We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly sized hotel, with comfy rooms and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good friendly sized hotel, with comfy rooms and facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've just returned from a week there with my family (wife + three children). We were welcomed at the transfer coach by a bellboy who took us through to Reception. The initial check-in process was a little off-putting, with a grumpy male receptionist, but we were shown to our room by the friendly bellboy. The family room we had (two bedrooms, one bathroom) was on the first floor of a three floor block -- very clean, tidy and well decorated. Each of the rooms had their own AC, individually controlled via remote controls. My kids are 17, 15 and 11, and with the five of us in there, the room didn't seem at all cramped.

The hotel has two pools - a main pool, with a bar, and a second shallower pool for young children. Both seem a little on the small size on first impressions, but neither pool ever seemed crowded. My only complaint really in this area was that at the main pool their were insufficient sunbeds for demand -- resulting in the usual 6am trek to reserve a sunbed with your towel fiasco. That said, there were always spare beds at the children's pool.

We stayed all inclusive -- the food was amazing. We never had to queue for any meal, there were always inside or outside tables available to dine at, the food selections were varied and the food itself was very high quality; the exception perhaps being breakfast was a little boring and never had real sausages, just awful frankfurters.

The dining staff were generally friendly, although there is one waiter who was heavily pushing the Tuesday evening BBQ (extra on top of the all incl. price), and after we refused he seemed off with us for the rest of the stay.

The selection of drinks (alcoholic or otherwise) 'free' in the all inclusive deal was good, and the service at the pool side bar was always top notch and friendly.

So, what wasn't great? The hotel seemed to cater mainly for Germans, followed by a few Brits and the a couple of French, so if you want to go somewhere that is predominately British, this isn't the place to go. (We quite liked being amongst the other cultures, and not an issue for us at all). Most of the staff had poor English skills, but enough to get by -- all guests tended to speak in broken English, which probably didn't help. The maitre d' however did seem to be fluent in German but very weak at English which meant he had a better rapport with the German guests. The only other thing that let the hotel down was the WiFi -- very limited coverage (the lobby and the pool bar areas only), and probably only worked 50% of the time.

The hotel itself is about 5 mins walk from a beach, literally out of the hotel, across the road and along a little path. We weren't very impressed by the beaches along that stretch - I don't know if that's the same as the rest of Crete, but little sand, and quite rocky - which made wading out to swim a little painful.

I was concerned that the hotel was perhaps too close to the hedonism of Malia, but that wasn't the case. The hotel catered - certainly when we stayed - for 90% families with various aged children, and at night we didn't hear or see any disturbances from Malia (Malia being about a 15-20 minute walk away).

Overall, we were impressed - we'd happily go back next year. Once last thing to mention, in case the hotel management is reading this --- the maid we had in our room last week was fantastic... very friendly when we bumped into her, and seemed to take great pride in her work (room 7205).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbnm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review about our hotel! It is really very nice of you and it must have costed you a lot of time. If you really decide to come to the Kyknos again in the future, please do let me know in advance! My email address is vasilis@kyknoshotel.gr It would be TRULY nice to see you here again! Till then, we wish you all the best of health, wealth and happiness!!!
your smartline Kyknos Beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    65
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
62
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Kyknos Beach has no beach! There is a beach, some 250 meters away, reached through a lovely path flanked by oleanders, but this beach belongs to a nearby hotel, the Alexander Beach Hotel. You will pay 2 euros for a sun bed and 2 euros for an umbrella, and receive a receipt on Alexander Beach Hotel letterhead. You must take towels from your room to the beach or the pool.
The fridge in the room is empty. You have to buy your own bottle of water at the nearby supermarket if you wish to have a drink of water during the night. Bottled water is not available at the hotel, not even at the bar. Stingy, for an all inclusive. I can understand that the all-inclusive does not extend to imported liquors. But why a café frappé (crushed ice, coffee, milk and sugar) costs you 3,50 euros?
The wi-fi in the lobby is VERY erratic; no wi-fi in the rooms.
The Kyknos does not have the large buffets you expect in a four star, but what they have is always good. After all, who needs six or seven types of cheeses or a dozen or more types of patisseries? The wine (white, red and rosé) you draw yourself is perfectly adequate.
The staff is friendly and helpful and most speack very suficient english.
The air conditioning is automatically switched off when you leave the room. So, if you go on an excursion and stay away the whole day, you are likely to come back to a very hot room, especially if the room faces west. You cannot stay on the balcony with a drink - remember, the fridge is empty - while you wait for the room to cool because the airco does not work when the balcony doors are not completely shut; and you can shut them only from the inside of the room!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unitalianoabruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Hello!
Yes the Kyknos beach is not situated directly at the beach. And that is exactly the description in every brochure you will find. But I am sure you as an experienced traveller that you are, you knew it, didn't you? The cafe frappe is not included in our all inclusive package. It is available at the bar (in almost all other all inclusive hotels it is not available even if you pay extra, because in almost all other all inclusive hotels the bar staff doesn't get invloved at all with cash) and it costs 2.5 Euros. Not 3.5 as you mention. Maybe you meant our special coffee with ice cream, or some other coffee we offer at extra charge at the pool bar, which costs extra, such us kalypso, or amaretto coffee. Otherwise in our all inclusive package there is : filter coffee, espresso, capuccino and tea. Many kinds of tea. One more thing I'd like to point out here is that the size of the buffet is not particularly relevant to the number of the stars this hotel has, this is rather irelevant, but to the number of the rooms the hotel has. So large buffets, you find in big hotels. I could name you a few really small 5 star hotels, that don't even have buffet service at all.
Best regards
your smartline Kyknos Beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecht, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Variety and quality of food and drinks is really very good, also at lunch time. The restaurant area is nice to sit in, inside as well as outside. Outside there are quiet a lot of smokers. The tables are cleaned rapidly by the very friendly personnel (The other personnel is also friendly). Once a week there is possibility for a bbq for which you have te pay a supplement of 15,- euro/adult, in spite of the all inclusive regime. Staff is rather insisting on joining the bbq. This is the only negative point regarding the all inclusive, and perhaps the fact that you can't take a lunch from the hotel with you when you go on a day trip.The bbq is of good quality, as well as the evening entertainment on the evening of the bbq and on 2 other evenings every week. There is possibility to swim late in the evening. The swimming pools are gorgeous, but it's a pity that a lot of people put their towel on a seat to keep it occupied for hours before they come back. The hotel has no towel service. The entire hotel area, including rooms and bedding, is very clean. The internet picture of the bathroom of the family room does not correspond to the bathroom we had, although it was ok, in spite of a worn out shower suspension and a rather primitive hairdryer. Most balconies of the upper level rooms are small, but there were some rooms with larger balconies. The window of the smallest bedroom of the family room faces an outside corridor where people pass by. Wifi is not available in the building of the family rooms and often not avaliable in the main building, although there seemed to be people skiping while we were having difficulties with Wifi ... Let it be clear: despite the minor points, hotel Kyknos Beach gets a very good rating from us!

Room Tip: When you take a family room (2 bedrooms), be aware of the fact that you are not situated in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dearest Linda!
Thank you very much for your very kind detailed review! We would be very happy to welcome you again to our hotel sometime in the future!!!
Best regards
Your smartline Kyknos Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebeltoft, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A fantastic hotel with a professional staff, helpfull and smiling all the time. The hotel, the rooms and the areas around was very clean. The only thing we were missing, were more umbrellas at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilis T, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello dear!!!! Thank you very much for your fantastic review! It was a pleasure meeting you and looking forward to next time already!!!
Best regards
The smartline Kyknos Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A fantastic hotel whit professional staff, I all ways kind and there are there for all the guests. The hotel director sow haw to manage people, he all ways be there and whit a smile. We must say, we don’t ever have seen like this before.
We have called our traveling company (Spies tjæreborg) to tell them about you and we will all ways talk positive and courage another people to take a holiday on smartline kyknons beach hotel.
Thanks for a wonderful week

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello guys!
Thank you very much for your very kind words! We are looking forward to seeing you again very very soon!!! All the best!
the smartline Kyknos Beach management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beddau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fair dos this hotel was by far the best all inclusive hotel I have stayed at.The room was perfect and cleaned everyday. All the staff were fun and friendly, specially when we first arrived after a long day traveling me and my mates were starving, without even asking the lady on the reception let us have food before we checked in, defiantly went that extra mile. Everyone is so relaxed through the days you can just get on with want you want. Really enjoyed myself and I will come back because they made me holiday great =]

Room Tip: get the family room there huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun_Cayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilis T, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Shaun!
Thanks for your extremely polite review! Hope to see you again some time soon!!
Best regards
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We all had a lovely weeks stay at this hotel, the food was quite good but all our group thought it did favour the German guests. The beds were very comfortable a very good nights sleep. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool area was excellent very clean and tidy. The only downside for me the bar staff seemed a little abrupt (perhaps we did not tip them enough), the choice of some of the music played around the bar area was very loud we seemed to have talk very loudly to have a conversation. The hotel is close to shops, bars, restaurant and close to the beach. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we will go back again in the future. A fantastic holiday. All rooms are fully air condition. 14 euros for a safe a little steep, better to have one.

Room Tip: our room was only 100mts from the bar area but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mr. Shaun!
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are looking forward to welcoming again to our hotel in the future!
With kind regards
Your smartline Kyknos Beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
1.0 mi away
Ruby Solimar Hotels
Ruby Solimar Hotels
#25 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ariadne Beach Hotel
Ariadne Beach Hotel
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
73.8 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel

Property: smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#12 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was designed and built by the owner/architect Georgios Tsamandouras in 1990. Now, 25 years later, his whole family is runing the business and it has adopted all needs of the modern traveller. In about 15,000 square meters of rich plantation, you will find our 135 rooms, the main building with the front derk, lobby, main bar and restaurant, 2 pools, children playground, children club, gym, free parking space and 2 tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyknos Beach Hotel And Bungalows
Kyknos Beach Resort
Smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing