We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day out...one not to be missed”
Review of Safari Club Crete

Safari Club Crete
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.64*
and up
Full-Day Land Rover Safari from Rethymno with Lunch and Swimming
More Info
US$94.42*
and up
Katharo Route Tour from Agios Nikolaos
Ranked #1 of 14 Outdoor Activities in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For sure the most exciting day of your holiday in Crete. Far away from beaten tracks, you will discover the wild Crete, cross mountains, through gorges, visit stunning palm beaches, amazing landscapes and enjoy sceneries of traditional life. We can promise you a day full of fun, photos and local life with our professional drivers that are extremely knowledgeable and have a great sense of humor. Fauna, flora, wild animals, mythology, traditions. With lunch and unlimited wine included ... a day that you will for sure remember for a long time.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out...one not to be missed”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were going to hire a car but decided on this day out instead and were so glad we did as we were taken to places we would never have seen if we were driving ourselves. Sam our guide was great and very knowledgeable and the views from the plateau were magnificent, stopping at a lovely taverna for lunch we were also taken through lovely villages and saw loads of different wildlife. The trip to Zeus's cave was also great but not for the faint-hearted as it quite a climb up. You can hire a donkey for 10 euros to take you up, but before you do, spare a though for the poor beast who has to take you up!! We saw one poor animal, staggering under the weight of it's passenger being pushed up the hill by its owner!! I kid you not!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nellysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    47
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Crete vacation, excellent day trip!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a must do if you want to really experience Crete and not just hang around your hotel or at the beach.
We are a family of 2 adults and 3 girls ages: 11, 10 and 5. We went on the Lassithi tour. All communication prior to the trip was done by Email, very convenient and very prompt and professional answers to our many questions.
We were picked up right on time from our hotel by our guide\driver\comedian\psychologist Brian. We then proceeded to pick up the other members of our group, we were 9 in total (there are usually 8 but our girls being small made the extra seat possible).
Brian was incredible throughout the day, he was really knowledgeable about the Island. He had an answer to every question and educated us regarding history, botany, climate, geology, folklore and more. Brian also dealt very well with our heterogenic and quite challenging group and really made the most of a difficult situation.
The beginning of the trip is a little rough and offers quite a bumpy ride (the girls loved that). We saw beautiful views of the sea and of the mountainous inland of Crete, then we had a little paleontology lecture laced with humor and the famous banter between the drivers.
Lunch was excellent, go for the pork chop or the souflaki if you are not vegetarian or have any issues with pork. The starters are good and so is the wine included in the meal.
After lunch we headed to Zeus’ cave, stopping on the way in an Eco center that was really expandable in my view. Climbing up to the cave requires a bit of an effort, about 15 minutes going up, then 200 stairs down to the cave and up again and 15 minutes going down (make sure you come down on the new path, not the one you came up on). Frankly, I have seen much more impressive stalactite caves, but none with the folk halo of Zeus being born in it. If you are up to it, I recommend you visit the cave (entry fee is 4 Euros for adults).
In conclusion, I highly recommend this tour and will definitely take one of the other offered tours if we ever get back the Crete.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OritN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must do this!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was the best trip of our visit to Crete it has something for everyone scenery, birdlife, botany, local interest good food and drink as well as a flippin great ride!!! Brian our driver was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to answer all questions asked, he's also known as Brenda but I understand that was only on thursday nights !!
This trip is a must, you cover such a lot including the stunning zeus cave, if you only plan to do one excursion then it has to be this one!!

Helpful?
Thank pilot1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you only take one trip when visiting Rethymnon do this one! It was a full day from 9am - 5pm, travelling in one of 3 new Land Rovers with a charming and knowledgable guide. We went up into the mountains, stopping at several villages and sights, lunch was organised at a sea side taverna, this was the high light of our trip. The office is oposite the marina entrance and they will collect you at your hotel. Be sure to take walking shoes!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bumpy ride!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a day out. Collected from our apartment by a very cheerful friendly Michael. There were eight if us in the jeep and the first thing he got us to do was introduce ourselves. This broke the ice and made a good start to what was a very enjoyable day. He had vast knowledge of the area and answered any question in detail. We met up with other jeep at various places to take pictures of the beautiful scenery. Goat mountain was great serving goats climbing trees was quite amusing. We stopped for a lovely Cretan lunch and all the drivers were telling stories and singing. So well organised. Another stop was to a pottery shop were you could see how the pots were made and buy presents and souvenirs. Well worth doing if you don't mind the very bumpy ride and do not suffer from a bad back. !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Club Crete also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Safari Club Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing