We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd Come Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We'd Come Back”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Friendly & polite staff, spotlessly clean and top notch food. Our room was very nice but with a poor view but as we hadn't paid for a view we can't really moan about that.
Our only slight criticism is the bed. Very hard and we both woke each day with back pain. Mattress toppers would solve this.
All in all a very nice hotel and a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horrell624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    149
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
156
181
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from 7days at the Alexander Beach Hotel. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The swimming pools were lovely and there was plenty of areas to sit and catch the sun, or shade! We went half-board and the food was very good, both for breakfasts and dinner. It is well worth paying extra for the wonderful lobster dinner on Friday night (you get 10euros per person off the cost of the meal if staying half-board). Also, a visit next door to the Metelmi Taverna is worth the experience with the lovely Sofia an excellent hostess. (the same 10euro discount applies). All the staff at the Alexander Beach were friendly and helpful. Sea a little rough so not good for inexperienced swimmers. the fitness room was adequate, but should be air-conditioned. Our only criticism..please segregate the smokers in the dining room! It is not pleasant to sit on a table next to smokers and this does not happen in most of Europe and North America. Several meals were 'shortened' as a result....overall very good though. Hire a car and get up to the mountains...what views! A lovely country and lovely people.

Room Tip: We had a room (625) on top floor (second) and a partial,distant sea view. Would not have wanted a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cockerspanielbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Châtel-St-Denis
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Easy access from Heraklion airport (20 min by bus). We rented a scooter across the street from the hotel and wandered around local area...Agios Nikolaos, Elounta and the small towns in between. The beach and pool by the hotel were nice enough for spending the day, but we felt like exploring a bit farther. Within walking distance of the hotel there were plently of restaurants and bars, but you have to get out of town to see any of the real Crete.
Great hotel as a base camp for exploring Crete by car or motorbike.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chocomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and have have just returned from our second visit to the Alexander Beach Hotel and Village. Although we only got a basic room the first time we visited, we got a luxury room this time. There are 3 pools and the hotel has its own beach area. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens, and if you have a view of the sea, it's spectacular.There is never a mad rush to get sun beds as there are plenty to go around. Be aware: some of the Germans get up early to put their towels on the best located sunbeds,but it's not a problem. The food was excellent: there was always an The hotel also boasts its own gym and offers massage treatments. The food is excellent and there is a good choice of international dishes, and I won't even mention the dessert area! The rooms are cleaned daily, and guests can get free towels every day after 10am. Almost 95% of the guests were German-speaking, the others were Russians and very few Brits.I must say that they were very quiet and kept themselves to themselves. There were no large hordes of lager-drinking British louts as in other hotels, which was a great relief to us from our previous experiences of staying in Greece. The only negative point I can make is about the woman responsible for seating guests, Nicolle. She is German, and naturally, puts the Germans first. My wife had waited half an hour in a queue to get our table, and when she arrived she said, "All Germans come to the front of the queue" By the time my wife got to see her, all the best tables had been given to the Germans! I found her very rude and arrogant, but the other members of staff were friendly. I recommend this hotel to everyone. Have a good time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we booked this trip through Thomas cook, requesting two suites and a higher standard of room as booked using the style brochure. we were initially disappointed at the two standard rooms given to us with a view of a wall, rooms 95 and 96, we complained immediately and were told as it was midnight to report again in the morning. we did and were moved to larger room but still of budget quality. we then informed our Thomas cook rep, Laura who was most helpful and understood our disappointment, given that as family of 3 adults and 1 child we paid just short of £5000. we were then moved the next day to a suite room although we had booked two rooms of this quality, we were satisfied with sharing given that the hotel was full. Laura from Thomas cook is most helpful and helped us to direct our complaint directly with the booking agent which we have as we are now due some refund on the holiday. the hotel resort itself is lovely, the food lovely and we recommend the wednesday night Greek night it is fab. The staff are polite and helpful, the rooms clean every day, the pools spotless and we really enjoyed our stay. There are plenty of sun beds however some people when we were there placed towels on beds in prime spots at 8 on a morning then never returned to use them until about 3 in the afternoon. I would recommend this hotel to others the beach is also safe and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simpk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I booked this trip with Thomas Cook requesting 2 quiet rooms as both couples going were in 50-60 age group and not into all night partying.Unfortunately my wife and I were allocated room 25 possibly the worst room in the hotel.Not only is it extremely small but overlooks the dustbins in the main road and the supermarket (see photos).You are kept awake with the constant drone of quad bikes and drunken youngsters on there way home from the party capital of Crete Malia.Also early bin men do not help.My brother in laws room no 29 was in the next block quieter and a lot bigger considering I had booked both rooms.I complained next morning and were told we had limited options because we had booked standard rooms and they came in all shapes and sizes.We were then offered two other rooms which we saw but refused because we wanted and had booked a twin room and these were doubles.I offered to pay for a superior room but was told by the senior receptionist that hotel was fully booked and none were available.Laura our rep then arrived after a phone call and yes we were then offered a superior room at a supplement of 90 euros.Once in this room our holiday could now start.After paying and moving we then found out the doubles we were shown earlier could have been turned into twins(ouch). Clientelle 90% German, nice pool and terraces no problem getting a sun bed as most people with kids chose the hotels private beach.Food OK served in 2 sittings 6.15pm & 8.15pm if you choose second sitting the food is not piping hot but you have a reasonable choice and plenty of it.Good selection of water sports on the beach and various activities organised by the animation team.Lots of comfortable seating and lounge areas.Overall a nice hotel. Stalis town centre about a 10 min walk with plenty of pubs,bars & restaurants but beware there are no footpaths so you are constantly dodging quads and coaches etc.

Room Tip: Pay for a superior room or run the risk of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grahamallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkov
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed we a kid of 7 for two weeks as from 4th June2011. perfect weather and sea temperature was arou8nd 22-23 sue to shallow waters on the beach. The beach is sandy, clean, lots of place, always possible to find a nice place in the shadow on the multiple terraces. Food just perfect with a realy large variety of meat, fish and vegetarian. Very friendly and helpful staff, only proble - wifi was not working but in the cafe opposite the hotel - Mamma Mia you have a free wifi - very convenient and friendly owner. he rooms are noce, especially those on the ground floor which have terraces. The Stalis village is just meters from hotel and you can have all kinds of foods and supermarkets, car rentals etc. Airport is close but travelling time depends on how many hotels you visit on the way, bu taxie should be some 20 minutes. Would definetely recommend for the families with kids, because beach is safe and water is warm, pools are clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IgorVKharkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
4.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,859 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#13 of 90 in Malia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.5 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Beach Hotel & Village

Property: Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#6 Family Hotel in Malia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander Beach Hotel & Village 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander Beach Hotel & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Beach Hotel And Village
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Malia, Crete
Alexander Beach Resort Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing