We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal For Groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malia Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malia Holidays
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal For Groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

As everyone has said, the location is spot on. Next door to Loft, and nice bar on the other side Kaza. Malia is full of groups of lads at the moment so if you are a group of girls then its going to be perfect for you!!!!! Everyone else has said the same too how friendly the owners are. Just respect that this is their hotel that they have worked hard to keep the way it is. Only x2 let downs - breakfast was vile. My eggs looked like they had been there that long they were about to hatch! So grab a later breakfast down the strip for 2.90!!!!!! Only other let down was the bar area. Its just there for show!!!!! Pool bar is sometimes open later for pre drinks but not everyday!!!!! Make sure you get on the paint party with the reps! Amazing night!!!!!!!!! Drinks prices down the strip are 5euro for x2 in most bars, 6euro for x2 vodka redbull.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lodge83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

spent there 7 nights in the middle of july. the family who runs the hotel is very nice, helped us with everything we needed and more.
great location- at the top of the strip and right where all the texies stand, so its good if u want to go to hersonissus, which is only a 5 min drive. we had a lovley experience there and hooked up with some girls from wales. overall if you're over the age of 23, i wouldnt recommend going out in malia ( everybody is 18-19). i would recommend hersonissus and espcialy star beach.

Room Tip: if you gonna book two rooms ask for the corner rooms, they got 1 joined balcony but a big one...and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hai_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great place, extremely clean. It's a family run business, but as long as you're polite they are very understanding and helpful. Did have to pay 50 for the air con, but the pool is great and they allow visitors for 5 per person. Didn't have the food, but there are plenty of places to grab breakfast on the strip.
It's Ideally located, right at the top of the strip, so you have great views and the noise is not to loud in the morning.
All in all, definitely booking here again when I come back next year.

Room Tip: Any rooms on the 1st floor have a good view of the pool and strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinha532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Excellent location right at the top of the strip.

Nice room - dated but very clean. good pool, nice view of the pool from our room

If you show them respect the family and security guard are really nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeFCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and this hotel made our stay very pleasurable. Located right on top of the Malia strip it is in the perfect location with two great bars either side and the best pool in Malia! The security guard was a grump but you don't need to talk to him! The breakfast was poor so if you are staying here budget for a breakfast elsewhere every morning. The rooms are better than basic, if you leave the balcony doors closed all day your room will be cool in the evening! When booking your Malia holiday request this hotel!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

First time staying at Malia holidays! All I can say us wow!! The family who run hotel are amazing Manos, Eva, Maria and the grandparents are all very nice people! They will do anything for you. All this about the security guard is not true! He has a brilliant sense of humour and he doesn't walk around with a torch and barge into people's rooms! We were there 2 weeks and we didn't hire a safe and all of our belongings were very safe! If your looking for a place to chill and have fun then Malia holidays is for you. We had the whole swimming pool to ourselves and we were left to do what we wanted! So booking to go back next year! Malia holidays rule see you all next year! Love ya xxx Katie x and hazel x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katiekikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Where do I start? I'll try to give as much info as possible. Malia is obviously a place for 'specific people' i.e I would not encourage families to go there so bear that in mind.

Malia in general- lively, lots of typical bars and clubs, nice sandy beach-rocky sea in places. Explore the beach as there are quieter places with free sunbeds

Hotel-Great size pool, bar serving food and drinks, can be noisy with quad bikes, would expect it to be livelier during peak season but for us they played a bit of music. Mostly decent people staying but me and my friend were a bit disgusted by some of the conversations we heard by the pool so prepare yourself for everything. For most people its an opportunity to get as drunk as possible and sleep with as many people as possible. This hotel is a bit more classy in that a security guard stands outside to make sure intruders don't enter and if they want to 'kip' for the night then they have to pay 40 Euro. Breakfast was never worth going to and was never up in time anyway but there are so many places offering full english for 3 Euro.

Rooms- Are quite small and offer no self catering facilities unless you play extra, we managed without air con, hard beds(doesn't bother me) Very tight bathroom with a shower going on without a curtain so your bathroom gets wet but you soon get used to it (dries out quickly) We had a room facing the strip which was great for people watching and glad we got this as opposed to the pool. If you wanted to sleep during the day in the room its really noisy from the quad bikes but we got used to it. Other then that we were passing out tipsy at about 6am from a night out so it never bothered us.

Nightlife- amazing. There are soooo many to choose from its hard to resist the offers. We stayed loyal and went to a select few and found that this way we got more and more each time we went. We're girls so we defiantly got more then the lads. Everywhere offers a deal for 5 euro basically. We were getting 3 trebles and 3 shots easily for that. If you want to do it cheap then you really can! We didnt spend more then 15 euros on a night out which is hard to believe but we just pre drank, went out about 1am and was sloshed every single time-for men its a bit harder! We spoke to people that were spending 100 euro a night! Clubs close about 5am

I don't know what more I can add, theres something there for everyone. Good bus links, loads of shops, variety of excursions to choose from. So many amazing people to meet-we pretty much fell in love with everyone. The family that run the hotel are lovely. We got pally with one of the staff members who made us a brew with her own tea when we were gaggin! Theyve also got internet access for a small price. We felt like we packed so much in yet there was still looooads more to do. Would defiantly return again and would chose this hotel again at the right price. If you're like me and want to have fun but don't want to go too mad then Sept is the best time I should imagine. Hope this helps

Oh-the place was also immaculate! Was very impressed with the up keep and location was amazing. Just at the top of the strip which meant that you got to experience it top to bottom and was only about a 10 min walk to beach

Room Tip: Strip view if you like to watch the world go by but only if you're a good sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank y0ung0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.1 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vergas
Hotel Vergas
#36 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.5 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.2 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malia Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malia Holidays

Property: Malia Holidays
Address: 4 Zachariadi Mattheou | Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Malia Holidays 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Malia Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malia Holidays Hotel Malia
Malia Holidays Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing