We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location for late teens- early twenties wanting a party.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dionysos Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dionysos Studios
Ranked #1 of 19 Malia B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location for late teens- early twenties wanting a party.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Myself and 5 others aged 19-20 stayed here at the beginning of September. Being the end of the season it was still busy enough. It is right on the strip with a bar attached to the hotel. Mcdonalds, Subway, Dominoes and Zumo smoothie are within 5 minute walking distance too and there are loads of supermarkets close by. We had an amazing time. The beach is within about 15-20 min walk and is paradise, with loads water sports available- try the banana boat it is so much fun! Most nights we pre-drunk in our rooms and then head out between 11 and 12 cause thats when it got busy (at this time of the year). Best clubs are Candy club and Banana club for chart music, and if you love a 80s- 90s cheesey tunes go to Reflex- loved it! We ate out at different restaurants every night, our favourite was Sticky Fingers- pretty good prices and free wifi. Dont bother buying wifi at the hotel cause the majority of bars and restaurants have it for free. The hotel has a nice pool, sometimes was a fight to get a sun lounger but we just bought Li-los from the shop across the road for like 7euro and sunbathed on them in the pool. The hotel was relatively clean, the shower is horrible- you have to hold the nozzle and is more of a wetroom- but its livable! They took our passports from us at the beginning which we thought was annoying as the rules seemed really strict about having makeup, fake tan on the sheets and broken glasses, but we never had any fines. We had a little balcony bit outside and it was quite sociable as the neighbours would be out and predrink with us too. All in all decent hotel, would go back again if I was going on this type of holiday. We bought aircon as it was too hot, and a safe too. NOT for couples or families!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    24
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
8
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is right on the main strip so made things so much easier when comming home after being out!
Rooms were clean ( charges to pillows bedsheet and towels if you made them dirty) but the room we had was not a renivated room and was very dated! shower didnt work and even when a new one was fitted for us it still didnt work. Aircon was 70 euros a week and leaked every other day flooding the room.
owner was very nice and made sure everything was ok, but other staff were rude.
Pool shut at 6 every day, (5.45 as we found out after being shouted at and called discusting names by staff)
Security at night were strict, staff watched everyting on cctv the following day and would hunt u down if thy wanted to question anything. For a 18 to 30 hotel i dont think they understood the concept.
Im not a huge drinker and just went for a good time with the girls but found it difficult to in this hotel.
We went to the beach most days to cool off because pool was shut early.
On a plus the night life was fab, booze cruize was great and had a good time at water park. Made loads of friends there as it was a smallhotel and everybody had a lot in common not liking the hotel. they keep your passports and refuse to give them u at anytime in your holiday if you need them, the give you a photocopy!
i would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try get a new room on bottom floor if possible, alot cleaner and better than old rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hotel was in the perfect location, right on the strip. Had to pay like 115 quid for the air con and safe for two weeks. The staff there were great, apart from one member of staff that we had a run in with for something pathetic. Very secure as cameras everywhere. Rooms got cleaned about 2 or 3 times a week. Very basics in the room, no cooker though which we were disappointed about. The pool area is nice although it had soo much chlorine in it dyed all our bikinis green and even hair! Other than that we had a pleasant experience here and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GsyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Went for a last minute holiday in september with one of my best friends, arrived very early in the morning and was taken straight to our room. Handed our passports in at reception as it's the norm for any hotel in Malia (they have to have some form of deposit in case of damages etc which is fair enough with the amount of loones that they have to deal with). Didn't purchase the air-con or safe as our room was at the back and was pretty cool all day and night. Lovely staff, particularly the wonderful day time and evening receptionists, bearing in mind the amount of sh** they have to put up with from various guests (malia skanks).

Rooms were clean when we arrived, was a bit cautious to make any mark in the room incase of a fine, but again the hotel are just covering their expenses. A big negative was we only got clean towels and our room cleaned once when we really needed them/it ateast every other day!

Right on the strip of Malia, but not too much noise as down the quieter end! Definately the hotel to be at after a big night out! Made some lovely friends at the welcome bbq who we spent pretty much all our holiday with! Lovely pool area. Only a five minute walk from the supermarket, beach and lots of bars, restraunts and clubs.

Perfect hotel for a clubbing holiday, was pleasently suprised and thoroughly enjoyed our week in Malia!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just didn't like it here. Had to wait 45 minutes outside when we arrived to get into our room - torture as we hadn't slept in two days and just wanted a shower :( then when we got in we found we hadn't been given a hob, when we asked the receptionist she said we'd be given a microwave... so we went out for microwavable food for our dinners, and when got back there was a hob waiting for us, great.

Very stingy - have to pay for air conditioning, wifi, and to keep your bags there after check out. been to cheaper places where all this is complementary.

Weird rules - reception keeping your passport for your stay is disconcerting, they seem to assume you're going to damage something with the nice long damage price list placed nicely on the door with ridiculous things such as €200 for small damage on door etc, any marks on wall which caused us to scrub at marks on the wall we hadn't created just in case we were blamed and would never see our passport again.... Can't bring water to the poolside...have to buy it from their bar when you arrive.

Annoying things; have to have the key in the door to turn the lights on... not being given washing up liquid or even a scrubbing brush... hot tap has cold water, cold tap has hot...

The only thing that makes it non-terrible is the location - perfect for embracing Malia, when on a night out can literally pop back for a snack/touch up on make-up/use the loo and then be right on the strip again. The cafe opposite was really nice and helpful so I'd recommend having lunch etc there - and FREE WIFI what a treat. In the centre of the strip so about 7 minutes from the supermarket on one end, and 7 minutes from the beach on the other end.
Obviously don't come here if you can't handle the noise, because it is loud... 24 hours a day.

Meh it was fairly cheap, but if they loosened up on the rules and regulations then we would have felt more comfortable and enjoyed it more.

Room Tip: Ground floor is convenient for stumbling into after a night out, but people can very easily see into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel was in a brilliant location, right on the strip! The hotel was good and the staff there were really nice. Perfect hotel to go to on holiday with your mates.

Room Tip: If you get rooms 34, 35 or 36 then you have private access to the roof of the hotel to pre drink on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The moment me and my 3 friends (all guys) walked into the hotel, the person at reception was so nice and helpful. He showed us to our rooms (which got cleaned every couple of days) and said that if there were any problems go down to the 24h reception and they would be happy to help. All the staff (reception and bar) were great and very friendly. I've been on 3 clubbing holidays and this is, by an absolute mile, the best hotel i've stayed in. Also it is a great location, right on the strip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.2 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.3 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#12 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Studios

Property: Dionysos Studios
Address: 74 Dimokratias, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dionysos Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dionysos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Studios Hotel Malia
Dionysos Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing