We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel & amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #51 of 90 Hotels in Malia
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel & amazing staff!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fun from start to finish! Very clean rooms and fantastic food and service - what more could you ask for? 10 of us stayed here for a much needed break and had an amazing time - we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    22
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Absolutely great place to stay. This was our second time back and it was as great as the last time.

The staff are so accommodating and friendly. Rooms always clean.

We had a fab time and we will be back.

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBB2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have been to this hotel many times it is amazing the staff are great, the food is good very nice choice. And the rooms are spotless I would recommend this hotel to family's as I have a 6 year old daughter and she just loves the top pool as it has water slides. There is another pool better for swimming. It also has water sports for all so if you have young kids pedalo would be good but they do have jet skis , para sailing banana boats doughnuts and others at the beach bar you can look over the beach and see all the sports happening. And there is also the beach where it's great for relaxing and the hotel is far enough away from Malia bar street you can't hear the night life but close enough if you do want to party. Hope if your thinking of going to Crete this is top of your list.

Room Tip: They are all clean and have air con so good all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollyjohn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

my overall impression which is that this hotel is quite satisfactory. especially taking into account the fair price which you pay. in this connection there is no need to invent high expectations towards accommodation, other facilities and food which are at ones disposal there.
among the most obvious disadvantages which were discovered:
first - very poor breakfast which consisted of same meals daily. In contrast to dinner with a variety delicious food
second (it is definitely of minor importance comparing to the first disadvantage but still is worth mentioning) - the taller of the brother owners was always cloudy, even dreary at times. nevertheless, you can live with this.
as far as the advantages are concerned, they (in my humble opinion) outweigh disadvantages:
- location of the hotel is outstanding: not far from downtown with all shops, clubs etc; still it is very serene at night there notwithstanding the previous fact
- lovely sandy beach
- basic facilities for kids (one of the swimming pools specially is adapted for the youngest. as well as the combination of the pool with 3 water tubes)
- amiable personnel (cleaners, waiters, bartenders)

Room Tip: The first block which is closer to the road has rooms on ground and first floor with a splendid view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarasevych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

i arrived at the hotel on sept in the middle of the day , and the room was still not ready.
i had to wait 3 hours!
Finally when i was allowed to go in to my room i was completly shocked when i arrived. I was travelling on my own as a woman and they gave me a rom downstairs with the broken balcony door...! The bed was dirty and full of brown spots ( dont know what that was)!!? i kindly asked one of the owner (Two brothers) if it is possible to get another room. He shouted at me and said he will repair the door , but is not willed to offer me a room with clean bedclothes! i didnt know what to say , cause i was on my own and a bit scared.. he was so aggresive and uncooperative ! lunch was crazy ! they had old food and no fresh vegetables or fruits!
later that day i decided to take a break at the beach. when i arrived there (still standing , and havent used their chairs yet) one of the owner wanted 10 euro!!!! I asked why ? And he said "for the chair".. around me where such eautiful hotels and no one took money from their guests except my hotel.! So i gave him 10 euro because i was tired and exhausted!

one day i had a friend of mine as a guest in my room , we waned to get ready together fo a night out in malia ... When we left my room reday to party , the owner jumped towards me and shouted at me ,"why did i have strange people in my room" i answered she is not strange , she is my guest! It was soooo embarassing !!!! he ran after me and came close to my face that i was near to the tears, i was so scared.!!!!
everything i wrote was the whole truth. I swear by god ! no lie !!!! Please people im warning u ! There are beautiful hotels in malia .. and aeolos was horriable!!! Stay away guys! I wish u a wonderful journey!! bye bye

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nabila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malia hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed here in mid July 2012.

Read a few of the reviews prior to going and was a little aphrehensive. I needn't have been.

Location wise the hotel is ideally placed from all the main bars of Malia, with them being no more than a 5 minute walk away. Lots of other small bars to drink and eat around the hotel too. There wasnt any problem with noise either because the hotel is just far enough away to avoid this whilst not being too far to walk to the main strip.

The hotel is located literally on the beach with lovely views across the coast. There are plenty of sunbeds on the beach, although these are available at a small charge. Also on the beach is a bar which serves actually quite nice food, drinks, milkshakes and cocktails.

The hotel has two pools - one of which has slides. Its referred to as a 'waterpark' but it really isnt. That being said, if you've got small kids with you they'll absolutely love it. The other pool is bigger and deeper. Both pools have more than enough free sunbeds around the poolside.

The rooms were absolutely fine- nothing special but everything you need. Shower cubicle, small fridge for drinks and a nice balcony to sit out. Only issue really is that whilst the rooms have air con it is chargeable at a rather extortionate rate. In 30 degree heat this may present an issue. We didnt mind too much as didnt spend a great deal of time in the room.

We stayed half board which meant we got to sample the food the hotel provides. This is where it lets itself down a bit. Breakfast was poor - cereal, a toast machine, awful rock solid bread and cheese & ham slices. Basic, limited and dull. Evening meal fared better - random choices of dishes with no real pattern to them. That being said, it wasnt TOO bad and you certainly wont starve while you're there.

I read on alot of the reviews that the staff and the management were rude or grumpy. Couldnt disagree with this more - the waitress on the bar at the beach was fantastic. The two brothers who run the hotel were constantly wandering around asking guests if everything was okay and were happy to help.

Overall, a nice little hotel in a fantastic location let down only by the average food being served. If the food was improved id change my rating to 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMooMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Location is class, located on the beach, 2 mins from the strip, and 2 mins from shops.
The actual rooms are great, spacious, good bathroom, clean (though they dont get cleaned very regularly, 3 times in 10 days we had) and the balcony offers a break from a hot room. Way overcharged for air con (which was rubbish anyway) and the safe.

Numerous pools which are all good to jam in all day. The slides arent like they are advertised, all the good ones have been removed. There is a massive penguin you can go under which is well better than most other things the hotel offers. You also have to check out Chicko Micko, he's a legend...life and soul of the party. You're not allowed your own water at the pool, which is a joke (with the hand), they'd probably try to charge you even if you were passed out with dehydration.

There are lots of football lookalikes knocking about at the hotel, including ribery, voronin and arshavin, which always added a bit of a laugh to our experience. If you like russian girls this is the place to be...bare of them.

The manager ethan is initially quite cool when you get there, but after a few days he'll stop talking to you....he also has a little twin brother who we never got to know unfortunately.
The bar staff also start quite friendly, giving you free peanuts, garlic bread and shots, but they stop by day 3.

A guy called Nikos will walk around the hotel all day, offering a variety of water sports (dont bother, waste of money and they are crap). Anyways, he will come round checking if you are from the hotel, EVERY day, which gets very annoying after a while. You must also watch out whilst you sunbathe, I once woke up and there was this big, tanned, hairy belly right in my face...it was his, not the best experience in my 23 years of living. He will probably try to sell you that experience. He also has funny feet. And he tried to charge me to lay on the beach, even though I was from the hotel.

FOOD - DONT GET HALF BOARD....its PEAK, like eating cat food or actual cat...seriously. They cant even cook chips properly, which is something my 5 year old sister could do better!!! We ended up paying for food at the sportz bar across the road (which I recommend for the food, service and darts). Breakfast is just toast and cold boiled eggs. They also hide the butter from you (dont ask why) and when you do go in the fridge to get it they go crrrrazzzzyyyy. The chef is mental. The bar staff are like robots and come up to you and say (with strong greek accent) 'Something to Drink' and after a while it gets difficult to not laugh without being rude.
The ice cream (when its available) is quite good.....though lots of brain freeze occurring!

They sell 'Big Beers', which arent big, they are average (500ml), less than a pint.
The music at the bar is a high point, a bit of house, dance and chart.
Loads of babes at the pool all the time obviously, always getting their boobs and arses out!

I wouldnt recommend the place for a family, I mean why on earth would you take your kids to malia, just plain stupid in my eyes, as its obviously just full of boozy brits who want to get laid.

Thats it, hope this was informative and you had fun reading it.
Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Baldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.1 mi away
Windmill Apartments
Windmill Apartments
#56 of 90 in Malia
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
#37 of 90 in Malia
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Socrates Hotel
Socrates Hotel
#25 of 90 in Malia
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariadne Beach Hotel
Ariadne Beach Hotel
#16 of 90 in Malia
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Nik. Grammatikaki St., Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Aeolos Beach Resort Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing