We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel amazing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Maria Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stella Maria Studios
Ranked #16 of 19 Malia B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely hotel amazing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

10 of us went to malia ages between 20 and 22 and it was the best holiday!! the hotel location is about 10 min away from the strip and it brings you out at kaza pub which is right at the top of the strip. previous reviews have mentioned a hill.. we were expecting something huge but really its like a slope from this little park to the top of the hotel which in some cases we didn't even realise we were walking up it!
when we first arrived there we thought we were miles away but by turning right from the hotel and walking straight down you end up on the strip. the hotel was basic you get what you pay for but there was always room at the pool and when we went there we made friends with another two groups who were in the hotel, i would advise this hotel is definitely for young people.the owners were lovely and on some occasions they gave out watermelon to all of the guest. there is a security guard who we named steve! he was so lovely he stands on the gate all night and comes and watches who enters the hotel i did feel safe when returning from a night out.
if you do stay at this hotel there is a greek restaurant just at the bottom of the hill the food was amazing i would definitely recommend it. the strip was amazing!! we all pre-drank before we went out but to be honest you get so much for 5 euros you dont need to. definitely visit banana and cloud 9 we loved it there!.. overall it was possibly the best holiday we have been on and i would recommend it to anyone who wants somewhere cheep, lovely atmosphere and near the strip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I went with a group of 4 girls, we arrived and were all a bit shocked at the .. 'Rustic' feel.. After the initial shock of no shower curtain crowded rooms no real kitchen or reception we settled down after a night on the strip. Everything seemed better in the morning. The pool was lovely, as we're the sunbeds when you could get one. Would've preferred a bigger balcony as the rest were bigger than ours! We met a nice group of people which made it easier. There wasn't much near us though as we were in old town Malia, but a 10 min walk away from the strip which was more than capable when drunk. Stella and the security guard were both very nice and understanding.
Would recommend going here if you want a chill holiday with easy access to a party life. You have to make friends though! As that's what made our holiday fab!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenaakellyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Came with a group of 4 girls, the first day shocked us a bit. There is no reception inside the apartments it is basically the bar. Got in the room and there was no shower curtain but the room was clean. The apartments are on a hill so would recommend to get quad bikes which cost us €85 for the week. It may seem a bit far but you will appreciate it to get away from the strip so you can get some sleep! When you have been drinking the strip isn't too far away and we walked plenty of times without any hassle. But there are loads of taxis. The security guard is a top bloke so there's no chance of any mishaps. Ask for the gas chamber at the bar! Basically you get what you pay for and the views by the pool make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 94nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I and 6 other girls traveled in 2 groups for our second girls holiday, the first group got taken to the wrong Stella Maria (the one right on the strip) but we got taken to the correct one (looks like the middle of no where) - so be wary of getting off your bus or you could be looking at an expensive taxi ride to reach the correct Stella.
Stella was always very friendly and the cleaner was amazing! she even done our dishes which definitely prevented some squabbles. The security guard is a top lad and actually carried one of the girls up to her room for us when she was so drunk we couldn't lift her up the stairs!
The rooms aren't any less than what you'd expect from a cheap hotel, basic but clean.
Stella makes some good food. Tad expensive but when you're hungover and just want a cooked breakfast it's worth it.
Don't know what the other review is on about with the fines cos we got none. 2 of the girls were sick on their beds so possibly stains some sheets and a mattress, the cleaner didn't bat an eye and we never heard of a possible fine. 1 of the girls also broke her bed, however we were clearly sober when it happened and so within an hour of reporting it she had a totally new bed put in her room. No staff gave us any grief for it and there was no mention of a fine (thankfully). There was also a glass or two smashed which seemed to have gone totally unnoticed.
It doesn't matter how much noise you make, everyone's drinking from 9-1ish at night anyway so no one cares about some noise. If you're wanting a night in you just need to wait until 1ish when everyone heads out and then it's extremely quiet.
Definitely a place to relax all day then party at night!
HOWEVER the location is not good. The distance isn't too bad (15 mins to strip) but you do need to walk through quiet and dark roads which at night time is NOT SAFE! Malia is especially bad for muggings - we got mugged on the 1st night on a main road and most people we met had also got mugged at some point on their holiday. Walking down the dark, quiet roads is pretty scary and dangerous for a group of girls. We always walked to the strip at night but got a taxi back, taxi is around 7 euro. The drivers also get confused sometimes when asking for Stella Maria in the Old Village and we once had to direct the exact way (not easy when you've been drunk every time in the taxi!).
Overall, I do not recommend Malia but if your heart's set then try and get a hotel closer to the strip. As much as I liked this hotel I'd rather pay slightly more money for a location I feel safer in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The first thing people need to know is that. There are TWO stella marias. Hotels and apartments. We stayed at apartments, right near McDonalds! We read reviews that is was pretty awful, so we wasn't expecting much. We got there on 26th June 2012, and we were pleasantly surprised! The beds were clean, and so was the bathroom! The only downside is that, there wasn't cutlery! Which we never really understood but we just bought plastic knives and forks! For a cheap hotel, the 2 hobs on the cooker got hot really quickly! And as its a small hotel, you don't have much banging etc. There is also someone on security at night outside the hotel, so no strangers can get in! Which is a good feeling when its your first holiday away with girls. The air con was 45, and the safe was 25, but we got both for 60. If your in a room of 3, that makes 20 euros each which isnt too bad considering you control the air con on what you like all week! I advise people to not sleep with the air con on at night, you will get very poorly! The maid came in every other day and cleaned for us, and left us more towels too. We had no problems whatsoever and being 5 minutes from the strip isn't bad at all. I've seen comments about it being a massive "hill" and "pitch black" and I dont know if they mean the hotel not apartments, but it was fine, and we didnt notice it was a hill until the 3rd night! There are two supermarkets straight opposite, and a 2 minute walk a place that does a full english for 2.70.. We loved all the clubs in Malia, and felt safe the whole time! I would recommend this hotel and the place to anyone :) you want a clean bed and shower, and somewhere you feel safe! So its perfect :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Joanne-Alex-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Upon arival at the stella maria apartments in malia , I and 14 other freinds laughed at the sight of the hotel which had been described to us in brochures as a stones throw from the beach (5 mins on foot) which actually turned to a 35 min trek up a sizeable hill often in pitch black after a night out.
We then ventured into the rooms whic can be at best be described as habitable and bearable for a week. The room features included :
kitchen complete with plug in hob, ants nest and dirty fridge.
Bathroom in wetroom style missing a shower curtain and showerhead holder , not forgetting the €200 fine for putting used toilet paper down the dirty toilet.
Bedrooms came with a bed that shares the same comfort level as a block of concrete.
Airconditioning was also at a premium as was a room safe.

We then explored further the hotels 'facilities' , top of the list ..
Swimming pool complete with sun tan lotion oil slick
Kitchen complete with fagash chef incapable of making a decent meal.
Bar staff who only seem interested in getting drunk themselves , chatting up one another or handing out fines for the smallest of misdoings.

Hotel guests adopted a well respecting attitude and 'made do' with what was one step above being a prison.

Would reccomend any other hotel in the malia area over this one .

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harrysykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

The apartments maybe quite a bit of trek from the main strip, but the place itself is lovely! Yannis and Winnie the owners were amazing, they were soo friendly and kept us laughing all week long! We were 4 girls aged 19-21 and we absolutely loved it! Highly recommend the scrambled eggs on toast to sort you out in a morning!! The apartments are quite close knit so you get to know everyone there! Happy Hour is awesome too... LUSH cocktails!! Even 'Frank' the security guard was a legend! Definately get yourselves there!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani-Yella88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.0 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#31 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#33 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#14 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maria Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maria Studios

Property: Stella Maria Studios
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Stella Maria Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maria is a family-run accommodation that is pleasantly located on the hill above Malia's Old Village, on picturesque neighborhood of town.The apartments offer a lively location far enough but yet within walking distance of all hot spots and places to be (within 10 minutes walking distance of bars and tavernas of the Old Village, 15 minutes walk to the lively area of Malia Bar Street and 15 minutes to the beach). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stella Maria Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maria Hotel Malia
Stella Maria Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing