We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely self-catering hotel on beautiful beach!”
Review of Parthenis Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parthenis Beach
Ranked #9 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed at Parthenis Beach Appartments in the first weeks of the summer season (April) so it was very quiet, only about 4 people on the beach, luxury! So it was a very peaceful, relaxing stay. The apartment was very clean (cleaned daily) and kitchenette provided with enough basic equipment to cook a simple meal (2 electric hobs, kettle, fridge, sink). A few pieces of fruit were provided on arrival, which was a nice touch. I did find the Deluxe Studio (for 2) a bit bare and drab compared to the promotional photos of the appartments, a few nice pictures on the walls would have really brightened it up. The size of the studio was decent (especially as most time was spent outside) for the price, the bed was comfortable, plenty of hanging space in wardrobe and free safe in room was a plus. I didn't really need a TV, all channels were Greek apart form one Dutch (?) one, a couple of the Greek channels were showing English language films with Greek subtitles. The balcony was a generous size and had a beautiful view of the sea, as promised. The hotel's restaurant Drossia was closed as out of season (as were many facilities in the resort), but I was recommended 2 restaurants in the Old Town. Staff were very helpful and gave me a map of Malia and guide book to borrow to read up about Knossos and Malia archaeological sites. Food served all day at the pool bar was quick, cheap, basic but tasty, with quite a good range. Portions were enormous and the Cretan Salad was especially nice. The staff, particularly one Dutch girl, were very helpful and friendly, which made staying as a lone traveller much more enjoyable. The one disappointment I would mention, is that there is no hot tub at the hotel. I had chosen the hotel on the basis of this (listed in the hotel description on booking websites) as I was staying early in Spring and knew the pool was unheated. So this was disappointing to be told when I got there that there was no hot tub, but a visit could be arranged (at extra cost) to a place which had a hot tub, gym and massage services. I chose not to pay extra for that, so I can't comment on what it's like. Other than this, I would recommend the hotel as a good choice for a budget stay on a beautiful beach where you couldn't possibly be closer to the sea!

Room Tip: My room was on the West side of the building, which meant the lovely balcony got the sun all day (ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Spent a week in October here with my wife and all I can say is Thanks to the staff and owners of this hotel for a fantastic stay.
The hotel is very clean, fresh and decor upto date, and is located 5 mins walk from the main bar st.
The owners of the hotel are present everyday and cannot do enough to make your stay great.
Food is good and they also own a restaurant on bar st called Drossia which is one of the nicest places for food.
If you have read any negative reviews about this hotel I can only assume its by competitors or their families, I can highly recommend this hotel for couples and families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a great place owned by a lovely family wanting to provide a special experience. Fantastic location on the beach, great pool area, good snack menu and tables located between the pool and beach. Good rooms, very clean, the big suite overlooking the pool and beach is amazing.
I find the 1-star review I have read to be very disappointing. It is full of misleading statements. For instance, there are some rocks at the beach in front of the hotel, but it's a small area, and the rest is sandy and perfect for swimming, so it's not an issue. There are switches in corridors to turn lights on, so that's not an issue. If you don't know that Malia attracts the young crowd in summer, how is that the fault of the hotel?! And so on.
I am a great fan of Tripadvisor, and through it we have found some lovely places to stay. But it does seem to bring out the worst in some people. Please - believe the good reviews. When we stayed in October 2012, there were British guests, but most were Dutch, and they just don't accept poor quality.
And finally, the family owns Drossia restaurant nearby, and it's fantastic and immaculate. You won't be disappointed. Thanks to Parthenis and Eleni for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The suite with no number overlooking the beach is incredible. 504 next to it is smaller but still ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheMacphersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Cheapest hotel we've ever seen... ever! Lights in halls are on timers, so they're always dark. No full time front desk person, so sometimes you need to ask the pool bartender for help. WiFi is terrible and was not able to connect with any Apple devices. pool closes at 7 pm. Beach at this property is rocks, only the neighbors have sand into the water. the chair cushions outside all have rust stains on them. the owner advertises for his restaurant inside the hotel rooms with framed posters! no hair dryer in bathroom. worst shower head ever. very tacky room decor. super low quality partial kitchen in the junior suite, with a random bed 2 feet from the counter that sits on a metal table... do people sleep on this? For Americans who travel a lot, this was a 1 start hotel, not even CLOSE to 4 stars. The price was high $200/night for quality less than a $50 per night Howard Johnson in the states. We're blown away at the other ratings of this place. Malia was also a town for 18 to 21 year olds looking to drink all night... being in our late 20's we surprisingly felt way out of place and would not recommend staying in this town to begin with.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel, or better yet, a different town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickAmanda2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed a week at the Parthenis beach in early May and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the top floor suite. It was huge and very nicely finishished. The views were spectacular. The kitchenette gives you the option to cook your own meals are you can try some of the great places to eat that Malia has to offer. It is located right on the beach just a 10 min walk to the main strip. There are lots of car/atv rental companies just up the road.This is the perfect hotel for a couple or family that wants to relax and do things at their own pace. The owners are very friendly and also run the Drossia restaurant just down the road where they have some of the best local dining Malia has to offer. We were a little concerned about the party repuation of Malia but if you want to avoid the young crowds go before June. The town is a lot quieter and perfect for a quiet get away. The beach is clean and great for swimming. There is lots of parking and the beach chairs are free of charge. Don't expect all the amenities of a 5 star hotel but more like a do it yourself family atmoshphere (although I'm not sure what it would be like in high season).

A day trip to Agios Nikaloas is a must. Buses are only 7 euros each way and run every hour from the main road through town. The Palace of Malia is also worth seeing and is at the east end of town.

Room Tip: The Asteria Suite is worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We just got back from a trip to Crete where we stayed in the Parthenis Beach hotel. We had a fabulous vacation and the Owners/Staff really did everything in their power to make our stay the best it could be.

There are 3 hotels and a restaurant by the same owner, the Parthenis Beach as a pool/bar that is right on the Beach, so you can order drinks from the bar and watch your kids play in the sand!

10 out of 10

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful week at Parthenis Beach!

Being our first time in Malia we were a little nervous of what to expect - but I swear this is the best hotel in the town - our nerves were very soon turned to excitment!

Malia itself was quiet as the main season is in the summer - but this is just what we were looking for - it looked as though in the summer there would be swarms of party revellers - fun if that's what you're looking for but not for us this time round!

We stayed in the suite which was a fantastic room (including a kitchen, spare twin room, bathroom and sitting/dining area) with a beautiful view over the sea which we enjoyed while sitting on the spacious balcony. This room would also be perfect for a family as there is ample space for more than just a couple.

Parthenis the owner and his wife Eleanor were so welcoming and accomodating and they ran the hotel with effortless efficiency. I must also mention Marika who worked at the bar in the evenings - she never failed to have a smile on her face, even when we were still sat at the bar at 1 in the morning!

We also visited Parthenis's restaurant Drossia 3 times during our stay. Again a really well run and slick establishment, with great food and attentive staff. The food in general was fantastic (including the breakfasts and lunches at the hotel) - we have returned happy and probably a few pounds heavier than we arrived!!

Many thanks to Parthenis, Eleanor, Marika and all the staff at The Parthenis for making our holiday so perfect - we will have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family & friends and hope to return again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emily p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
1.3 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pyrgos Beach Hotel
Pyrgos Beach Hotel
#12 of 83 in Malia
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parthenis Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parthenis Beach

Address: Tagmatarchou Grammatikaki Nik., Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range: £47 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parthenis Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Parthenis Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parthenis Beach Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing