We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girls holiday”
Review of Danelis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danelis Apartments
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great girls holiday”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were a group of 11 girls who were at Danelis from the 24th-1st june/july, when we arrived we were the only girls at the hotel, however over the next week it went from being all boys to all girls, so if you're worried about ratios you have nothing to worry about. Ben and Jen were amazing at keeping us all suitably drunk and making sure we all had a good time by giving us drinks offers and encouraging us to pre drink with others at the hotel. So we ended up making friends and venturing out with other groups at the hotel. Drinks are more expensive at the hotel but the quality of them is far greater than on the strip as a lot of the drinks are watered down. Reps tend to hang out at Danelis so if you're willing to talk to them you often get better deals when on the strip.

Rooms clean enough and adequate for cooking pasta etc. And Nikos always made sure that we were safe and had our best interests at heart. The strip was a 5 minute walk so the destination was ideal. Would go back to Malia in a heart beat and definitely return to this hotel as it was all we could have asked for at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    19
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
14
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in the Danelis Apartments for 10 days with a group of 11 split between 3 rooms. The bar staff are really friendly and made us feel really welcome with a free drink on arrival. If you want air con you have to pay a little bit extra but its really worth it, same with the safe. The pool bar served an all day breakfast and other food throughout the day which was great. The pool area was always really quiet and there were always plenty of sun loungers to choose from and the pool itself was kept really clean. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the strip so its really quiet which is great.

The only problem with the hotel was that the cleaner didnt really clean the room, she emptied the bins and swept the floors but the sheets and towels werent changed once in 10 days. One of the rooms we stayed in didnt have a shower door so to prevent the room from flooding we put 2 towels on the floor. Obviously these towels were soaked through after not being changed for 10 days and when we were checking out we were asked to pay 8 euros for each towel. It put a bit of a downer on our otherwise great stay at the Danelis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 112Amy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Let me start this review by expaining that we travelled as a group aged between 25-29. So although we wanted to be near the strip so we could dip in and out, we did not want to be right in the middle of it all the time. If that is what you are looking for, then look no further!

Positives:

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived fairly late and there was still someone to help and assist us. Always happy to advise us about places to eat/drink etc. There is a security guard there from 1:30am till 8:30am and he ensures everyone is quite on the way in! Bonus if you want some sleep!

The location was perfect for us. It is near enough to all the bars and clubs that you can walk very easily, but it was just far enough away that you are not within the hustle and bustle of quad bikes, drunk teenagers and the other joys of Malia.

The rooms were very pleasant, if not a little basic. They were very clean and there is a maid every day except Sundays. Most rooms seem to have a balcony which was nice, and for an extra charge (pretty reasonable) you can get air-con and a safe.

There is a nice big pool with lots of space and deck chairs (free). The pool was nice and quiet despite staying in the middle of August. Nice bar which was open late, but again, was not too loud and obrasive.

Nagatives:

There was nothing wrong with the appartment complex worthy of note. As a group, we found Malia pretty tacky and actually were very glad about the location of the appartment as it was just far enough away from the strip, but still within walking distance.

Room Tip: Stayed in 203 which was great. Nice balcony and it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Although you have to pay for your air con and your safe key it is made up by the fact the staff are brilliant! The staff where amazing espically the security he was very respectful and most of all helpful and made us all as a four feel alot safer when we got back to the hotel! I felt as though my stay wouldnt as been as good without the staff because they really did know how to deal with everything that was thrown at them.
The only things i would commebt about are the fact you dont get towels as often as you should, the beds where fairly uncomfortable and somenof the light fixtures didnt work properly. Saying that if you are looking for a place to stay when in malia this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mclaren497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you want to go on a party holiday I would recommend Malia! I went with 5 of my friends and had 2 rooms of 3 girls. The weather is lovely and the drinks are cheap!
This hotel was in the perfect location, only 5 minutes away from the strip but far enough that you were away from the noisiness of the strip.
The rooms were clean and had all the necessities we needed, the only problem we had was that the towels were not changed all week and when we arrived we had no chopping board, knife and the camp bed had a horrible sponge like mattress. When we alerted the staff they soon fixed the problem the next morning and replaced us with a new mattress. Our shower head didn't work which meant when you were in the shower you had to hold it which was a little bit of an inconvenience but bearable. We visited some of the rooms with 4 people in them and to us they seemed a lot more spacious than the ones with 3 people in them as they had an extra room.
The security man, Jenny and Ben were lovely making us feel welcome, offering us advice and looking after us. Nikos the manager was ok however one night he got drunk and started offering my friend sexual favors which made the rest of the holiday a bit awkward! Also when it came to us leaving they made us check out by 10am when the paperwork clearly stated 12am, they wouldn't let us pay for a late check out so we had to waste 6 hours of the day with no room waiting for our airport transfer.
The pool was really clean and the food at the pool bar is lovely, it was that nice we hardly left the hotel. You aren't allowed to eat/drink food not purchased from there by the pool which is a bit annoying as it gets expensive buying bottles of water for 1 euro when you can get it from 18 cents down the road.
If you go here i would recommend trying the pizza place called pit stop down the road, they make the nicest homemade pizza EVER. If you have chance go to old town malia they have the cutest greek restaurants and its really pretty, Sticky fingers is also great and serves huge portions!
Also our transfer from the airport took 2 hours when it was only supposed to be a 20 minute drive away, therefore it may be worth paying the extra money for a taxi than a coach transfer. The hotel does take your passports of you when you arrive so don't panic and they did threaten us with extra charges if we got makeup/stains on the linen so be careful! We also saw rats in the hotels and cockroaches were a problem but we got told this is expected with the climate.
Therefore if you have the chance to go to Malia GO.... the hotel for the amount you are paying is bearable and clean compared to others although there are a few downfalls its best just to chose to ignore them and enjoy your holiday and the nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade_l1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from 2 weeks staying in Danelis, and what a place it is! Stayed here last year and loved it that much that we decided to come back again. Nikos, the owner is one of the nicest people you'll meet and he would do anything to make your stay unforgettable. Jenny and Ben, who work in the bar are amazing as well, they made us feel welcome and ensured that we had everything we needed. It's a five minute walk from the strip, far enough away so you can sleep well but is an easy walk, especially when drunk! Would recommend Danelis to everyone, you won't regret it and like us when you leave it feels like you're leaving behind a family! Perfect hotel for a group of friends looking to party, Nikos loves his drinking games! Can't praise them enough. We love Danelis!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFerguson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

From the moment Nikos met us at the reception, to the moment the staff waved off us off, I personally couldn't have asked for a better hotel (or holiday). The heartbeat of the hotel is the staff, who each were a great laugh and couldn't be further from the money-grabbing staff/rep's you hear about from other hotels. A real family atmosphere is felt throughout the hotel, with many other hotel staff choosing to spend their time at Danelis rather than their respected hotels. I directly stayed with 15 my mates, while others stayed at various other hotels who all came to Danelis at night-time due to it plainly being a lot better.
Malia itself is a binge drinkers dream and offers cheap (sometimes watered down) alcohol, and all day English breakfasts. Danelis sit's (a very welcomed) 5 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the Strip.
Overall I have nothing bad to say about the hotel - and certainly not about the staff who truly make the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.4 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#26 of 90 in Malia
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danelis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danelis Apartments

Property: Danelis Apartments
Address: 15 Machis Kritis | near the main Malia strip, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Danelis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danelis is a family run apartments complex has been in operation since 2002 and it is in excellent condition. There are one and two roomed apartments which can accommodate from one to four persons. They are equipped with TV set safe box and air condition Our deepest wish and desire is for you to have the time of your life in a really friendly and clean environment, which has literally became ‘home’ to most of our customers.On the north coastline of Heraklion, only 25 km away from Heraklion Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Danelis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danelis Apartments Hotel Malia
Danelis Apartments Crete
Danelis Apartments Hotel Crete
Danelis Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing