovely! Yannis and Winnie the owners were amazing, they were soo friendly and kept us laughing all week long! We were 4 girls aged 19-21 and we absolutely loved it! Highly recommend the scrambled eggs on toast to sort you out in a morning!! The apartments are quite close knit so you get to know everyone there! Happy Hour is awesome too... LUSH cocktails!! Even 'Frank' the security guard was a legend! Definately get yourselves there!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani-Yella88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Берите повыше,подальше от бассейна
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Loyalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank lennyfromke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#29 of 90 in Malia
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#28 of 90 in Malia
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.0 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Stelios Gardens
Stelios Gardens
#20 of 58 in Heraklion
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maria Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maria Studios

Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Malia
Price Range: £13 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Stella Maria Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maria is a family-run accommodation that is pleasantly located on the hill above Malia's Old Village, on picturesque neighborhood of town.The apartments offer a lively location far enough but yet within walking distance of all hot spots and places to be (within 10 minutes walking distance of bars and tavernas of the Old Village, 15 minutes walk to the lively area of Malia Bar Street and 15 minutes to the beach). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stella Maria Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maria Hotel Malia
Stella Maria Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing