We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ari and Dimitri are legends!”
Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibiscus Hotel
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ari and Dimitri are legends!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here as a group of lads during the last week of July. The hotel is run by two brothers Ari and Dimitri who are absolute legends. When we first arrived they were very welcoming and made us feel right at home throughout the entire holiday. The hotel bar also acts like a reception and there is always somebody available to help you out throughout the day and the evening. The food and drink they serve is well made and reasonably priced aswell. Although the rooms are a little basic, they provide everything you need, and your only really ever in them to get changed or sleep anyway. Ari and Dimitri are very helpful and can be trusted to look after any of your personal belongings behind the reception like your room key or phone etc when you go out. There is also a security guard called George who is awake throughout the night who is also very nice. There is music by the pool playing all day, and if you ask you are allowed to plug in your own iPod aswell. Theres loads of room around the pool and plenty of loungers, and there is sun around the pool throughout the entire day. The poolsize is reasonable, but I prefer it like that as it is easier to make friends with other groups staying at the hotel. If you want to get drunk easily, ask Ari or Dimitri to make you an illusion, they're amazing! The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk away from the strip, so you are close to all the nightlife, but are out of the way from all the noise/aggro when you want to sleep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a similar style of holiday. Ari and Dmitri you are the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I went on vacation with my friends in Malia while we stayed in this amazing hotel! Though the hotel is very basic, the quality of the service, staff and rooms was surprisingly good! The hotel is run by a really friendly family - the nicest two are the brothers Dimitri and Ari. They are really nice and funny and willing to help with any problem. I think the best thing about the whole staff is that they’re reliable, there is no problem leaving the room key and passports with them while you’re out partying (there’s always someone awake during the night). During the day they run the kitchen/bar and I must say their food is delicious and cheap compared to other places in Malia. The swimming pool is good sized and if you take your Iphone (or any other music device) you can connect it to their stereo. There’s a lot of sun light near the pool so you can get a nice sun tan. The location of the hotel is about 5 minutes walk (when you’re drunk as hell) from the main avenue – the perfect balance between quiet at night and party rocking!
Highly recommended – Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Me and my best friend stayed here this time last year for a week, and we could not have picked a better hotel! Family owned hotel have the best staff ever! Aris and dimitris the two brothers that work on the bar make the holiday worthwhile straight away! Very friendly, help with any problem and up for a laugh! The pool is a good size, plenty of sun loungers, music played round the pool such a good atmosphere! Food is a good price and very nice! The two little dogs are so cute, and never bother you! The rooms are basic but what do you expect on an 18-30s holiday, would deffinately get air con as it it very hot! hey are clean and the hotel is a perfect location, a few minutes from the main strip, but not right on the strip so it is easier to sleep on a night. I would reccommend hotel ibiscus to anyone! Malia best holiday of my life!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

don't listen to the bad reviews! me and my friends stayed here for 2 weeks in July and had the best time! the staff were very welcoming and friendly. although the pool was across a road from our room, I didn't find this in any way annoying. my favourite thing about staying here was the pool, it was very lively and there was always music playing. perfect size too. the food was also very good. they also have 2 little dogs that are very cute and were never aggresive or noisy! the rooms weren't the best, they were basic but everything worked fine and everything was clean. the cleaner came every day to clean the floors, but sometimes didn't change sheets. the hotel is perfect distance from the strip, just a quick 5 minute walk! I would say this hotel is perfect for young people looking for a great party holiday! would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 090694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Exelent servise ,very friendly and helpfull family run hotel .I would go back any day the brothers behind the hotel bar made my holliday.Real close to all the action but far enough away so its quiet enough to sleep.I would say get the air conditioning as it gets very hot lol.everything close by.also had great cheep food at the hotel bar and the pool was a fair size too.I would just like to say thanks guys hope to come back again1 day..leon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon cruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Rooms were small and basic, bedding and towels changed once a week. the cleaner came everyday to empty bins, on one occasion wasnt too happy with the makeup on our bed linen. There was a leak in the shower which caused the bathroom to flood so we had to use the hotel towels to soak the water up. My friend and i took the sheets and towels to be washed at the laundrette on our 3rd day which cost us twenty euro. (not bad considering we got charged 15 for one sheet at the end of our stay for a small bit of makeup on it) air con was 50euro, well worth it as it was soo hot! not allowed on balcony after 1am. 20euro to keep the room on until 6pm the last day, which was great! The Ibiscus is situated in a great location as it is literally a two minute walk from the main strip! hotel was clean and the price we paid was fair. the shower was my only big problem. Somewhere to put ur head down at night, owners were nice and the little dog simba we loved! would go back, for no longer than one week. Malia itself is amazing i miss it everyday :(

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamanthaM209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Group of friends on holiday, get there at night and had to walk down a dark alley to get to the "reception" which was the pool bar. Owners were quite friendly but had to leave our passports with them for the whole week. We then had to cross a main road to get to our room... which by the way was not what I would call a room. More like a white box with a dodgey wooden bed, bits of furniture I was too scared to sit on and it looked like it had not been cleaned for the best part of 20 years. The shower was pathetic, it just dribbled, so I had to wash myself using water bottles. They said there was a cleaner, but nobody changed the sheets or towels, she would just mop the floor.To be honest the holiday was still amazing and we were hardly ever in the room so it wasnt a big deal. But my friend was accused of damaging a pillow case. We were just about to leave when one of the owners said there is a mark on the pillow case and it looked like a henna tattoo had rubbed off someones neck. Non of my friends had got a tattoo but they still tried to charge us 15euros. In the end we didnt have to pay but the owner said whenever you go somewhere and something isnt clean or damaged, you must let us or the owners know so that we dont blame you. And we were thinking, you might be insulted if we tell you everything that wasnt clean and damaged? Also if your not a fan of dogs, there are two dogs that are really cute but bark at everyone as they walk past. I dont think we will be going back... ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelibiscus, Manager at Ibiscus Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
There has to be a clarification of a few things to avoid misunderstandings. first the "dark alley" is a path paved with stone which belongs to the hotel. its private and nobody else walks it appart from hotel staff and customers. there r also lights on at night (about every 5 yards along the path) plus its being guarded by security all night. in addition, every time there has been a problem or defect, as soon as we know about it we take care of it. if there is a problem with the shower, we have to know about it in order to fix it. and we could have fixed it within the hour as we usually do. when there is a damage, usually there is a charge. in this case, the customer was asked to pay 10 euros (not 15 euros as there is a damage list in all rooms) if she is responsible for it or ignore it if she's not responsible. the latter was chosen and accepted by us. the rooms are cleaned regularly and sheets and towels changed. however if there are customers inside the room and do not allow the cleaner to enter and work, she obviously cant do her job. finally, there are 2 small sized dogs in the hotel area that have never ever been agressive and bark very rarely because of their nature (the breed is the most friendly) and because they have grown up with many people around them.its always a dissapointment when we cant be part of an amazing holiday. however the very possitive reviews posted by the vast majority give us strength to continue and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#65 of 90 in Malia
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
#37 of 90 in Malia
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#17 of 90 in Malia
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Stelva Villas
Stelva Villas
#7 of 9 in Piskopiano
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Property: Ibiscus Hotel
Address: 53 Venizelou Eleftheriou | Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibiscus Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing