We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really hot rooms”
Review of Malia Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malia Holidays
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really hot rooms”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Avoid if you have children. It's ok for 18-30 age group but needs a re vamp. The hotel is located at the opposite end to the beach, I would reccomend hiring a quad to get you there as its a good 12 min walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel is brilliant. Its perfect for people trying to get away for a lads holiday! You have to pay extra for air con/fans/fridge/safety box but to be honest you can expect that anywhere stay in Malia. The only thing you need is air-conditioning which is €50 per room. The prices for damages are expensive but at the end of the day if you damage something its your own fault! This hotel is quality and definitely worth staying in. its €40 to bring someone back to your room but you can avoid this and any next day awkwardness by using sun loungers down at the beach like everybody else!

Don't buy the rep package offered by Thomas Cook. They offer free entry to all the clubs, which already enjoy free entry so its just a massive rip off! Thats no reflection on the hotel though!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room or one away from the road to avoid loud noises from the quad bikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tevans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just come back from a trip to Malia with my best friend - it wasn't quite the hardcore party week most people went for, but it was a bloody good holiday!
When we pulled up to Malia Holidays our mouths dropped - we didn't realise we were right at the top of the strip and were disappointed - HOWEVER, do not let this put you off! During the day it's only as noisy as the pool is busy (which it wasn't, when we were there) and at night it can be noisy, but I'm sure most of you will cope or will be partying hard anyway!
The hotel is very traditional in decor - greek tiling and dark wood everywhere. It may not be to your taste but it's certainly very clean. Our beds were reasonably comfortable and there was plenty of storage - I'd advise asking for a balcony room as the terrace rooms are a tad too easily accessible from the pool!
The bar of the hotel (run by Eve) has all the cheap and cheerful day time snacks you need, with drinks a plenty! The pool is also very clean with plenty of sunbeds, although I'm sure it could get busier in peak season!!
The only complaint really is the breakfast - we didn't eat it most days due to oversleeping, and when we did it was very very basic and not all that appetising - go without and buy cereal in from the spar instead (literally opposite the hotel).
While you're there be sure to speak to your rep about escaping malia for a day - not just on the booze cruises and pub crawls, but to the local waterpark or maybe further-a-field - they have plenty to offer, but the reps at the hotel aren't that forthcoming with mentioning any of them!
All in all, Malia Holidays hotel is cheap and cheerful, but very much worth the price. Stay on the right side of Maria (the main lady!) and co and you'll have a great time, whether you're engrossed in a book by the pool, or necking as many shots as humanly possible!!!

Room Tip: Balcony!!! All will be noisy to a certain degree, but you won't have wanderers if you're off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betseybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

From reading the reviewa AFTER booking the hotel me and my firend were very sceptical... but we really couldnt have wished for a better pace to stay, we were weary about it being 2 star as well but the maids came every day!!! It was a wonderful place, family run and they are so friendly. Couldnt do enough for you. Yeah some people were realy told off and threated to be kicked out but wouldnt you if someone threatened your grandma in a drunken state!!! the family are lovely and me and my friend ar going bakck again this year, only under the condition we can get that hotel again!!! Location was excellent and the pool was fab. Staff really couldnt do enough to help!!!!! Uw ar MAILIA!!!!!!!! xx

Room Tip: Have a pool view, was lovely, could see right down the strip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 1 week in august 2010. LOVED IT!!
Location is brilliant, right opposite a spar shop for easy access to nibbles, drinks etc. Located at the top of the strip which is great as you start off the night with food from food places close by then have a few drinks in pubs then onto the clubs at the bottom of the strip! Max 15 min walk to the bottom of the strip to the beach! Great!
Pool is great! Good size, always has the sun shining and pool bar offers good snacks, toasties, pizzas, burgers etc. drinks not badly priced either. Pool bar staff very friendly and helpful, full use of pool toilets and showers which was handy, especially on last day when you have a late flight back but don't have access to your room.
Room was basic and small but just what you'd expect in Greece. Room was clean and tidy, and cleaners cleaned room every day. Air con was extra charge but well worth the money. Terrace was small but enough room for two people, and you can't hear the hussle and bussle of the strip on the terrace or in your room which is great for a good nights sleep. Decorated basic styles but deffinately nothing wrong it.
We stayed B&B basis, breakfast was ok but only had this a few mornings as we preferred to get a full English for a few euro at local pubs/bars rather than have the continental offered by the complex.
I would deffinately recommend Malia holidays to people and would certainly go back and stay here again! Everything's on your doorstep but the noise won't keep you awake all night and the place is safe, clean and tidy and has 24hour security! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinman890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were initially worried about this hotel, based on previous reviews, but upon arrival we have no idea what they were on about! the hotel was class, REALLY nice pool, like one of the best in Malia, right on the strip, pool bar, opposite a huge supermarket and loads of restaurants. It is full of young groups so ace if that's what you're going for. The clubbing is insane in Malia, I would definentely go back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Review from a group of 20/21year old male gone to Malia for a 2week party holiday. the holiday was amazing and the hotel was good.

FIRST VIEW-when you first arrive the hotel actualy looks alot better than i expected it to and when you get inside it has a very old fashioned feel to it. the recptionist is friendly enough but will take your passport for the duration of the holiday (for damages, its like there power because they have them and u dont get them back till you are heading home).

ROOM- Small, clean and basic. beds ok comfort, toliet ok, shower cold at peak washing time approx 11pm-1am. when i did have a shower at 11am it was perfctly hot. no shower curtain so the bathroom does get soaked, be careful not to slip. AIR CON IS GREAT a must, got great sleeps because of it,infact my room mate was cold sometimes haha .having to buy a fridge is shocking but needed.

HOTEL/POOL- receptionist are nice usualy, if u are nice to them. so i just decided to be constantly freindly and stay in their good books. Safety deposit is at recption, i personly think its good like this and someone is always at recption so felt safe to use it (more charges tho). Pool is great, seems clean and 3m deep at deep end. Pool bar, family owned and people are lovley and friendly, just wat you need after a heavy hangover. i manily bought water (1euro), friend eat at the pool bar, extremely basic, i wouldnt eat there. Security at night- can be a bit scary but again i was nice and made 'friends'with them. yes.... 40euro to bring someone home ....MORE charges haha. security make sure ur quiet and sometimes follow you 2 room. they often had 2 let me in because my roommate was asleep and they were good about it. Cleaners- come in everyday for ur bins and i think every 3 days for towels, only had my bed changed and room cleaned once on a 2week holiday ... i was ok with this.

All in all, its a good hotel .. . just do not break anything or even hint at getting anything on ur sheets etc .. .its money money money money for them .. i would say thts the only bad thing


MALIA- EATING- personaly my fave was the UNION JACK or further down the strip .. THE BULL.. food v v good in both these places. HEAVEN is ok, good for fry up. Much further down the strip is a smoothie bar, think is a normal franchies u can get here but honestly made me feel so much better at times!!! get them!! mcdonalds,subway .. always there wen u need them..... pizza slice on the way home seemed like i couldnt say no.

MALIA- going out- DRINK BEFORE U GO OUT.... its all so good tho!! ZIG ZAG the best club
BARS- get ur deal get ur deals get ur deals!!! and ur holiday wont be that expensive (loft,wkd,brits)

GOOD [--] luck with the PR .. if you go u will know wat i mean

this holiday was the best holiday i have EVER been on, you will love it!! and malia holidays was part of the stories and fun


ENJOY

happy scottish boy!!!

Room Tip: get aircon!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.1 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#29 of 90 in Malia
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Vergina Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.4 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#43 of 90 in Malia
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malia Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malia Holidays

Property: Malia Holidays
Address: 4 Zachariadi Mattheou | Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Malia Holidays 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Malia Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malia Holidays Hotel Malia
Malia Holidays Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing